Revel Hotel Des Moines Urbandale, Tapestry Collection by Hilton

Revel Hotel Des Moines Urbandale, Tapestry Collection by Hilton

Traveler (11)
Revel Hotel | One King Bathroom
Room & Suite (38)
Dining (6)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#4 of 10 hotels in Urbandale
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.3
Value
4.5
Situated in Urbandale within the metropolitan area of Des Moines, Iowa, the Revel Hotel Des Moines Urbandale, Tapestry Collection by Hilton hotel is minutes from Living History Farms and close to the airport where guests can access the free shuttle service. Guest rooms feature iconic designs including original artwork and floor-to-ceiling windows and come equipped with free WiFi, a Keurig coffee maker, and mini fridge. The hotel's on-site bar bistro serves small plates, entrees, and drinks. For Midwestern comfort food, Machine Shed Restaurant is walking distance from the hotel. Event spaces are available for hosting meetings, events, or weddings. Space can be modified to create a tailor-made event that suits your needs. Seat up to 70 guests for a theater-style presentation or accommodate 250 guests for a standing reception.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Airport transportation
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Price Match Guarantee

Location

11211 Hickman Road, Urbandale, IA 50322
108Reviews1Q+A14Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 82
  • 8
  • 9
  • 2
  • 7
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
LisaJaneRasmussen wrote a review May 2023
36 contributions4 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I love this hotel and deem it our favorite Des Moines getaway. I can't believe you can get this kind of a stay for the price! On this particular hotel stay, I was traveling with my daughter and son-in-law. The manager allowed us early check-in which we requested as my daughter wasn't feeling well. I enjoyed solo time around their lovely outside fire pit area in the evening. It is so welcoming and a peaceful area. Then on our Monday morning checkout day, my son-in-law had fallen ill (same germ as my daughter had) and the manager allowed late check out to help allow more rest time before their flight out of DSM.

AND I have to tell you about the breakfasts!!! Real eggs prepared by a chef! REAL bacon and sausage!!! Multiple juices and milk varieties. Freshly baked scones THAT ARE TO DIE FOR!!!! My favorite is berry white chocolate! Great breads-various jams. And it's included in the cost of the room.

The local murals and artwork is awesome. We are Iowa pig farmers and we appreciate the tasteful farming theme that the spacious lobby is decorated in. The fabulous mural art is located on every floor. This also made this artgirl happy.

I hate to write such a good review because we want to save this secret for ourselves. Hats off to the staff at the Revel. You do a fabulous job. We will be back soon!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Date of stay: May 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lesley Von Tersch, Owner at Revel Hotel Des Moines Urbandale, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded Jun 2, 2023
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at our hotel! We're thrilled to be your favorite Des Moines getaway and that you found great value in your stay. It's heartwarming to hear that our manager accommodated your requests and that you enjoyed the peaceful fire pit area, delicious breakfasts, and the tasteful farming-themed decor. We appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paul W wrote a review Feb 2020
8 contributions16 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very nice indeed. I stayed 5 nights here - it’s new, extremely clean. The plumbing was very nice and effective; modern shower stalls with nice door and faucetry.

The toilet was sequestered from the sink/shower area, which is smart, in my opinion, not common enough.

Very crisp, clean, quality bedding, firm mattress.

The common areas are very comfortable and well decorated.

The best thing: The staff and service. Reagan at the front desk solved several problems for me very efficiently, very good natured, and all other staff I encountered, from housekeeping to bartenders were well trained and friendly. It’s a well run hotel.

The least thing: Breakfast in the lobby was poor, though friends reported that the room service food was much better.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MKSparkman, Public Relations Manager at Revel Hotel Des Moines Urbandale, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded Feb 6, 2020
Hello, thank you for staying with us and providing your excellent feedback. We are happy to see you enjoyed the environment and friendly staff at the Revel Hotel. We hope to see you all again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hwy41 wrote a review Feb 2022
New Braunfels, Texas30 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Brittany greets us with a hello and a genuine smile that says I’m not just here to check you in…I’m here to WELCOME you. Nothing perfunctory about this checkin. She hands us off to Daisy the barkeep in the roomy bar/eatery space just behind the desk. The room is active with clusters of folks mingling, celebrating, having a casual good time after work or meetings. Yet Daisy takes the “welcoming” baton with ease—attentive with just the right level of “get to know ya” conversation and mixology perfection. I’ve stayed at a sister property, The Rewind, when I want a traditional steak dinner from their restaurant, but Chef Caleb’s menu keeps bringing me back here—always fun and flavorful. Wait, Paul, the manager, just stopped by to make sure our drinks are just right or if we need anything. It seems it’s all hands on deck with the express purpose of ensuring we are comfortable and having a pleasant stay. Now you get the picture!! Rooms, ice machines, breakfast and such all top-notch, but it’s pleasant service that sets this place apart.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lesley Von Tersch, Owner at Revel Hotel Des Moines Urbandale, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded Feb 8, 2022
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Revel! Thank you for taking the time to writing your review and we hope to see you again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KSue4 wrote a review Apr 2021
quad cities, il7 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is updated in the furnishings and decor. However, we were very disappointed in a variety of things. First, we were not given the room we reserved. We had reserved a corner suite, but were given a suite in the middle of the hotel. Not sure if it was the HVAC units or what the noise was but we heard a constant loud humming sound that made it less than relaxing in our room. We were on the 3rd floor just above the hotel entrance. When we inquired about why we were given a different room, the front desk person said she had just come on shift and that she had no idea. She looked to get us into the correct room, but said they were full. Then we put things in the mini fridge only to find out that it didn't work. The front desk said they would have their maintenance look at it. We were gone for the evening and when we got back it was still warm. When I asked again at the front desk they said it had been switched out with a new one and it was working. It never did work or get cold and at that point it was 10 pm and I gave up trying to get anything we had reserved. The side door we went in was never locked. While it had a key card entry, it wasn't needed which does not make you feel safe next to a busy interstate. While the hotel is updated with furnishings and decor it lacks in customer service and comfort.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lesley Von Tersch, Owner at Revel Hotel Des Moines Urbandale, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded Apr 23, 2021
Hello, thank you for staying with us and sharing your helpful feedback - please know we will share this with our team and make the necessary adjustments. We apologize that you were not put in the room you booked, we would love to offer you to come back on us - please email us at jkeaty@hoari.com so we can make sure your next stay with us is comped. Thank you!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bri wrote a review Sep 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Top notch hotel! Revel is what I think of when I think of a modern, boutique-style hotel. Excellent attention to detail. Room was clean, bed was comfortable and the service from the staff was outstanding. The on-site restaurant had such amazing food that we ate there two nights in a row. (The honey garlic flatbread is delicious.) The service from their bartender and chef was excellent. The location is easy to get on and off of the interstate and the Machine Shed restaurant is just across the parking lot. We will definitely be staying here again. Great location. Great food. Great hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lesley Von Tersch, Owner at Revel Hotel Des Moines Urbandale, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded Sep 6, 2022
Hi there, thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to share your wonderful review! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your Honey Garlic Flatbread from the Revel Lounge. We look forward to seeing you again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Renee T wrote a review Sep 2021
Silver Spring, Maryland11 contributions17 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a lovely Hilton Tapestry Collection hotel. The staff were absolutely wonderful. I was sick for a good portion of my stay, and they all were very kind and gracious. The General Manager, Paul, is delightful. Very much enjoyed the bar lounge, and the kitchen did a nice job with their menu, offering unique and tasty items. The room itself was nicely decorated and designed well. I loved the large walk-in shower. My only complaint is that the breakfast offered was subpar, primarily carbohydrates (bread, muffins, bagels, Danish) -- no eggs, no meat. For this type of property, they could do better, in my opinion.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lesley Von Tersch, Owner at Revel Hotel Des Moines Urbandale, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded Sep 7, 2021
Hi Renee - thank you for staying with us and sharing your wonderful feedback. We will share your comments with Paul and the rest of the team. We hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TerriStJames wrote a review Jun 2022
Saint James, Minnesota43 contributions19 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We really enjoyed our stay here, if only for one night. When we arrived, we were greeted warmly. Our room was roomy, clean, and quiet. The bed was really comfortable. The decor of this hotel is very artsy but classy, with works by local artists. The breakfast buffet, (which we usually skip at other hotels), was very good, with hot eggs, fresh muffins, crispy bacon, and many other items. We arrived too late to enjoy a drink at the bar, but that area looked nice also. Upon check-out, the clerk was awesome. Everyone was very polite, friendly, and seemed genuinely happy to be there. I would highly recommend this hotel to friends and family. We would like to one day come back, too.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Great location and easy access to the interstate
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lesley Von Tersch, Owner at Revel Hotel Des Moines Urbandale, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded Jun 8, 2022
Hi there—thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to share this amazing review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your one-night stay with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kspence612 wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I seldom take the time to do reviews but this is such an excellent location I felt the need to do so. Beautiful,clean location. Amazing food and courteous staff. Online checkin and digital key made things effortless. Nice bar/dining area and patio.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lesley Von Tersch, Owner at Revel Hotel Des Moines Urbandale, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded Jul 5, 2021
It means a lot to us that you took the time to provide such an amazing review. We appreciate that you chose to stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again during your next stay with us!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kellykastner wrote a review Apr 2022
Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The attention to detail is outstanding, from local artists paintings to actual coffee cups in the rooms. The staff, especially Brittany, was outstanding. I hope to find other hotels at this level of standards in my future!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Date of stay: April 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lesley Von Tersch, Owner at Revel Hotel Des Moines Urbandale, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded Apr 12, 2022
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Revel! We are so pleased to hear that your stay exceeded expectations and we hope to see you again if you are in the area.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AnnSrad23222 wrote a review Jun 2023
Minneapolis, Minnesota1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We were told on check in the bar closes at 11pm. We returned from an event downtown at 1030 and decided to have one before turning in. The bar area was busy with groups drinking and eating what appeared to be food delivered in since restaurant had closed already. Bartender ignored us for 10 minutes. Clearly made eye contact with my boyfriend but didnt approach us right away to say that last call had been made at 1045. Went through her receipts with back to the bar . Finally came over and explained bar was closed and last call was missed. I guess closing time should be said to be 1045 not 11pm. Bartender was a real you know what about it too. Said ALL the bars in the area close at 11pm. Would have taken 5 min to poor a tap beer or glass of wine and probably would have gotten a huge tip.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Date of stay: June 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lesley Von Tersch, Owner at Revel Hotel Des Moines Urbandale, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded Jun 16, 2023
Hello, thank you for taking the time to let us know what happened and bringing this to our attention. We are very sorry for how you were treated by the bartender and that you did not get to have a 5-star experience. Please know that we will be addressing this with our team to be sure we are upholding standards.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from 2002Fish
Hiawatha, Iowa33 contributions25 helpful votes
You have access to Renovo Hotel’s pool- it’s very nice and worth it.
Ryann Storm wrote a tip Jan 2024
37 contributions12 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure you’re okay with the shower situation! Caution about the sound from the interstate."
Read full review
Debra D wrote a tip Oct 2023
Muscatine, Iowa213 contributions121 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We always ask for a room on a top floor as far away from the elevator as possible, as they are much quieter."
Read full review
Jerri wrote a tip May 2023
Saint Paul, Minnesota66 contributions5 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"The Hilton website leads you to believe that you have to pay for breakfast. It is free! The shower door is clear and is shown into the room by a poorly placed mirror. "
Read full review
Paul M wrote a tip Mar 2023
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Easy to see from the road but can be a little hard to drive to the first time. Once that you find the path to it, it is easy. Well worth it"
Read full review
Mike S wrote a tip Sep 2022
Davenport, Iowa152 contributions64 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We choose first floor because we had bikes to bring in."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Urbandale area.
PRICE RANGE
$136 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesIowaUrbandale
NUMBER OF ROOMS
110
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

REVEL HOTEL DES MOINES URBANDALE, TAPESTRY COLLECTION BY HILTON $157 ($̶1̶7̶4̶) - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Revel Hotel Des Moines Urbandale, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Which popular attractions are close to Revel Hotel Des Moines Urbandale, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Nearby attractions include Breakout Games - Des Moines (2.2 miles), Living History Farms (0.2 miles), and Valley Junction (4.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Revel Hotel Des Moines Urbandale, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Revel Hotel Des Moines Urbandale, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Revel Hotel Des Moines Urbandale, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Revel Hotel Des Moines Urbandale, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Revel Hotel Des Moines Urbandale, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mi Patria Ecuadorian Restaurant, Simon's J Benjamin's, and Biaggi's Ristorante Italiano.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Revel Hotel Des Moines Urbandale, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Does Revel Hotel Des Moines Urbandale, Tapestry Collection by Hilton have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Revel Hotel Des Moines Urbandale, Tapestry Collection by Hilton offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Revel Hotel Des Moines Urbandale, Tapestry Collection by Hilton have airport transportation?
Yes, Revel Hotel Des Moines Urbandale, Tapestry Collection by Hilton offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Revel Hotel Des Moines Urbandale, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Revel Hotel Des Moines Urbandale, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
All Urbandale HotelsUrbandale Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in UrbandaleHotels near Revel Hotel Des Moines Urbandale, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars