We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

66 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 66: English reviews
Level Contributor
5 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2016

This whole experience reminded our family of the movie The Shining. Dirty sheets with blood on them, hot tub with no bubbles/jets, black mold on the fan above the pool, musty smell to our room, run down grounds (old tennis court) that felt like a scary movie set, creepy people hanging outside barefooted, a continental breakfast (should not be called... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shawna C
ABVIREDFOXINN, Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

I am very sorry about your stay and for your dissatisfaction. Our maintenance person is aware of each item that you have mentioned and we are working to repair and resolve each one. I have met with our staff and we are doing extra room checks to make sure that everything is spotless and clean.I am also working to address... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2016

Pretty bad - outdated, in disrepair, pool water cloudy/questionable, bfast; toaster w/ bread, dry cereal, juice/milk/coffee & Little Debbie bfast cakes. Noisy air conditioner, thread bare sheets. Sketchy Wi-Fi. Pros = a working ice maker, plenty of towels, pleasant staff. The place kind of looks ready for demolition. For us, it was this or a $200 smoking room miles away.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
ABVIREDFOXINN, Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for taking time to share your concerns and let me know about your experience. We have always provided a tasty continental breakfast every morning for our guests. I'm glad that you liked our friendly staff, we are all working to improve and give our guests the most relaxing clean stay we can. I'm addressing each of your comments with... More 

Travelers are raving about these Waverly hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2016 via mobile

Stay as far away from this hotel as possible! It is infested with black mold and presents a major health hazard. Management and the parent company (Vantage Hospitality) have been made aware of the problem many times and won't fix it, they just wipe visible mold away. We had over 10 rooms booked over a 3 day period and every... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Leslie V
ABVIREDFOXINN, Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

I deeply apologize for your stay not being what you were expecting for your stay. I'm glad that you took the time to share your experience and feedback. I am working to address each item with our staff so that we can make improvements to provide our guests with a clean, relaxing, and comfortable stay. Our guests satisfaction is very... More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2016

This was, without a doubt, the most disgusting hotel I have ever stayed in. There was mold on the walls of our room, the mattress was stained, the bathroom was dirty, the wall paper was peeling off. We stayed here for a family wedding and everyone reported the same issues. Walking across the carpet in white socks will quickly turn... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank NicolleMN
ABVIREDFOXINN, Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I'm really sorry about the issues that you had with your stay. We are working to address each item that you mentioned and resolve all of your concerns. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We always do our best to accommodate our guests and address any issues on the spot. Again, I apologize for... More 

Fulton, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2016

We checked in and went to our room. Upon opening the door we noticed the small refrigerator pulled away from the wall unplugged with the door hanging open. The wall below the window looked like an accordion from water damage. The wooden chair at the desk was broken. My wife called me into the bathroom because the drain plug for... More 

Helpful?
Thank redouglas62
ABVIREDFOXINN, Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

I am so sorry about the problems you had during your stay with us. All of your concerns are very important to me and I have repaired the drain plug for the tub as well as replacing the desk chair. I will be giving our staff extra training so that situations like this do not happen in the future. I... More 

Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2016 via mobile

On a our recent trip to Iowa for an event we stayed in Waverly. We had stayed in this hotel two years ago and although it was outdated it was clean. However our recent stay was terrible. The check-in process was strange given that they had to swipe the card multiple times because "the machine doesn't always work". The room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lori M
ABVIREDFOXINN, Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

I am deeply sorry about any issues that you experienced during your stay. I have checked your room and our maintenance person is working to repair your lamp, the hot tub, and is making a list of repairs so that we will have everything spotless and in great shape very soon. We will be shampooing your room as well as... More 

Red Wing, Minnesota
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2016

We stayed here for two days with my kids. We rented two rooms for the two nights. The rooms were dirty and the bedding was stained. When we were going down the steps to go to the pool my son stepped on a nail and cut his heel and foot. I went to get a Band-Aid from the front desk... More 

Helpful?
Thank funinthesun351112
ABVIREDFOXINN, Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

I sincerely apologize for the issue you had during your stay. I have addressed your concern myself and had our maintenance person fix the step and make sure that there are no other repairs that are needed. The safety and comfort of our guests are top priorities for us. We are also checking all of our linens to make sure... More 

Derby, Kansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2016

I stayed at this hotel with my family a few months ago and it was so fun! It is definitely 70s and you can tell that it used to be a popular destination for people in the 1970s. The atmosphere was really cool. At the pool you could basically see the spirits of people who had stayed there before. My... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hannah B
ABVIREDFOXINN, Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

It was great to have you as our guests and we're thrilled to hear about how much fun you had during your stay with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our crystal clear pool and our amazing historic location. Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with me. The maintenance person is working on the... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2016 via mobile

Mattresses were hard as rocks and at least 40 years old, bottom sheet was a flat sheet tucked in, beedings were old, stained, and patched.One hot tub has been out of order for years, the other one was colder than the pool. There was a large, shattered pane of glass in the pool area, one of the emergency exits was... More 

Helpful?
Thank calamitylauren
ABVIREDFOXINN, Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

I am truly sorry about your visit not meeting your expectations. We are making updates and doing everything we can to provide our guests with the best possible stays with the best amenities. The safety of our guests is our number one priority and I assure you that our hotel is 100% safe for all of our valued guests. I... More 

Clarksville, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2015 via mobile

This hotel is a very huge and old hotel. There is a large pool with 2 hot tubs and a very nice place for a large get together. The bar is just down the hall from your rooms and the restaurant is bar none.

Helpful?
Thank Erik N
ABVIREDFOXINN, Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

We're glad to hear that you had a good stay with us and enjoyed our convenient location and clean comfortable rooms. It's always great to hear from our valued guests about all of their stays, we work hard to provide the very best experience for our guests. We look forward to your next visit and wish you a wonderful holiday... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waverly
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Waverly
Comfort Inn Waverly
#1 of 5 in Waverly
4.0 of 5 stars 102 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cobblestone Inn & Suites
17.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cedar Falls
Hilton Garden Inn Cedar Falls
#1 of 14 in Cedar Falls
4.5 of 5 stars 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Waterloo
Hampton Inn Waterloo
#1 of 15 in Waterloo
4.5 of 5 stars 347 reviews
19.8 mi away
Motel 6 Crossroads Mall-Waterloo-Cedar Falls
16.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge and Suites Cedar Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel and Conference Center, with 118 interior corridor rooms. Indoor pool, elevator, game room, restaurant, meeting and banquet space. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn

Address: 1900 Heritage Way, Waverly, IA 50677-9200
Location: United States > Iowa > Waverly
Price Range: $66 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Red Fox Hotel Waverly
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay