We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Candlewood Suites - Des Moines

Hotel website
Hotel deals
7625 Office Plaza Drive North, West Des Moines, IA 50266
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Candlewood Suites - Des Moines
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

82 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 82: English reviews
West Jordan, Utah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is the first negative review I have written but people need to be warned. The room is nice and has a full kitchen which was nice. Cleaning and linen change only done weekly was not impressive. (We did have the option to ask for linen and change it our self.) The icemaker did not work and was not repaired... More 

Helpful?
Thank winterbailey
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites - Des Moines, responded to this review

Dear winterbailey, Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. It is pleasing to know that you liked our full kitchen feature in the rooms. However, I apologize if you had some issues with the service during your stay. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope... More 

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I think the best thing there is the suites has its own kitchen. but the worst thing for me is the did not clean every day or even within couple of days. the front desk guys are very friendly and helpful.

Helpful?
Thank Ahmed M
CandlewoodWDM, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - Des Moines, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are glad the layout of our rooms suited your needs. As an extended stay hotel, we allow our guests privacy and do not enter their rooms more than once every 7 days. We apologize if this was an inconvenience for you but want you to know that if... More 

Swisher, Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I do not like to write negitive reviews. My recent visit was bad enough that i would feel terrible for not warning other travelers. This place is not the home away from home it used to be. I purchased a non smoking suiet for the extra space (Upgrade). Here were a few things that caught my eye: The door looked... More 

Helpful?
Thank William B
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites - Des Moines, responded to this review

Dear William B, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. We're very sorry for the unsatisfactory experience you had, especially with the room condition, cleanliness, and staff service. Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken to ensure we provide the best guest experience possible. It means... More 

Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
236 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2016 via mobile

I stayed here using some IHG rewards points which brought the cost down below $50 for one night. This is a standard Candlewood Suites property. The rooms are clean and include a kitchenette and dishes. The beds are firm. No breakfast is provided, but a Perkins restaurant is a short walk down the street. A gas station is nearby, as... More 

Helpful?
Thank TheTimMan
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2016 via mobile

The room is perfect for our needs. Knowing we would want a suite type room with a kitchenette and comfort of more than "just a room" we selected this hotel. The staff was attentive to our needs, the parking lot was well lit, it was accessible to the freeway and the hallways were always clean. The challenge is we requested... More 

Helpful?
Thank rebecca k
CWDesMoines, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - Des Moines, responded to this review

We are so sorry you had such a bad experience with the smoke smell. We do have 2 completely non- smoking floors and make every effort to avoid putting non smokers on the floor with smoking rooms when at all possible. I am sorry we were not able to do this during your stay. Please let me know the next... More 

Punta Cana
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2016 via mobile

Room dirty, noisy, premises dated, front desk staff not helpful. Bathroom was not at all clean. TV reception poor. My wife and I did not enjoy our stay at all. Many much better lodging options available in the Des Moines area. Avoid if at all possible.

Helpful?
Thank macpinballnut
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites - Des Moines, responded to this review

Dear macpinballnut, Thank you for taking time to post a review of our property. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of products. It sounds like you were extremely dissatisfied with your overall experience. Your comments regarding the level of cleanliness, noise, amenities and customer service will be addressed through the hotel management. Allow... More 

Iowa
Level Contributor
196 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2016

I stayed here this week and enjoyed the property. The front desk went above and beyond in service expectations and the room was in great shape. It was quiet, renovated, and would recommend and stay here again!

Helpful?
Thank Viking94708
CandlewoodWDM, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - Des Moines, responded to this review

We were so excited to see how happy you were with your stay! We have really been working together using the feedback we get from our reviews to improve. It is refreshing when we see we are doing something right! Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. Mary H. More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2016

The front desk employees are friendly, helpful and go out of their way to make sure everything is okay. We were surprised how very, very clean our room was - I travel weekly in 4 & 5 star hotels for work and I haven't seen a room this clean in a long time. The room is nicely appointed with new... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kathleen V
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
222 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2015

I booked 2 rooms online for me and my elderly mother while traveling. Before we arrived at the hotel, approximately an hour before arriving, I called the hotel in advance and requested adjoining rooms. I explained the situation that we were traveling together and needed rooms adjoining. When we arrived at the hotel, there was a guy checking in ahead... More 

Helpful?
Thank jbrenz
CWDesMoines, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - Des Moines, responded to this review

We apologize for your experience. We pride ourselves in our customer service. The team member you encountered is no longer with the company. Please know that we do take our guests' feedback to heart and want only the best, friendliest people on our team. Please come back and visit soon, I assure you that you will not be disappointed. More 

Crescent City, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2015

There is nothing about this property that is bad! Had a problem with drainage in the tub, but other than that, couldn't ask for a more relaxing week-end. The property has free laundry services, as well, if you are an all the time traveler. There is a Perkins Restaurant within walking distance. Plenty of other great eateries within a mile... More 

Helpful?
Thank sameoldsparks
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Des Moines hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moine...
#12 of 19 in West Des Moines
4.0 of 5 stars 180 reviews
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites West Des Moines
Staybridge Suites West Des Moine...
#10 of 19 in West Des Moines
4.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moine...
#3 of 19 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 stars 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
#5 of 19 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 stars 457 reviews
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton West Des Moines / SW Mall Area
Homewood Suites by Hilton West D...
#2 of 19 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 stars 124 reviews
0.1 mi away
West Des Moines Marriott
West Des Moines Marriott
#6 of 19 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 stars 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection. At the Candlewood Suites West Des Moines hotel, we put the amenities where they really count: in the room. Each suite has a fully equipped kitchen that includes a microwave oven, full-size refrigerator and 2 burner stove. Work efficiently at your over-sized desk with 2 phone lines and complimentary high-speed Internet. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while enjoying the DVD/VCR player. Borrow some of your favorites from our free video/CD library. Work off some stress in the fitness center or grab a snack from our Candlewood Cupboard where you can purchase meals, beverages, snacks and sundries at value prices. We are proud to be a pet friendly hotel (fees apply), which can be helpful when relocation with pets forces you to leave your old surroundings. Our location is perfect for business and leisure travelers alike. Located just 1 mile from the Wells Fargo offices in West Des Moines and the Jordan Creek Town Center Mall. Offices for State Farm Insurance, Farm Bureau and American Family Insurance are only minutes away. Downtown Des Moines is an easy drive (12 miles) and the Des Moines Airport is only 14 miles from the hotel. Enjoy the zoo or the best restaurants and entertainment the Des Moines area has to offer only minutes from the hotel. Also located nearby are HyVee Food Stores, Wal-Mart or Sam's Club and Target. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites - Des Moines

Address: 7625 Office Plaza Drive North, West Des Moines, IA 50266
Location: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Price Range: $100 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites - Des Moines 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Candlewood Suites - Des Moines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites - Des Moines Hotel West Des Moines
Candlewood Suites West Des Moines
Candlewood West Des Moines
West Des Moines Candlewood Suites
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay