We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oskaloosa Motel

Overview
  • Excellent20%
  • Very good27%
  • Average7%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible46%
  • Aug 12, 2018
    “The wills family vacation”
  • May 6, 2016
    “OVERBOOKED!!”
2278 Highway 63, Oskaloosa, IA 52577-9137 See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Kitchenette
Pets Allowed
2.5 Star accommodation
About
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free Parking
Pool
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Refrigerator in room
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Kitchenette
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Kitchenette
Number of rooms
40
Formerly known as
Red Carpet Inn Oskaloosa
Also Known As
Oskaloosa Motel Iowa
Location
United States > Iowa > Oskaloosa
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 5 nearby hotels
Americas Best Value Inn Oskaloosa
51 reviews
2.10 miles away
Budget Inn
41 reviews
2.12 miles away
EverSpring Inn & Suites - Oskaloosa
95 reviews
2.39 miles away
Super 8 by Wyndham Oskaloosa IA
137 reviews
2.47 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 37 nearby restaurants
Smokey Row Coffee
94 reviews
2.07 miles away
Jaarsma Bakery
45 reviews
1.98 miles away
Tasos Steakhouse
78 reviews
2.03 miles away
Chuong Garden Chinese Restaurant
23 reviews
2.11 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 14 nearby attractions
Tassel Ridge Winery
34 reviews
5.25 miles away
Lake Keomah State Park
6 reviews
5.84 miles away
Historical Village, Vermeer Windmill & Scholte House
167 reviews
15.07 miles away
Wagamon"s Mill
5 reviews
19.09 miles away
Reviews & more
15Reviews
1Photo
0Q+A
0Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 3
  • 4
  • 1
  • 0
  • 7
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
The best vacation place to stay ,very clean,staff is super ,treated us like family ,won’t stay anywhere else. Very quite place and just all around enjoyable ,can’t say enough about the clean rooms and the owners goes way beyond being nice and making your stay with them most enjoy
Read more
Booked thru Hotels.Com several weeks before our planned visit to the Pella Iowa tulip festival. After driving 3 hours we were greeted at The Red carpet Inn by a locked lobby door and a "no vacancy" sign. The manager did answer the door but explained that the hotel was overbooke
Read more
Hello. This is my second time staying at the Red Carpet inn in Oskaloosa Iowa and I will say that any time I'm in the area I will stay here. Back in 2014 I stayed here for over a month while working a job in Ottumwa. The management was very eager to help with all of your needs a
Read more
Response from Jessica S, Manager at Oskaloosa Motel
Responded Apr 7, 2016
John, "Cowboy" I am glad you enjoyed your stay. As Manager I am trying to clean this place up from what it was before I got here. We enjoyed your company as well as all your co workers. You guys were great. I hope to see you in the future. Take care
Read more
Upon arrival, I knew this place was NOT what it claimed to be. The exterior is very run down. Get into my reserved room, no A/C. Get switched to a new room, no doorknob on bathroom door. Key won't work in outside door. Get new key for outside door. No black out curtains in
Read more
Response from Jessica S, Manager at Oskaloosa Motel
Responded Sep 28, 2015
I apologize for the inconvenience of your stay here at the Red Carpet, as the manager, I am trying to improve what I can with what I got, as for the room without the ac that I will take the blame for as I honestly forgot that there wasn't one in there, I had bought new ones and I thought one got put in that room, my apologies, as for the bathroom doorknob, I asked my temp guy to put one in there, as for the pool, yes the site says it "beautiful" however it is closed down, and in the process of getting taken out. The rooms do not have coffee pots, we serve that in the office in the morning, I have done a lot of work to this place and it does look a lot better than what it had, and I am still working on it, by improving the rooms, the grounds even the pool. However I can only work with what I have. Again, I am sorry your stay was unpleasant.
Read more
The worst place I've ever paid money to stay in. It was not clean, they painted the bathroom during the first day while we were out, but it was so bad I don't know why. The safety catch was missing on the door, they advertise a kitchenette or some such and there was nothing but
Read more
Response from Jessica S, Manager at Oskaloosa Motel
Responded Apr 3, 2016
I am sorry that you had a bad experience here, however let me point out the faults you stated, the rooms here are clean as I make sure of every day. The kitchenette that "they" advertise I can not answer to as I did not advertise that. The new owners do not provide coffee makers, or Kleenex, however you can get them upon request. This motel is out in the rural area, so yes we have bugs outside, the lights from the motel attracts them, however there are no dead ones in the rooms unless the guest themselves kill it. As well as the towel situation, I was the only one working, I manage the place as well as do the keep up on the rooms, I provide plenty of linen in the rooms to provide 2 or 3 days worth. I am in the process of trying to renovate rooms which I was doing when you arrived for your stay. Again I want to apologize for you unpleasant stay as well as for the faulty comment you made that my rooms are not clean. I hope you have found better experience and nicer management elsewhere.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photos
PreviousNext
11
PreviousNext
11
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing