We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

154 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 154: English reviews
Bentonville, Arkansas
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a typical Holiday Inn Express. This seems like a new hotel but not decorated like some of the other more modern ones. Check in was very fast and quick. We were on the 3rd floor and the hallways had an odor which might have been stale air or something else. But, the room itself was fine and was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
Nick C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay. As with all of our reviews we will use your comments to make sure that we can continue to grow and provide the excellent service you have come to expect.

Minneapolis,Mn
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stop here just before Christmas, The hotel is off of a service road that parallels Plum Drive, the entrance to the service road is at the hotel before you get to the Holiday Inn Express, or you have to drive pass and come back at the next entrance to the service road. The room was quiet, but found the bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank business-traveler-Mn
Nick C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing us for your Christmas stay. We are thrilled you enjoyed your time with us and apologize for the difficulties finding our entrance. We are in a growing area and some changes are being made to Plum Drive in the upcoming years.

Kansas City
Reviewed November 21, 2016

Stayed for four nights in November for business. It's your typical HIE hotel. So, if you've stayed in one before it's no different. In the morning, I never did see anyone at the front desk. They always had a sign up to call an extension. Not the best of customer service. As a Spire member, I'm still waiting for my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kkitelin
Nick C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback bout your most recent stay with us. We apologize for the issues you mentioned in your post and will work to get these items rectified with our team. We hope to see you again and thank you for your loyalty as a Spire Elite member.

Lancaster, California
Reviewed November 16, 2016

I had to stay here for a few days on a business trip. This place had nice rooms, nice staff and a nice overall property. There was plenty of parking and the breakfasts looked good. I would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brandon F
Nick C, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. It is our goal to have our guests leaving our property feeling great about their lodging decision. We look forward to you paying us a visit again in the near future.

Columbia, Missouri
Reviewed October 26, 2016

Great HIE property offering the usual amenities. Bright, cheerful decor....clean and comfortable. Travel plans only allowed us to stay there for one night....would have enjoyed staying longer! Staff was helpful, courteous, friendly and professional. Highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank step515
Nick C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback on your most recent stay. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to your next visit.

Belleville, IL
Reviewed September 26, 2016

Check-in was easy and efficient. Clerk was friendly and able to answer all questions. Room was clean, orderly and quiet. Bathroom was well supplied with necessary items and easy to use. Comp breakfast had most of the necessary items. Hot items were hot and the cold items were cold. Check-out was simple. Recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jimbo1937
Nick C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are thrilled that we were able to provide you with the service you come to expect during your travels. We hope you have a chance to come and visit us again in the near future.

Hudson, Wisconsin
Reviewed September 22, 2016 via mobile

Comparisons are not good, but sometimes needs to be done. We stayed before at the Hilton near by. Big difference. The Holiday Inn has a average service. Breakfast not even close to the Hilton Garden Inn. The unexplained is that the Holiday Inn has the coffee makers in the BATHROOM. It is completly insane. The hotels are only 5 blocks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cetobler
Nick C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback. We apologize that you did not fully enjoy your time with us and will be using your comments to further coach and train our team.

Schaumburg
Reviewed September 12, 2016

This was just a one night stay but we were very impressed with this hotel. The desk person was very friendly, room was nicely furnished and very clean. Comfortable bed. Continental breakfast was typical but good. Great cinnamon buns! Would stay again when in the Des Moines area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LadyclaireSchaumburg
Nick C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing us as your first Holiday Inn stay! We are thrilled that you were able to relax and enjoy your time with us. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Urbandale!

Fort Dodge
Reviewed August 28, 2016 via mobile

We had a friends weekend to see the Cubs game. When we first walked into the room, there was a bad smell coming from the bathroom. Then the TV wouldn't work. We called the front desk and they moved us right away. The breakfast was very good. The second room was much better.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl T
Nick C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us. We apologize that we got off to a bad start with you, but are happy we could get you all set to enjoy your Cubs weekend. We do hope that you will come back and see us again in the near future.

Tama, Iowa
Reviewed August 20, 2016

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Urbandale after a long day at the local amusement park (Adventureland). We arrived after 11 PM and I was happy that check in was very fast and efficient. Our room was pretty standard, two beds, decent size. The only real issue that I had was that our bed ( two kids in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carny1230
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urbandale
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines Urbandale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Renovo
Hotel Renovo
#2 of 11 in Urbandale
118 reviews
0.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale
0.6 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel and Conference Center - Des Moines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale

Address: 8789 Plum Dr, Urbandale, IA 50322-6245
Location: United States > Iowa > Urbandale
Price Range: $116 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Make sure things work before settling in”
 of 5 bubbles PatW622, Aug 16, 2016 | Read review
“Check to see if there is a major event in the area with younger individuals”
 of 5 bubbles 998RICHARDS, Jul 8, 2016 | Read review
“Go to the IHG website”
 of 5 bubbles suzannelt, May 4, 2016 | Read review
“Stay on south side if you want to be the furthest from interstate I-80”
 of 5 bubbles tonyandk, Dec 22, 2015 | Read review
“The interstate is north of the property. The farther south you are, the quieter it will be.”
 of 5 bubbles 78MatthewH, Aug 12, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay