We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Howard Johnson Inn Waterloo/cedar Falls

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Inn Waterloo\/cedar Falls
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

239 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 239: English reviews
Owatonna, Minnesota
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was filthy and keys continously didn't work and always had to ask of they could open the pool. Stayed there 3 nights and there was a nasty bandage on the pool floor for all 3 days

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank 149tamib
Norwalk, Iowa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel check in girl was very nice but didn't know what the rooms looked like or what they had in them as far as sleeping arrangements. I needed a king or queen bed PLUS a sleeper sofa in a smoking room. She first gave me a King room that had no sofa in it but had a huge hot... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank 89debm
Casper, Wyoming
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was traveling across Highway 20 in Iowa and found this little gem at the end of a long day. Whitney was at the desk and was so helpful when I asked if they allowed dogs and if they had a room on the top floor. This hotel is old, but clean and updated. The halls are air conditioned which... More 

Helpful?
Thank Daleeva
Glenville, Minnesota
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I say in Waterloo quite often. I was treated poorly my the weekday front desk person. The room was ok.. I feel belittled and embarrass

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Jamie J
Denison, iowa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Pool was available, especially after a long hot day watching trapshooting. Nice rooms, nice staff, and awesome breakfasts!

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank bethany_gonzalez
Dharam P, Owner at Howard Johnson Inn Waterloo/cedar Falls, responded to this review

Dear Bethany, I would like to thank you on behalf of our entire staff for taking the time to review our Howard Johnson in Waterloo Iowa! I will make sure to pass along the compliment to our staff! They take great pride in the work they do. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our pool as we did... More 

Roseville, Minnesota
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here 2 nights, August 6-7, 2016 while we enjoyed Iowa Irish Fest. The location was ideal for our needs and we needed 2 adjoining rooms. We stayed in rooms 105 & 107. The staff were pleasant at check-in and the lobby was well maintained. HUMIDITY: Although the weather was perfect- sunny, high of 79 and very low/no humidity... More 

Helpful?
Thank petalfoot
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterloo hotels
3.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Waterloo
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Waterloo
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Waterloo
Hampton Inn Waterloo
#1 of 15 in Waterloo
4.5 of 5 stars 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Motel 6 Crossroads Mall-Waterloo-Cedar Falls
3.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Waterloo-Cedar Falls
3.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Waterloo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Waterloo/cedar Falls

Address: 3052 Marnie Ave, Waterloo, IA 50701-4373
Location: United States > Iowa > Waterloo
Price Range: $57 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Waterloo/cedar Falls 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Waterloo/cedar Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heartland Hotel Waterloo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay