We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Valley West Inn

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Valley West Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

115 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 115: English reviews
Iowa
Level Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place is aweful. We checked into and were put in one room that still had wet towels on the floor and cheese and lunch meat in the fridge. Someone appeared to have been living in that room full time. The sheets are yellow, the halls stink and the parking lot is dark, dirty and sketchy. This place needs to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank tjoia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2016

The motel was run down and in need of repairs. The rooms were dirty and dated (chair seats stained, carpet unravelling, towels thin and old). The elevator went to the "third floor" but then we had to go up a set of stairs to get to the third floor rooms. The ice machines were not working at the front of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Angie S
Jennifer S, General Manager at Valley West Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to communicate your feedback. We truly appreciate guests who take time to let us know their concerns of the hotel, as it will only assist us in becoming better at what we do. We strive to deliver the best quality and service to our guests and on this occasion we did not exceed... More 

Sarasota, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2016 via mobile

Checked in, looked around the room which was filthy! Hotel reminiscent of the Shining. Moved to 2nd room after calling front desk. Second room had blood or some other bodily fluid on the walls and mattress. Shown third room. Bodily fluids on the wall by the bed, lamp and several large beetles. Opted at that point to leave! They still... More 

Helpful?
Thank canadia22
Jennifer S, General Manager at Valley West Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to communicate your feedback. We truly appreciate guests who take time to let us know their concerns of the hotel, as it will only assist us in becoming better at what we do. We strive to deliver the best quality and service to our guests and on this occasion we did not exceed... More 

West Lafayette, Indiana
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2016

I can't find my MasterCard which I used to check out with. I just called twice (around 3pm Central Time) and it rang so long it hung up on me. I think they should have slapped a coat of paint on the inside of the elevator door which would have made it look a lot nicer. We put our dirty... More 

Helpful?
Thank ShirlzeyAnn
Jennifer S, General Manager at Valley West Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to communicate your feedback. We truly appreciate guests who take time to let us know their concerns of the hotel, as it will only assist us in becoming better at what we do. We strive to deliver the best quality and service to our guests and on this occasion we did not exceed... More 

Lytton, Iowa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2016

Agree with ballMin. Be forewarned that staying here is the WORST possible place you will ever stay. It is filthy .The room we stayed in was not clean. This included a mattress with blood stains, a shower curtain with blood stains and worst of all.... a general manager full of excuses as to why this place was just a mess.... More 

Helpful?
Thank dahlsty
Jennifer S, General Manager at Valley West Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to communicate your feedback. We truly appreciate guests who take time to let us know their concerns of the hotel, as it will only assist us in becoming better at what we do. We strive to deliver the best quality and service to our guests and on this occasion we did not exceed... More 

Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2016

Awful experience! And management didn't even care. The room assigned to us should not have been given to anyone. Never before have I had such a disappointing stay. Please don't waste your money. Steer clear!

Helpful?
1 Thank emsrex
Jennifer S, General Manager at Valley West Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to communicate your feedback. We truly appreciate guests who take time to let us know their concerns of the hotel, as it will only assist us in becoming better at what we do. We strive to deliver the best quality and service to our guests and on this occasion we did not exceed... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2016 via mobile

We booked and checked into this scary, run down HOTEL. We were here from out of down for a baseball tournament. Drugs were being done in parking lot. The manager told us there had been an overdose at the hotel 3 weeks prior. Our room had stains all over the carpet and smelled horrible. Another family had to go to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ballMim
Jennifer S, General Manager at Valley West Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to communicate your feedback. We truly appreciate guests who take time to let us know their concerns of the hotel, as it will only assist us in becoming better at what we do. We strive to deliver the best quality and service to our guests and on this occasion we did not exceed... More 

Algona, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2016 via mobile

We were surprised to find a nicely remodeled very big room. Spacious, comfortable long bed, soda bed, refrigerator, two sinks. Overall, just a very nice place to stay. We will be back next time we stay in the Des Moines area!

Helpful?
1 Thank edjenson
Jennifer S, General Manager at Valley West Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to communicate your positive feedback. We appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you to Valley West Inn, again. Jennifer Stanley General Manager More 

Harrisonville, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2016 via mobile

We reserved two rooms In one room there were peanuts in a bed, in the other room the sheets had obviously not been changed. Overall the hotel was grungy The woman who checked us in - and back out 10 minutes later - was very professional and friendly. I think her name was Charis. The manager (Jennifer) however was quite... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank StaLynSch
Jennifer S, General Manager at Valley West Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Please allow me the opportunity to introduce myself; Jennifer Stanley. I am the General Manager at Valley West Inn, West Des Moines, Iowa. Thank you for notifying us with the unpleasant experience. We truly appreciate guests who take time to let us know their concerns of the hotel, as it will only assist us in becoming better at... More 

West Allis, Wisconsin
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2016 via mobile

This was the worst hotel I've stayed at. Had to change rooms, first room had what looked like chocolate on the sheets, hair in the ice bucket, ect. Had no lighting in rooms, pluming was horrible our toilet ran all night in the second room. The sinks dripped also had a hard time changing from hot to cold. Wouldn't recommend... More 

Helpful?
Thank bbykam23
Jennifer S, General Manager at Valley West Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Please allow me the opportunity to introduce myself; Jennifer Stanley. I am the General Manager at Valley West Inn, West Des Moines, Iowa. Thank you for notifying us with the unpleasant experience. We truly appreciate guests who take time to let us know their concerns of the hotel, as it will only assist us in becoming better at... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Des Moines
3.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moine...
#3 of 19 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 stars 461 reviews
0.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines
Extended Stay America - Des Moin...
#16 of 19 in West Des Moines
3.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
1.2 mi away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#10 of 48 in Des Moines
4.0 of 5 stars 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moine...
#11 of 19 in West Des Moines
4.0 of 5 stars 187 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Moines/SW Mall Area
Hampton Inn & Suites West Des Mo...
#2 of 19 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 stars 117 reviews
3.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton West Des Moines / SW Mall Area
Homewood Suites by Hilton West D...
#1 of 19 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Great mallside location! Within walking distance to Target, and Hyvee (grocery store). Excellent location next to Interstate 235 in West Des Moines. Very close to downtown. Only a hop-skip-and-jump away from Des Moines entertainment venues! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Valley West Inn

Address: 3535 Westown Pkwy, West Des Moines, IA 50266-1007
Location: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Price Range: $80 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Valley West Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Valley West Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley West Hotel West Des Moines
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay