We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
25 N Neosho St, Council Grove, KS 66846-1633
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (19)
Room & Suite (15)
Dining (1)

About

Location
4.8
Cleanliness
3.0
Service
4.8
Value
3.5
The Cottage House has a long and colorful history of serving travelers. The Hotel began as a three-room cottage and blacksmith shop, built in 1867. Today we have 26 rooms in the main building, 10 rooms in adjacent motel unit and a honeymoon cottage. The outside motel units are clean and comfortable. The rooms in the hotel are all unique and decorated differently with different amenities. Its like taking a step back in time when you arrive and stay. The front porches make a great place to come and relax and unwind when you visit in the summer. Council Grove is also so rich in history and there are so many great places to visit. Come see us for the history and stay for the charm.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Vending machine
Golf course
Canoeing offsite
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Meeting rooms
Wifi
Tennis court offsite
Water park offsite
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English
20Reviews0Q+A4Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 13
  • 3
  • 1
  • 1
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Bev A wrote a review Jul 2022
6 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed at the Cottage House living quarters on the south side of the Cottage House. This is very accessible for people who can't do stairs. We were able to park right in front of the door with no steps to go in the room while unloading. The room was very large, clean and had all the amenities that we needed (fridge, microwave, coffepot, WIFI, and TV). Our room had 2 queens beds in it, a chair and ottoman and 2 luggage holders. The prices were very reasonable!! The Cottage House itself has nice rooms that the rest of our family stayed in (they are more set up as a bed and breakfast)--and 3 of the family members had pets, so it is pet friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: I would recommend taking a fan with you--until we figured out the a/c, it was a little stuffy in...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Linda C wrote a review May 2022
Kansas City, Kansas44 contributions5 helpful votes
Recently spent one night at The Cottage House. Our room was exceptionally clean, everything worked in the room, and the bed, cotton sheets, and pillows were very comfortable. Very friendly helpful staff who provided local restaurant locations. Elizabeth, one of the front desk staff, provided us a tour of the original portion of The Cottage House as well as provided us with a verbal (and printed) historical background of the hotel. The front porch veranda is very inviting with comfortable chairs to just relax and visit with other hotel guests.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Midwest_Sunset wrote a review Apr 2022
Topeka, Kansas45 contributions10 helpful votes
Very cute stay in the Honeymoon Cottage room. The owner was kind and helpful at suggesting other fun things to check out in Council Grove. The location is great for getting to downtown. Will have to try staying in the house proper next time we are in town.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Lonbon wrote a review Oct 2021
Santa Fe, New Mexico113 contributions62 helpful votes
I guess if you have a dog, you will not get to stay in the main "cottage" house but instead will stay in a very basic motel-like building next door. Bare wood floors which were slippery for our old dog and for us, very basic bedding. No hangers at all...had to ask for some. No place to hang towels in bathroom. Just in general, not a feeling of comfort or coziness...and certainly not "charming." On the plus side, the room was large, the staff was nice and brought us hangers and a blanket. The hotel is in a great location, in town and near a lovely river walk and park. It was very reasonably priced, no pet fee. And it felt clean.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Explorer786976 wrote a review Jul 2021
Haven, Kansas1 contribution
Stayed in little cottage. AC couldn’t catch up, warm in room. Paper thin walls, could hear neighbors moving furniture and their dog. No dead bolt on door. Don’t consider coffee and granola breakfast. Had nice rooms in big house, wouldn’t rent them.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cottage House, Owner at The Cottage House
Responded Jul 28, 2021
We are sorry you were not happy with your stay. We would have moved you to another room or gave you your money back if you were not satisfied. We do not serve breakfast we encourage our guests to visit other businesses in town for meals. We just offer snacks, coffee, and tea. If you would like to discuss please call us and we would be happy to make things right. Thank You
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Debbie S wrote a review Jun 2021
6 contributions1 helpful vote
Have stayed there many times over the years and came to expect good quality rooms and service. However, poor quality with new owners. Dirty floors, air conditioner does not work correctly and it is 90degrees outside. What is worse is the unethical business practices of the new owners. Booked my room in June 2020. Called in March of 2021 to confirm one night stay. Hotel Sent me an email one week before stay informing me I will be charged for two nights. Then got my bill and they charged me way more for my room than my reservation price clearly shows. Talked to owner. She said it was their policy to raise rates on certain nights. Sadly will never stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cottage House, Owner at The Cottage House
Responded Jul 28, 2021
Sorry you were not happy with your stay...our policies were emailed to you in a timely manner. You were aware of the policy as well. The policy was emailed to you when the reservation was made in June 2020. We have put in new air conditioners in most of the rooms. We also have made many upgrades to hotel after the last owners. We are not unethical in any way, we would invite anyone at anytime to come visit to see how clean and neat we keep our hotel. We invite people to come tour our hotel as well. You also never talked to the owner I am the owner, you spoke to to onsite manager. We try our hardest to make sure our customers and clients are happy and do our very best to make sure that happens.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tracy E wrote a review Jun 2021
Tampa, Florida57 contributions53 helpful votes
The Cottage House is my happy place. I have stayed at this charming bed and breakfast many times over the years, and it never disappoints. This time I stayed in the suite, and it was awesome: spacious, clean, updated, and beautifully decorated. The bed was clean and comfy, and the quiet location was great for relaxing and sleeping in. There was some confusion about my check-in date, and they adjusted it and didn’t charge me extra. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. They didn’t serve breakfast due to Covid. I hope they bring it back soon; I missed that. If you are in Council Grove, do yourself a favor, and stay at The Cottage House!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Plenty of parking
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cottage House, Owner at The Cottage House
Responded Jul 28, 2021
Thank you so very much for your review. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gwen S wrote a review Jun 2020
San Diego, California30 contributions7 helpful votes
This is an amazing location! You can walk across the street to the river, to the stores, on walk ways. You can hear an amazing chorus of frogs and we were lucky enough to come in June and see fireflies! We would sit out on the porch and enjoy the evening. Walk down to the river at night and see the lights reflect - it is so pretty! Did you know there is a praise grass preserve nearby? You can walk near bison! There is a lake nearby to swim, boat, camp and more! The hotel is old fashioned and quaint. The staff was friendly. There is so much to do here if you like to walk, explore, and see things. There are HS tennis courts nearby next to a 300-year-old tree. There are signs all over town to learn about Council Grove. I love it here.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cottage House, Owner at The Cottage House
Responded Jul 28, 2021
So thankful for your review! We are so glad you came to stay and cant wait for your next stay with us!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LifeLong21502 wrote a review Aug 2019
Cumberland, Maryland20 contributions6 helpful votes
The Cottage House is well placed and quaint. My room was comfortable and well outfitted. I had to ask for an iron, which was promptly offered. Extremely kind and helpful staff. Definitely not your typical “hotel.” This one is very period-like.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cottage H, Owner at The Cottage House
Responded Sep 25, 2019
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and are looking forward to your return! Thank you so much for taking the time to review us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dave M wrote a review Aug 2019
Ellsworth, Kansas56 contributions21 helpful votes
We stopped here because we were spending a few days in Council Grove. There was a sign welcoming visitors to come in and brouse. We did, and found the attendant very friendly. The rooms look like a luxury hotel room of the late 1800's or early 1900's. We spent an hour here and enjoyed the visit. We did check the prices and they were reasonable.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cottage H, Owner at The Cottage House
Responded Sep 25, 2019
Thank you so much for coming to tour our historic hotel/motel. We look forward to you coming to visit and stay with us! Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
12
LOCATION
United StatesKansasCouncil Grove
NUMBER OF ROOMS
38
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Cottage House
Which popular attractions are close to The Cottage House?
Nearby attractions include Kaw Mission State Historic Site (0.3 miles) and Council Grove Aquatic Center (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Cottage House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and meeting rooms.
Is parking available at The Cottage House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Cottage House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Trail Days Cafe & Museum, Hays House, and The Saddlerock Cafe.
Is The Cottage House located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Council Grove.
Are pets allowed at The Cottage House?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The Cottage House?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Kaw Mission State Historic Site (0.3 miles).
Is The Cottage House accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.