We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Budget Inn & Suites Colby

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Budget Inn & Suites Colby
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

258 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 257: English reviews
Columbia, MO
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I reviewed this establishment favorably several years ago, and having spent some four or five nights there since, I can attest to its quality and value. At a bit more than half the price as the mainstream motels, Budget Inn continues to offer clean, quiet rooms to lay your head. Moreover, despite what some curmudgeons say, the owners go overboard... More 

Helpful?
Thank TruthtoPower
Barry D, Manager at Budget Inn & Suites Colby, responded to this review

Our sincere thanks to you sir for taking time to post this review and explaining our desire to provide the best accommodation at most favorable prices in Colby. You have expressed our sentiment very clearly and we hope that it will help other readers and future guests understand us and our policy better. We look forward to seeing you, your... More 

Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
117 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

this was worth the 60 $ its sort of looks like the 60,s meet the 80,s decor. The owner was some what annoying when he asked us if we smoked and we said no he said why not, ? In the morning I made the waffles wrong and the owners wife was upset with me because it was beeping on... More 

Helpful?
Thank ttowntriper
Barry D, Manager at Budget Inn & Suites Colby, responded to this review

The owner was trying to be friendly and the owner and guests laughed about it. It is really strange that this guest decided to write about it. The next morning, she commented about the owners wife. This has to be a comment that needs to be framed. In 5 years, she has received 100% positive comments about her hospitality and... More 

Summerville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I walked in the office and asked about rates and availability. The horrible desk clerk asked if I had ever been a smoker and said if I had I had to take a smoking room even if I didn't smoke. I asked to see the room. He said no, go away, he didn't want my business. He was horrid little... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steve R
Barry D, Manager at Budget Inn & Suites Colby, responded to this review

We are so glad that this guest decided to post a comment. It allows us to address a typical cheapskate. This guest walked in and it was obvious that the only reason, he came to the Budget Inn was because we have the best price in Colby, KS. The first thing, he went through was a series of questions; all... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Considering its price a terrific hotel. Few services but clean and comfortable with an attentive staff. Travel a couple of miles off of the highway for a bargain. No pool. Small breakfast. Kind of the old motel concept. Next time we need a stop along I-70, we will stop.

Helpful?
Thank Tim M
Barry D, Manager at Budget Inn & Suites Colby, responded to this review

Our sincere appreciation for your short and very positive comments Our goal and motto is to provide the most affordable, clean, comfortable rooms with most amenities needed for a great night's rest. We are an older property but pride ourselves and being 1 of 2 properties with the Hampton Inn to be recognized for Tripadvisor awards in recent years. It... More 

Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice hotel, really nice management. The ice maker wasn't working, but everything else about the hotel was great. I called ahead to reserve the room, and the manager had the a/c on and had the room ready when I showed up. Would stay there again!

Helpful?
Thank OpieF15E
Barry D, Manager at Budget Inn & Suites Colby, responded to this review

Our sincere thanks for taking time to post your comments. We have a brand new ice maker now and we are very happy with it. One has to wonder how 2 guests can have such opposite comments. The previous guest had nothing nice to say about us. However, this review seems to indicate that we really care for our guests... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This room was absolutely terrible. We couldn't even shower in the bathroom it was very moldy and we will be lucky to not get sick from the mold. There was a huge hole in the bath tub wall with a ton of mold. The air conditioner was very dirty so were the carpets and the lamps had a lot of... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Barry D, Manager at Budget Inn & Suites Colby, responded to this review

We are sorry that you were disappointed with your room. However, we fail to understand why guests do not call the front desk with their issues while at the hotel. We always ask guests to call us immediately if they have any issues or concerns. Invariably, guests who leave anonymous reviews and those that do not address their concerns with... More 

Lincoln, Nebraska
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We met some friends from Canada for a 3 day bluegrass festival in Colby. We booked our 2 rooms but after reading some of the negative reviews we were a little apprehensive about staying at This motel. We are very happy we booked our room here. Although a little outdated, the rooms were very clean, roomy and comfortable. The staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank Linda W
Barry D, Manager at Budget Inn & Suites Colby, responded to this review

We are happy that you took a chance on us and found us to be very hospitable. We are happy that your Canadian friends appreciated our hospitality and clean, comfortable rooms at the bit rates in Colby. Hope to see you again soon More 

Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked a non smoking room for one night, last minute, as we were travelling through Kansas. The hotel is a few miles from the highway. The room was a bit outdated, but the bed was comfortable and room spacious. There were small gnat bugs in the bathroom and the shower drain was slow. We also were awoken by construction... More 

Helpful?
Thank jenthehennifer
Barry D, General Manager at Budget Inn & Suites Colby, responded to this review

We thank you for your candid review. You visited us during harvest season in Colby, Kansas. We always ask all guests to please quickly enter and leave the rooms especially after dark. This area is famous for "June" bugs, beetles and many other bugs that come out at night during harvesting. They are attracted to light and will fly into... More 

Savannah, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I had a wonderful experience checking in! I was welcomed by Mr. Barry, the manager, with a couple laughs and some information about the room I booked. The plants hanging on the wall in the lobby were absolutely beautiful! My room was a short walk from the lobby and there is parking directly in front of all the rooms. Made... More 

Helpful?
Thank CaitJ1220
Barry D, Manager at Budget Inn & Suites Colby, responded to this review

We wish to thank you for your wonderful comments and 5 star review. Guests like you make our day and we look forward to your next visit. Our sincere thanks to you More 

Kearney, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here both on our way to Fraser, CO and on our way home to Missouri about 5 days later. If you want a fancy, modern hotel with a crystal chandelier in the lobby and room service, this probably wouldn't be your cup of tea, but if you want a comfortable bed and clean room with money left over... More 

Helpful?
Thank Loubelle48
Barry D, Manager at Budget Inn & Suites Colby, responded to this review

We thank you for taking time to post your wonderful comments and your 5 star review. We try very hard to make our guests comfortable with clean affordable and comfortable rooms. Our sincere thanks to you and we look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

93 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (30)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colby
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Colby
Hampton Inn Colby
#1 of 10 in Colby
4.5 of 5 stars 414 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#2 of 10 in Colby
4.5 of 5 stars 242 reviews
2.0 mi away
Days Inn Colby
Days Inn Colby
#8 of 10 in Colby
3.5 of 5 stars 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 10 in Colby
4.0 of 5 stars 144 reviews
2.4 mi away
American Inn Colby
American Inn Colby
#9 of 10 in Colby
3.0 of 5 stars 30 reviews
22.5 mi away
Kansas Country Inn
Kansas Country Inn
#1 of 6 in Oakley
4.0 of 5 stars 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Motel is an outdoor property featuring 33 rooms at best rates in Colby, KS. Completly refurbished in 2012. Comfort and amenities of a franchise motel at budget rates. Continental breakfast including waffles assorted pastries, cereal, milk, juice and coffee from 6.30 am to 9 am every morning. Free high speed internet access in rooms and common areas. 32" flat screen TVs in most rooms. Free use of computer and free fax/copies in lobby. Self parking in front of room. Free RV and truck parking available. Children 12 and under stay free with paying adult. Laundry service provided and pets allowed for a small fee. Non smoking rooms available. Golf, tennis, swimming, boating, restaurants, shopping nearby. Management strives very hard to make your stay very pleasant, comfortable and memorable. Satisfaction Guaranteed at "your home away from home". ... more   less 

Additional Information about Budget Inn & Suites Colby

Address: 1745 W 4th St, Colby, KS 67701-1546
Location: United States > Kansas > Colby
Price Range: $54 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Inn & Suites Colby 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Budget Inn & Suites Colby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay