We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Chateau Avalon

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Chateau Avalon
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

318 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Chateau Avalon
See the most recent reviews
Showing 317: English reviews
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2016 via mobile

Do NOT waste your money on this terrible place. Dirty, awful service, and not kept up. When we brought our concerns to management I thought it was resolved. Paper thin walls so we heard the couple in the next room having sex all night. The canopy over our bed was covered with dust and bugs. Breakfast was mediocre. The absolute... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lauren S
Management response:

Dear Lauren S Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the Chateau Avalon Hotel. I regret you did not share any deficiencies in cleanliness of the room, service or condition of the facility during our conversation at check out. Again, I wish you would have made us aware of these issues immediately during your stay as... More 

Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2016

My husband and I found out at the last possible minute that our plans with our grown children for the 4th of July holiday at the lake were cancelled. Being a new empty nester I was heart broken. We decided to turn it around and have a romantic weekend - just the two of us. Being the Friday before 4th... More 

Helpful?
Thank kimmyplusfour
Raymore, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2016 via mobile

As a wedding present some family decided to extend our mini honeymoon by putting us up in a hotel for an extra night. My new husband was very excited for the theme rooms it was known for. When we entered the hotel it was a bit dated but no real issues till we got to our room. I put my... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Brookxd
Management response:

Dear Brookxd, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience regarding your recent stay at the Chateau Avalon Hotel. I would like to offer my sincere apologies for the issues you have encountered during your stay. It never gives us a pleasure to learn that we did not meet our guests expectations. Please contact me at... More 

Higginsville, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2016 via mobile

My husband surprised me with a stay for our 10th anniversary. He added a romance package which included wine, roses, candles and delicious chocolate covered strawberries. We stayed in the Colorado frontier room. It was perfect and just what we needed. Our private breakfast was absolutely delicious. Close to legends if you want to get out of the room and... More 

Helpful?
Thank hcope06
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2016 via mobile

Reserved a classic room. Upon checking in, we were not impressed with the room. The room is small and it had a queen bed. The bed was comfortable and the jacuzzi tub was nice, but for the price spent on the room, we thought there should have been more to it. We would definitely like to personally see other rooms... More 

Helpful?
Thank Timothy W
Kelsey B, Front Office Manager at Chateau Avalon, responded to this review

Timothy W, Thanks so much for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay. We have many different room styles to choose from, 23 concepts at that. Our Classic rooms are more of a quaint and intimate style, and we have a variety of Adventure and Luxury rooms to choose from as well. We would love to have... More 

Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2016 via mobile

Took my girlfriend for her birthday as she had been raving about it. The room was a comp through Hollywood casino so in that regard it was fine. But not at all what i expected or had hoped for with all the hype they receive. Know what argosy has to offer in their hotel (Hollywood sister property) I'd like to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank David h
Bates City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2016

Booked this hotel online, the Venetian Palace room with the romance package which was a $169.00 add on to the $269.00 rate for 2 for one night. We arrived and approached the entrance which had crumbling concrete steps and in need of a paint job. The entry space contained numerous wasp nests overhead, not inviting at all. The room ordered... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank lucky5151rk
Kelsey B, Front Office Manager at Chateau Avalon, responded to this review

Dear lucky5151rk, Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear you were not satisfied with your stay, and we have shared your comments with our management team in order to take appropriate action in areas you have commented on. We will also take immediate action in coaching our front desk staff to handle such situations more appropriately. I... More 

Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2016

We were excited to have a little stay cation, so we picked Chateau Avalon to add a touch of romance to our evening. We booked the day of our stay so we were pleased that they had room for us! However, I don't think what they had available was their best. We had the choice between a themed Aztec temple... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Randelwood
Kelsey B, Front Office Manager at Chateau Avalon, responded to this review

Dear Randelwood, Thank you so much for taking time out to share your stay with us. I am shocked to hear about your experience in our wine bar, and sincerely apologize for the service you got from our bartender. We pride ourselves in providing exceptional service in every department, and are taking immediate action in looking more into why this... More 

Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
117 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2016

We used to stay here very often for date nights but the quality of everything has gone down. The best part of this hotel is the bartender. The D'Nile wine bar is very small but nice and the bartender is very personable and attentive. The outside patio behind the bar is very nice when there is good weather. For people... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Littlegto67
Kelsey B, Front Office Manager at Chateau Avalon, responded to this review

Dear Littlegto67, Thank you for sharing with us! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your time here, and appreciate the constructive criticism. We love feedback from our guests, as we are always looking for ways to improve our hotel and service. Our kitchen manager has been informed that you were not pleased with breakfast, and we will be working... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2016 via mobile

Recommend this exquisite hotel to anyone who is wanting to celebrate a special occasion with their special someone! Words cannot describe the unique decor! The staff go out of their way to make your time there special and memorable!

Helpful?
Thank GeriKean
Kelsey B, Front Office Manager at Chateau Avalon, responded to this review

Dear GeriKean, Thank you for being our guest and writing a review about us! We take pride in giving our guests exceptional service and I am happy to hear that is exactly what you got during your stay. We welcome you to be our guest again soon to stay in another one of our 23 room concepts! Thank you, Kelsey... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

157 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (129)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (85)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER KC Speedway Inn & Suites
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kansas City at Village West
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Speedway - Kansas City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Kansas City at The Legends
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City / Village West
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Village West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rated by AAA's Midwest Traveler Magazine in 2012 as the #2 Small or Boutique hotel in the Midwest, the Chateau Avalon is Kansas City's unique boutique escape. We offer suites that appeal to the escape oriented couple as well as the business traveler that seeks a high service and memorable hotel escape. Recently the hotel has added the d'Nile Wine Bar, an eclectic Egyptian concept bar with hand crafted cocktails and some of KC's best wines. In 2013 the hotel renovated a number of the Classic corporate suites to better serve the needs of our business clientele. With wifi and wired internet, new desks and executive chairs and study lamps the Chateau Avalon is now the best hotel in the West KC market for overnight business stays. Contact sales for discounted group rooms and corporate repeat guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chateau Avalon

Address: 701 Village West Pkwy, Kansas City, KS 66111-1883
Location: United States > Kansas > Kansas City
Price Range: $149 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chateau Avalon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Chateau Avalon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Avalon Hotel Kansas City
Chateau Avalon Kansas City
Kansas City Chateau Avalon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay