Hotel At Old Town

Hotel At Old Town

Traveler (223)
Our room was the last two windows by the
Room & Suite (92)
Buffet Breakfast, Hotel at Old Town, Wichita, KS
Dining (6)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#3 of 92 hotels in Wichita
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.6
Value
4.4
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Classic
Languages Spoken
English
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot tub
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking garage
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms

Location

830 East First St., Wichita, KS 67202-2737
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 90 out of 100
90
Mid-Continent Airport
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles869 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Hotel at Old Town garners mixed reviews, with guests enchanted by its vibrant atmosphere featuring live jazz and a grand lobby, while situated in a prime spot close to diverse dining and nightlife. While the rooms are generally spacious and some freshly updated, a few guests have noticed dated elements. The hotel's cleanliness is consistently applauded, yet the service quality varies from friendly to slow. Travelers find value in the comfortable amenities, but some have concerns about inconsistent pricing and additional charges for certain rooms.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Lively
Rooms
Spacious
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Well-appointed

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveler reviews for more details and information.
869Reviews6Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 637
  • 169
  • 30
  • 17
  • 16
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Wichita Traveler wrote a review Feb 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff are helpful and went above and beyond to make my mini "work-cation" enjoyable and productive. Everything was clean and quiet. Even the smaller room I booked had a kitchenette, which allowed me to bring my own food (extra helpful during COVID times). The room was cozy, the bed comfy, the internet fast, and the environment inviting. I highly recommend staying at Hotel at Old Town. My first stay was on my wedding night 9 years ago in the honeymoon suite... absolutely amazing. I will continue to return any time I need a night away while staying in town.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Ask for top floor for the best views.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Richard F wrote a review Dec 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A truly amazing building in the heart of Old Town. Front desk staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms are spacious, quiet, and well furnished, including a full kitchen with dishes, silverware, etc. The history of the building is incredible and the conversion from warehouse to hotel is quite remarkable. Convenient free parking right next door and easy walking distance to shops and dining.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveler reviews.
Meeting Organizer wrote a review Jul 2020
Wichita, Kansas
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I managed the set-up of a meeting for a professional organization of which I am Executive Director. We have used the Hotel at Old Town several times. We used guest rooms, meeting spaces, and Latour Food Services. This meeting was during the COVID 19 pandemic, and the hotel already had a social distancing seating plan in effect. The sales team worked with us to modify the set-up and personally saw to it that our needs were met. The food services people (Latour) were friendly, the food was excellent, and they helped us with appropriate serving to keep members safe during the pandemic. I highly recommend the Hotel at Old Town.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mbscho wrote a review May 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Will not be returning to this location again. The staff was more interested in break time then attending to guest, when getting to our room the carpet was wet in spots and the restroom didn't have any toilet paper. We then changed rooms only to go to a room that was smaller in size and directly next to the elevator. Everything in the room was on a slant the lights were not plugged in and missing bulbs. Air filter appeared to have mold and the light switch in the restroom had some sort of short in it so the light was hit and miss for working at all. They then switched our door lock while we were away for the afternoon so when arriving back we had to wait for staff to show up at the desk to get a new key. For the money spent we were less than pleased and now it appears we won't be refunded the deposit either.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel Oldtown, General Manager at Hotel At Old Town
Responded Jul 31, 2020
Mbscho3, It sounds like you had quite a horrible experience during your stay in Wichita. As the management team is currently the only desk staff due to the pandemic, we are able to communicate with one another as well as check all guest logs and room changes. We believe you may have stayed at a different property. We would never allow such a horrific experience to happen without ensuring you were happy before you left. We do not have the PTAC units with accessible air filter and certainly wouldn't allow mold to grow if we did! I suggest contacting the property you stayed with to request a refund and staying with us next time! If you still believe this is the hotel you stayed at, please call us directly 316-267-4800.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
n0uzn wrote a review Sep 2023
Topeka, Kansas
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for a work conference mid-September 2023, in room 405. Check-in was quick, room was clean. Room was set up like an apartment and included full size refrigerator and dishwasher. Mattress was comfortable. Staff was very friendly and attentive. Bar is on site and breakfast for $15 is available on site. Conference was held across the street at The Vail conference center. Hotel is on a side street so not too much traffic but easy access to the main thoroughfares.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Public parking available next door or across the street. Felt safe while there.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aaron H wrote a review Oct 2021
Santiago, Chile
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel has an outdated, stale feel to it, but I suppose that can be charming. Room was spacious with large white refrigerator and a kitchenette. Bathroom was fine--toiletries are lacking, however. (No lotion and only one bar of soap.) Cleaning staff very agreeable and some of the front desk pleasant but not very knowledgeable or eager to assist. I got the strong impression that most weren't there to please. It was as if I were troubling them by asking if the nearby museum was open on Sunday. Usually, you'd get, "Not sure, but let me check for you." Instead, I got a shrug. We were there for a citywide marathon and when we requested a late checkout, 30 minutes would have sufficed, we got an absolute "No" when in fact we called up in advance and were told that they would do their best to accommodate us. Most hotel staff listen and ask, "How much more time you need?" It was unimaginable that they needed my room cleaned exactly at noon. It wasn't booked for the next night! I checked out in the morning, only to discover that another runner wasn't even packed at noon, and was told, "Just leave as soon as you can," by the same person who gave me a hard time. It was very disappointing and could have been avoided but I suspect the staff is inexperienced and most don't really care. This in contrast to the Marriott down the street. Granted it's higher end, but what a difference! I wasn't even a guest and they engaged me in a respectful manner. The atmosphere was much lighter and uplifting. This hotel is an affordable option but the Hilton nearby has competitive prices. Also, on the weekends it's very noisy. Spoke with a guest who got 3 hours of sleep because of the noise. I would recommend the hotel if you are in dire need of a place to stay and really lower your expectations.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Beth H wrote a review Mar 2021
San Diego, California
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The Hotel at Old Town offers everything you need for your stay in downtown Wichita. The location is great, surrounded by restaurants, bars, cafes and fun shops, not to mention the historic character of the neighborhood. Our Queen room suited us perfectly. It was spacious, quiet, thoughtfully outfitted and charmingly decorated (love the real lace curtains!), with high ceilings, large operable windows, and a full but compact kitchenette. We especially appreciated the refrigerator and real freezer since we were driving cross country with our cooler of meals. The front desk and service was also top notch. We will definitely stay here again when in Wichita.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alicia K wrote a review Aug 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in the one bedroom suite and it was a wonderful experience. The suite was huge - tall ceilings, incredible windows - and the jacuzzi was also quite spacious and relaxing. The hotel was clean, the fitness center was also clean and easily accessible, and the hotel itself was really quiet. Couldn't hear any neighbors to the side or above us. The location is great - really close to a lot of good restaurants. The only drawback was the outside night noise on the weekend since the hotel is located near bars. Make sure you bring earplugs or a white noise machine/app if you're a light sleeper. But we worked around that and had a very relaxing getaway weekend, and plan to come back.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
leogirlj wrote a review Apr 2023
Dallas, Texas
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel deserves SIX stars or more! Don’t be tempted by the Hyatt, Hilton, or Marriott names. They’re great properties & I’ve stayed in several of them in Wichita. But, this boutique hotel should be considered on their level…if not better. The housekeeping staff & the front desk staff were consistently friendly & helpful throughout my 3 day stay. The decor is timeless, with thoughtful nods to the building’s history. The piano bar fits right in. My room was cozy, with a wonderful view of Old Town nightlife on 1st St. My room was exactly as pictured on the site. The hotel’s centrally located within walking distance of various food options, coffee shops, bars, & fun! The working retro phone, the metal soap dish, & the lace shower curtain were some of my favorite pieces. There’s a breakfast buffet with a range of options for $14.95 per person. The front door is steps away from a well-lit parking garage & yes, parking is free! The room floors are quiet at all times of day. The water pressure in my shower was stellar & perfect after my workout in the 4th floor Fitness Ctr. I couldn’t be happier & will try to book here first whenever I travel to Wichita.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Unsure if there’s an on-sight atm, but there is one directly across from the hotel entrance.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shirley H wrote a review Dec 2023
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel lobby is grand and lovely. Our second floor room was spacious, albeit with worn furniture and dated decor. It included a full size refrigerator, sink and dishwasher, which we did not use. The hotel rooms are currently being renovated on the fourth floor but did not impact us. There were very few people staying on a Thursday night so was very quiet. The gentleman who checked us in was helpful and offered us discount cards for Larkspur Bistro down the street.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shereetravel asked a question Mar 2021
Kaufman, Texas21 contributions
Do you offer a happy hour?
Shereetravel asked a question Mar 2021
Kaufman, Texas21 contributions
Do any of your room have a balcony?
Answer from Lisa D
91 contributions18 helpful votes
There Jacuzzi suites have a living room with a pull out couch and a recliner if I remember right. I believe these are all corner rooms and larger so they would more people would be comfortable. I do believe all of their Jacuzzi suites are this way.
Scooternmoe1 asked a question Apr 2015
Raleigh, North Carolina14 contributions5 helpful votes
Do you have any rooms with jetted tubs?
Answer from J F
Wichita, Kansas19 contributions
Thank you for your inquiry. We do offer rooms with a four person jetted tub in them. On our website, they are listed as the one-bedroom suite. Please visit our website for pictures and feel free to call 1-877-265-3869 at any time to book a reservation. Thank you
Answer from chevvy53
West Midlands, United Kingdom11 contributions8 helpful votes
I believe so ,,,,,, x
Tina C wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you like the feel of the city and want to learn about local history I highly recommend choosing historic hotel old town!"
Read full review
BorealOwls wrote a tip Apr 2024
Anchorage, Alaska124 contributions68 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Breakfast is not included but the rooms have a mini-kitchen so easy to bring own breakfast. Dishes and utensils provided."
Read full review
char1scott wrote a tip Oct 2023
Mobile, Alabama495 contributions155 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Well located hotel for exploring the city. rooms facing 1st street are noisy. "
Read full review
PaynesGrey7 wrote a tip Sep 2023
Medicine Lodge, Kansas109 contributions26 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is a free parking garage next to the hotel."
Read full review
n0uzn wrote a tip Sep 2023
Topeka, Kansas174 contributions97 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Public parking available next door or across the street. Felt safe while there."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Wichita area.
PRICE RANGE
$132 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
at old town wichita, hotel motel wichita kansas old town, at old town hotel
LOCATION
United StatesKansasWichita
NUMBER OF ROOMS
114
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL AT OLD TOWN $126 ($̶1̶6̶2̶) - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel At Old Town
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel At Old Town?
Nearby attractions include Museum of World Treasures (0.07 miles), Old Town (0.1 miles), and Mosley Street Melodrama (0.07 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel At Old Town?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and a fitness center.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel At Old Town?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel At Old Town?
Guests can enjoy a lounge and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel At Old Town?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel At Old Town?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sabor Latin Bar & Grill, Bite Me BBQ, and River City Brewery.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel At Old Town?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Does Hotel At Old Town have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel At Old Town offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Hotel At Old Town located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Wichita.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel At Old Town?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel At Old Town offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
All Wichita HotelsWichita Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in WichitaHotels near Hotel At Old Town
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars