We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Holiday Inn Express at KU Medical Center

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express at KU Medical Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

115 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 115: English reviews
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

In town for the Chiefs game. Got two rooms for 4 guys and stayed two nights. Uber rides readily available with minimal wait times. Complimentary breakfast was one of the better I've had. Beds were comfy, rooms were modern and clean, staff was friendly and helpful. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Helpful?
Thank chris h
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were in town for a wedding and took 3 rooms for 2 nights at this hotel. We arrived early, but check-in was no problem! Jackie on the front desk was so sweet and helpful the whole time we were there! When I first got to the room, I called down to the desk and requested extra hangers and shampoo.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bonnie C
Michael B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express at KU Medical Center, responded to this review

Dear Bonnie C, We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you again! More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Nice place to stay. I've stayed here numerous times while visiting the hospital. I've personally never had any complaints about noise in this hotel, in fact I mentioned to the manager how quiet it was on my first visit. He told me that since a majority of the guests have business at the hospital, they won't book parties and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chad L
Michael B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express at KU Medical Center, responded to this review

Dear Chad L, We appreciate your continued business! More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Pros: nice location off 39th on the KS side of town. Close to a great BBQ joint (Q39). Modern amenities, open parking, affordable compared to downtown hotels, good front desk service. Cons: hallway echoes into room, breakfast not great. A note for hotel management: you need to schedule more desk staff. The staff there were very helpful, but one staffer... More 

Helpful?
Thank jjansa2011
Michael B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express at KU Medical Center, responded to this review

Dear jjansa2011, Thank you for your feedback! More 

Salem, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We made a reservation for 9-3-16 and I have my confirmation number 65447243. We came to town for a wedding. Check-in wasn't till 3. I called to see if we could check in at 2 but he said no. And that's OK. We went to the wedding and during the reception I called to let them know we would be... More 

Helpful?
Thank Red2770
Michael B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express at KU Medical Center, responded to this review

Dear Red2770, We sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations. We strive to ensure every guest has a great experience and take it very seriously when we fall short of that expectation. We hope this isolated incident does not sour your impression of all Holiday Inn Expresses. More 

Kansas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2016 via mobile

We booked this Holiday Inn Express because of its close proximity to KU Medical center. I had surgery and my husband was able to easily come back and forth to the hospital. He enjoyed being able to have a continental breakfast and cup of coffee each morning before coming to visit. He also was able to work from the hotel... More 

Helpful?
Thank falcon8893
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2016

This location was easy to find, parking was a cinch, staff were friendly and helpful as well. The rooms were clean and well designed. Door closers were very powerful and unless a guest is careful, it always slams shut, but that's my only complaint.

Helpful?
Thank Kieran L
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here because it was very near the KU Medical Center where my husband had an appointment. (They also gave a discount for staying there and going to the Medical Center). The room was very nice and the location was perfect for us. The exterior of the building is very cool. There are several restaurants in buildings near by.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sandy B
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2016 via mobile

What a difference location makes. Noisy neighbors above and beside my room. 7/11 right outside my window with customers pulling up all hours of the night music blaring loud conversations absolutely terrible. Night manager of no help would never ever stay here again. 7-Eleven is closing July 27, 2016 so at least that nuisance will be gone but they have... More 

Helpful?
Thank jmetcalf582
Michael B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express at KU Medical Center, responded to this review

Dear jmetcalf582, We truly apologize that you were unable to relax due to exterior noise during your recent stay. We try to control exterior noise to the best of our ability and we hope this does not sour your impression of all Holiday Inn Express hotel. More 

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2016 via mobile

This is definitely a newer hotel with modern decor and is very clean. There are storefronts located on the first level so the hotel lobby is on the second floor. There is a pool and a fitness facility (neither if which I used during my stay). The breakfast was better than most and includes made to order pancakes as well... More 

Helpful?
Thank sges
Michael B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express at KU Medical Center, responded to this review

Dear sges, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

64 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (18)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kansas City
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
1.0 mi away
816 Hotel
816 Hotel
#18 of 112 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 stars 515 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kansas City
Hilton Garden Inn Kansas City
#5 of 21 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 stars 469 reviews
1.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn Kansas City Downtown/Union Hill
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
#15 of 112 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 stars 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Property Located acroos from KU Medical Center. We have 2 Meeting rooms with 1500 sq ft of meeting space. Located close to Westport and Country Club Plaza. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express at KU Medical Center

Address: 3932 Rainbow Blvd, Kansas City, KS 66103-2961
Location: United States > Kansas > Kansas City
Price Range: $150 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express at KU Medical Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Holiday Inn Express at KU Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay