We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Candlewood Suites Kansas City Overland Park

11001 Oakmont St, Overland Park, KS 66210-1187
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (2)
Room & Suite (18)
Family and Play Areas (6)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 08/24/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Candlewood Suites Kansas City Overland Park
Updated 08/24/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#24 of 39 hotels in Overland Park
Situated near the border of Missouri, the Candlewood Suites Kansas City - Overland Park hotel exudes an air of easy living. Our hotel accommodates the needs of business and leisure guests with a number of amenities and a great location. Easily accessible from I-435, our hotel is positioned in the center of College Square and just a few streets over from Overland Regional Medical Center. We are only 25 miles from the Kansas City International Airport (MCI), making for a direct route to our hotel. Come stay in comfort. We are located south of Kansas City, in close proximity to area businesses such as the Sprint Corporation, Black & Veatch corporate office, Garmin, Teva, Honeywell, Corporate Woods and Southlake Business Park—making for an easy commute. Our leisure guests enjoy visiting the Oak Park Mall or trying their luck at the Hollywood or Harrah’s Casino. Stay connected and on task with free Wi-Fi access and a spacious workspace featured in all suites. Our Overland Park hotel amenities make every traveler feel at home. Take advantage of our free guest laundry services, the 24-hour Candlewood Gym, Lending Library, Lending Locker and our onsite convenience store, the Candlewood Cupboard. Enjoy the charm of Overland Park while staying in a comfortable suite with a fully equipped kitchen and full size refrigerator. We invite you to extend your stay with us.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Coffee shop
Aerobics offsite
Archery offsite
Kids stay free
Books, DVDs, music for children
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Vending machine
Bowling offsite
Raquetball offsite
Squash offsite
Tennis court offsite
Water park offsite
Board games / puzzles
Children's television networks
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Fax / photocopying
Photo copier / fax In business center
BBQ facilities
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Seating area
Wardrobe / closet
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
DVD / CD player
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Urdu


Full view
59Somewhat walkable
Grade: 59 out of 100
25Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
3Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
97Reviews0Q+A14Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 30
  • 31
  • 19
  • 8
  • 9
Time of year
Traveler type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
One Fidget wrote a review Mar 2020
2 contributions
Our phone conversations, meeting with front desk, and departure were all consistently wonderful. Everyone smiled and was super nice and helpful! Our room was big, comfortable, and very well appointed. It was fresh, too. No worn out look, yet it is not a newly built place. Everything worked perfectly.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Our room was perfect. This was our first stay, but I believe all rooms will be great!
See more room tips
MJC wrote a review Nov 2019
1 contribution
I made reservations about a week in advance for a room, paying EXTRA for a king size bed. I had confirmed a 4:00 pm arrival time (check in is 3:00) but actually did not get to the hotel until 7:30 p.m. When I got there, they had me sign the paperwork to check in, and I realized that they had given me a queen bed (AT THE HIGHER ROOM RATE). There is only one employee on site, basically a part time high school student we think. She initially said our room had been given away by a new employee (by mistake) and that they were fully sold out and could not change my room (this was an outright lie, because there were at least 6-7 folios at the front desk of rooms of people that had not checked in yet). The parking lot was nearly empty. She could not even correct the room rate, but promised that the manager would correct it when she came in in the morning at 7:00 (another lie, when we checked out at 8:30 the next morning we were told the manager won't be coming in at all since it was a sunday-- so the charge had still not been corrected. Better still, when we went up to our assigned room, the door was propped open and the room was unmade and dirty. When we went back down to the front desk, the clerk was able to miraculously find another open room (out of the stack of folios previously mentioned) and gave us those keys. Avoid this place at all cost: a reservation means nothing to them, and you can easily find yourself without a room. There is no management on site, no one with 'authority' to fix any issues. We paid easily twice the going rate for rooms in the area, and at this point have no recourse. We were given the "card" of the "manager", Lilly Villarauz, but this has only the front desk phone number and no contact information, no email address.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Room Tip: Choose a different hotel, you'll save money and you'll have a reservation that someone...
See more room tips
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Kansas City Overland Park
Responded Nov 18, 2019
Hi concannonmj, Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience. A comfortable stay is what we aim for and I am so sorry for the issues you had with your room. I was also concerned to read your comments about our staff. We only want you to enjoy the comforts of home at a comfortable value and I will make sure to share your comments with our team for necessary improvements needed on our end. I would also like to follow up on your concern that is why I have sent you a private message. I hope you get the time to read it and respond. Mike F. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
jtanda17 wrote a review Apr 2019
Wichita, Kansas375 contributions147 helpful votes
Stayed at this Candlewood on a recent visit to Overland Park for specialty veterinary services at a clinic located across the street. Had the hotel not been conveniently located and us unexpectedly needing rooms, we would’ve stayed at one of the many quality Overland Park properties. We booked two rooms. One room had dirty towels hanging in the bathroom, the vanity sink stopper didn’t work, shower gel container was empty and the lighting throughout the room was dim. The other room hadn’t been adequately stocked with paper projects and was missing a comfortable chair. The best attribute of the rooms was the powerful and hot water in the showers. There’s no breakfast service at the hotel, outside entrance was dirty needing swept and cleaned. The hotel generally is old and needs renovation. Poor first impression. To the credit of the front desk clerk when we checked out, she credited us $15 off one of the rooms. This was our first experience at a Candlewood and probably our last.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Kansas City Overland Park
Responded Apr 21, 2019
Hi jtanda17, You are supposed enjoy the comforts of home at a comfortable value, and I’m sorry we failed to make you feel like it this time. I understand your frustration with the general upkeep of the rooms and housekeeping. Your experience is not a true representation of IHG's standards and values. I have shared your comments with our management teams to help point out areas that need additional attention. Thank you for your thoughts as it helps us better our product and services. We hope you give us another chance to provide you with a better stay. Sincerely, Connie D Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Becky V wrote a review Dec 2018
Fort Myers, Florida347 contributions86 helpful votes
First imoressions, huh? Well that blew it for me. Here for one night to visit family, with a small dog, Couldn't get inot our normal place. Pouring rain and there is NO PORTICO to park under to unload. I have NEVER stayed in such an inconvenient hotel!! Can't even park close to the door it's a fire lane! Trash can by front door is overflowing with pizza boxes and cups on the ground. All wet and mushy. So we trudge in, carrying a wet dog and pull suitcases and there's a small entry door ( NOT automatic) so one of us hold the door and the other goes into the small entry then there's ANOTHER door ( NOT automatic) and you're at the small entry check in area. I mean small. At least the check in person mentions "thank you for being a IHG member". No sign of courtesy umbrellas. I mention the trash outside ( this is about 2:00 PM) and they're aren't very interested. Our room is a nice size, looks clean until I find a deodorant cap on the floor by the bed. Obviously no vacuumed after last guest. I can't set the time on the clock. No trash can in bathroom. ?? No sign of ice machine. Raining the entire night while we were in and out and the next morning. I will never stay again! Never been so wet and a simple overhang like every other hotel to park under to load/unload would fix this. No idea what they do in the Winter as KC does get now and the parking lot is slanted away from thee door.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: don't stay here
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Kansas City Overland Park
Responded Jan 10, 2019
Hi 155beckyv, Providing comfortable accommodations have always been our goal and I'm sorry that didn't work out due to the lapses in the upkeep of the common area and underwhelming condition of the room. Management's looped of your feedback and I trust their ability to consider improvements needed to serve our guests better. Thank you for choosing IHG and being one of our valued Rewards Club Members and we hope to serve you soon under better circumstances. Best, Pam G Case Manager IHGService
Read more
littledarling2016 wrote a review Oct 2018
Lenexa, Kansas2 contributions
Best hotel I have stayed at and I have stayed at a lot! Room was clean, great amenities! Microwave heats things up FAST, FAST internet you can stream stuff like Netflix, Amazon Prime, Roku, whatever, comfy bed, plenty of lamps and lighting, ice maker in fridge, plenty of utensils and cooking ware, decent closet space, iron, hair dryer, BIG bottles of shampoo, condition, body wash (not cheap kind either), long table for workspace, decent sized TV set that you can angle however you'd like, free trash service daily (just leave the trash bag outside your door and housekeeping will take it, good fitness room (I exercise regularly, treadmill, weights, etc), FREE laundry room (that's right, no pay) and probably other things I'm forgetting to mention here. The only thing not here is room service, but they have a full kitchen (minus an oven). I don't don't bake anyway, so you can use the microwave, stove top ovens, cutting board, blender and other things they have in the hotel cupboard that you can get and just return it when you're done. It's also within walking distance to Subway, McD's, Domino's, local coffee shops, CVS, Hen House (grocery store), etc. I stayed here for a few nights and if you stay 7 nights or more you get discount on the pricing which is worth it if you're going to need a room for a few days/nights.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Response from Anissa G, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Kansas City Overland Park
Responded Aug 8, 2019
Dear littledarling2016, I want to personally reach out and thank you for choosing to stay with us while you were in Overland Park. We appreciate your loyalty and are grateful to have you take the time to review our hotel. We value your feedback to help grow and improve guest service experience. Let me know if we can be of assistance in any of your future travel needs. We are always happy to help! We look forward to your next visit. Have a fantastic rest of your day!
Read more
$78 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
candlewood suites overland park, candlewood overland park, overland park candlewood suites
United StatesKansasOverland Park
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Candlewood Suites Kansas City Overland Park
Which popular attractions are close to Candlewood Suites Kansas City Overland Park?
Nearby attractions include Carlsen Center (0.3 miles), Nerman Museum of Contemporary Art (0.3 miles), and Gert's Grille (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Candlewood Suites Kansas City Overland Park?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a fitness center, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Candlewood Suites Kansas City Overland Park?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Candlewood Suites Kansas City Overland Park?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Candlewood Suites Kansas City Overland Park?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Candlewood Suites Kansas City Overland Park?
Conveniently located restaurants include Minsky's Pizza, Ricco's Italian Bistro, and The Wooden Spoon.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Candlewood Suites Kansas City Overland Park?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Candlewood Suites Kansas City Overland Park?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Candlewood Suites Kansas City Overland Park?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Candlewood Suites Kansas City Overland Park?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Urdu.
Are there any historical sites close to Candlewood Suites Kansas City Overland Park?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Mahaffie Stagecoach Stop & Farm Historic Site (4.6 miles) and Sam's Club, Lenexa, Kansas (2.0 miles).