We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Message from TripAdvisor:
TripAdvisor has grounds to investigate that individuals or entities associated with or having an interest in this property may have attempted to interfere with traveler reviews and/or the Popularity Index for this property. Please take this into consideration when researching your travel plans. We make our best efforts to identify suspicious content and are always working to improve the processes we use to assess traveler reviews.

BEST WESTERN Holiday Manor Newton Iowa

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Holiday Manor Newton Iowa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

163 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 161: English reviews
Start your review of BEST WESTERN Holiday Manor Newton Iowa
 Click to rate
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Staff was excellent and helpful. Nice place to stay while visiting Newton. Kids loved pool. Beds and pillows were extremely comfortable. Enjoyed our stay and would definitely return to the same spot. Close to town square so shops are within walking distance.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank R1091QCsarahk
Atherton, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Drove from Michigan to San Francisco on Interstate 80. A great place to stop is Newton Iowa, county seat with old rural town charter. Used to be Maytag manufacturing but that was moved to Mexico. If looking for a quiet town with good stores for in room dining, try this Best Western. Pet friendly, clean motel. Courteous staff. Located off...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ddt960
Judy J, Manager at BEST WESTERN Holiday Manor Newton Iowa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate the positive feedback.

Deerfield, Wisconsin
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Would recommend will stay here next time though clean and close to area businesses lady behind desk was helpful in directing me to several places to eat and told me her favorite place - I tried it and would have to agree it was excellent!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Todd H
Judy J, Manager at BEST WESTERN Holiday Manor Newton Iowa, responded to this review

Thank you Todd for taking the time to review our hotel. I will pass on your kind words to all the staff.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The Best Western was perfect location for my in town business trip and was easy to locate off the Interstate. Check in was speedy, staff was friendly. Beds comfortable and rooms size adequate. Breakfast was standard. However, my favorite was the Fitness room as it had weights, good equipment and the space was user friendly. I would return to this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Betty K
bwnewton, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Holiday Manor Newton Iowa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the kind words. We are happy you enjoyed your stay.

Rockford, Illinois
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Best Westerns don't always have the best reputation, but this one is very good. The hotel is located in downtown Newton, Iowa across the street from what use to Maytag's World Headquarters. While Maytag is gone, this hotel is being well maintained. The carpet is new, the furniture is in good repair. The heat and television worked fine. Warm cookies...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave3441
Judy J, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Holiday Manor Newton Iowa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Best Western Holiday Manor.

Reviewed January 18, 2017

I booked my room through expedia and was charged by expedia (as expected) but then by the hotel ($88.32). I called to get a refund after being charged twice and after talking to the women at the front desk nothing happened. I called again about a week later and I was charged another $88.32. I called the woman (Amy) at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel W
bwnewton, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Holiday Manor Newton Iowa, responded to this review

I'm very sorry you had an issue with your billing. On 1-18-17 we spoke with Expedia and the issue was resolved. Thank you for choosing the Best Western Holiday Manor. If you have any further questions fill free to call the hotel directly. Thank you Management

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed January 10, 2017

This hotel is a short 5 min drive off of interstate 80 and well worth it! Great location in downtown Newton. I travel a lot for business and have stayed at this location several times for family. All furnishings are brand new - bed is amazing. But what is most special about this location is the warm environment and accommodating...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dpsnow01
GuestAdvisory, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Holiday Manor Newton Iowa, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for staying with us and your nice comments. I am happy to hear you enjoyed the hotel and the staff was accommodating. Hope to see you again! Warm Regards, Judy J.

Chicago, Il
Reviewed December 29, 2016

We stayed here mainly because we were traveling with a dog. The lobby was nice as well as the rooms were very Nice and a comfortable quiet room. Breakfast included egg, sausage,pancakes, etc it was very tasty. The wait staff was wonderful. I Would certainly stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mikecohike
GuestAdvisory, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Holiday Manor Newton Iowa, responded to this review

Dear Mike, Thank you for staying with us and your nice comments. I am happy to hear you enjoyed the room and breakfast! Warm Regards, Judy J. General Manager

Manchester, Iowa
Reviewed December 19, 2016

I was in town with my family for a wedding and had reserved a room for 3 nights. When I checked in they only had my room reserved for one night. After we had checked out I was looking at my bank info and noticed I was charged for an extra room that I supposedly had reserved and had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Juhle
BestW_12, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Holiday Manor Newton Iowa, responded to this review

Juhle, so sorry to hear about the issues you had with our staff. We have addressed this situation and outcome with our hotel staff. We appreciate your feedback and hope that you will give us another chance if you visit the Newton area again. Thank you, - Best Western Hotels & Resorts

Reviewed December 18, 2016

I had to travel to Newton for a funeral. Checking into this hotel was extremely easy. It was extremely clean and welcoming. Very quiet location within walking distance to restaurants and coffee shops (Uncle Nancy's is great). The room was just as fantastic. The real benefit are the employees. Especially Lucy in the breakfast room. They made us feel like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
GuestAdvisory, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Holiday Manor Newton Iowa, responded to this review

Dear Robert, Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to hear you felt at home and enjoyed the hotel amenities. Hope to see you again soon. Warm Regards, Judy J. General Manager

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton
3.2 mi away
Boulders Inn & Suites Newton
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Newton
Days Inn Newton
#3 of 8 in Newton
239 reviews
3.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Newton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Colfax/Newton
17.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grinnell
1.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Newton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the new Holiday Manor Newton Iowa, located minutes from the new Iowa Speedway, Maytag Plant, Maytag Dairy Farms, Grinnell College, Lake Red Rock, Knoxville Raceway, Jasper Winery, Sugar Grove Vineyards and Gatheringplace, Harvestor Golf Course, Adventureland, Prairie Meadows and just 30 minutes to Des Moines. Holiday Inn Express Newton is a beautifully renovated property of 78 rooms and suites, with fitness & business center open 24 hours a day for your convenience. The interior heated swimming pool and spa are available for you and your family to enjoy at your leisure. Race fans make your reservations early for the best rates. Our spacious rooms and suites are tastefully appointed featuring a well lit work area, complimentary high speed internet, some with microwave and refrigerators and of course the Simply Smart bath experience. Your home away from home is waiting for you with a great complimentary breakfast, featuring delicious eggs, Express Roast blend coffee and many more tasty breakfast treats. Join us, we're waiting for you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Holiday Manor Newton Iowa

Address: 208 W 4th St N, Newton, IA 50208 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Newton)
Location: United States > Iowa > Newton
Price Range: $86 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Holiday Manor Newton Iowa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Best Western and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Holiday Manor Newton Iowa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newton Hotel Newton
Newton Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Holiday Manor Newton Iowa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Pet friendly ask for 1st floor”
 of 5 bubbles ddt960, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Low density development around the property so I doubt there is a noisey side to the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles Dave3441, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“All rooms recently remodeled - new furnishings and the housekeeping staff really cleans!”
 of 5 bubbles dpsnow01, Jan 10, 2017 | Read review
“Stay away from this place-management fraudulently charged my card.”
 of 5 bubbles securitieslawyer, Oct 19, 2016 | Read review
“The hotel has an elevator so all rooms are easily accessed.”
 of 5 bubbles 376lucienv, Oct 16, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question