We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa
Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa
Panoramas (25)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

366 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 365: English reviews
Start your review of Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa
 Click to rate
Olpe
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Had a amazing time celebrating our anniversary. Staff has friendly and fast and fun. Pricey but you get alot for your money. Will stay again. (Camalot room). D Nile was great you got to have Pat make you a martini.Great time.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank gladscar
Platte City, Missouri
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed for two nights here. I was very disappointed in the whole experience. We had a room smaller than a hotel room - the Seville room(s). There was only one outlet on the entire wall the bed was on and one outlet on the other side of the room where the desk was. We paid extra for breakfast room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank arhodgins
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I reserved the Pirate Cove room, after arriving in the room I opened the nightstand drawer to find a Phone Book and there was a broken glass in the drawer luckily I saw it before sticking my hand in there, I reported it to the on call Manager which she immediately moved us to the Camelot room, The room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dadhank
Management response:

Dear dadhank, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. While I was happy to read you were given an upgraded room after reporting an issue with your initial room, however I'm very concerned to learn that upgraded room was not to your 100 percent satisfaction because of it please accept my sincere apologies. Please rest...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed one night for our honeymoon in the Monte Carlo room. It was a nice and relaxing time after spending all day standing at my wedding. The tub was really helpful to that end, my feet and legs were really sore. We also got the couple's massage, and the two masseuses were great, it was just a light massage...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Megan G
Management response:

Dear Megan G, Thank you for your five star review on TripAdvisor. Congratulations on your wedding! Thank you so much for allowing us to be at your service during this very special day. My entire team and I are very pleased to read that you had a nice and relaxing time at the Chateau Avalon. We look forward to welcoming...

Topeka, Kansas
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great stay! Very accommodating. So fun. We stayed in the Mayan suite for our anniversary and loved the ambience. The room was fabulous!!! There's a bit of wear and tear (carpet), but it's not too bad.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoeDanby4
Haysville, Kansas
Reviewed February 20, 2017 via mobile

I just visited the Chateau Avalon with my girlfriend (now my fiancée) when we went on a little weekend vacation. All I can say is that the hotel is amazing. If you have read reviews that talk about a bartender named Pat they all talk about how good he is and how funny. Well let me tell you oh my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AngeDeMusique
Management response:

Dear AngeDeMusique Thank you so much for posting this fantastic review of your experience at the Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa. I'm thrilled to know that you had enjoyed your a little weekend vocation and had a fun time at the d'Nile Wine Bar. Thank you for highlighting our amazing Happy Hour and local favorite bartender, Pat, I will be...

Lawrence, Kansas
Reviewed February 17, 2017

Great visit, would not hesitate to re-visit. Already recommended to a friend. Fun experience, massage was A1 In-room wine and breakfast service was great. Great curb appeal, inside clean and well organized. Customer Service exemplary.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank X8031JUsteveb
Management response:

Dear X8031JUsteveb Thank you very much for your review and for selecting the Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa to place to celebrate the Valentine's Day! My team and I pleased to note that you thoroughly enjoyed everything hotel to offer and service you received. We look forward being at your service again in the near future. Best wishes, Shuk Kholtaev...

Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewed February 17, 2017

The Hemmingway Room was heavenly. The staff was friendly, courteous, and very attentive. The Romance package was so wonderful. Conveniently located by The Legends for some shopping and fun. Delicious fresh baked cookies in the lobby. Pat, the bartender, knows what you want before you do and fun to chat with. I definitely recommend this place for a romantic getaway.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amber S
Columbia, Missouri
Reviewed February 15, 2017

Beautiful building on the outside, and has a gorgeous fountain. The bar area was a bit small, but the patio on the outside was awesome with lights strung up and a bonfire too. Have to say the bartender was pretty awesome and made for good conversation and entertainment. Food was excellent as well! The room was ok, could use some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank advisor25655
Management response:

Dear kristentaylor425, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor and for choosing to stay at the Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa. I am very happy to know that you had an enjoyable stay in general. I am thrilled to know that you had an opportunity to experience our gorgeous patio with an excellent food and...

Reviewed February 12, 2017 via mobile

I came to the hotel for a romantic night ... I came into the room the jacuzzi was horrible,the shower curtain was gross,and others areas of the room was disgusting.. I had to get housekeeping to re-clean the tub .. so she also stated the housekeeper assigned to the room didn't clean her room right.. also I walked in there's...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bristle H
Management response:

Dear Bristle H Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. I'm very disappointed and would like to apologize for the lack of cleanliness , but I am glad we were able to re-clean the room to your satisfaction. Again, I am so sorry we did not meet your expectations, nor our own with your stay....

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

426 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (146)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (98)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (255)
Viewed
Camelot (36)
Viewed
Colorado Frontier (24)
Viewed
Mayan Rainforest (26)
Viewed
Monte Cristo (40)
Viewed
Pirate's Cove (29)
Viewed
Presidential Suite (37)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kansas City
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER KC Speedway Inn & Suites
13.2 mi away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kansas City at Village West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Kansas City at The Legends
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Speedway - Kansas City
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City / Village West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rated by AAA's Midwest Traveler Magazine in 2012 as the #2 Small or Boutique hotel in the Midwest, the Chateau Avalon is Kansas City's unique boutique escape. We offer suites that appeal to the escape oriented couple as well as the business traveler that seeks a high service and memorable hotel escape. Recently the hotel has added the d'Nile Wine Bar, an eclectic Egyptian concept bar with hand crafted cocktails and some of KC's best wines. In 2013 the hotel renovated a number of the Classic corporate suites to better serve the needs of our business clientele. With wifi and wired internet, new desks and executive chairs and study lamps the Chateau Avalon is now the best hotel in the West KC market for overnight business stays. Contact sales for discounted group rooms and corporate repeat guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa

Address: 701 Village West Parkway, Kansas City, KS 66111
Location: United States > Kansas > Kansas City
Price Range: $176 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Avalon Hotel Kansas City
Chateau Avalon Kansas City
Kansas City Chateau Avalon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Look through all the rooms online before you book-- there are so many fun choices!!”
 of 5 bubbles kerriscarbo, Nov 7, 2016 | Read review
“bring a ash pay with cash and bring a coffee maker rooms dont have one”
 of 5 bubbles williambU3096AT, Nov 4, 2016 | Read review
“Ask what rooms have been updated with mattresses and deep cleaned.”
 of 5 bubbles smily812016, Oct 6, 2016 | Read review
“ask for a tour”
 of 5 bubbles sconner2627, Oct 3, 2016 | Read review
“If you have HIGH expectation based on your past experience you may want to reconsider - quality of cust serv has decreased.”
 of 5 bubbles tymara30, Sep 6, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question