We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sleep Inn & Suites Mount Vernon

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sleep Inn & Suites Mount Vernon
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

65 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Sleep Inn & Suites Mount Vernon
See the most recent reviews
Showing 65: English reviews
Naperville, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
162 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2016

Facing west, my room on the third floor looked over a vast corn field. Perfect impression of Iowa. This is the best hotel in Mt. Vernon (perhaps it's the only one, but still the best hotel). The rooms are very clean and large. The rack rate on the room is a bit steep, but, if you're visiting Cornell College, this... More 

Helpful?
Thank CWSMuse
Jason L, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Mount Vernon, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to fill out our online survey with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to... More 

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2016

The staff was very nice and the rooms are very clean. There was fruit and tea in the lounge area that was free for guests. The bed was also very comfortable. My only negative comment is that there is quite a gap between the bottom of the room's door and the floor. Which allows light to shine in at night... More 

Helpful?
Thank katiesg07
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2016

The room was spacious, the breakfast was great with so many choices. The pool and atmosphere was so delightful and the hot tub was "Heaven!" We will stay here again. The hotel was so nice and quiet, and every member of the staff were so professional and so friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Tim M
Burlington, Iowa
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016 via mobile

We stay quite often at numerous hotels as a family and group. This hotel was very nice for being in such a small community. I would recommend staying here if in Mt. Vernon! Cedar Rapids of course has more selection but this hotel meets all expectations! Will not disappoint.

Helpful?
Thank Smorcs
Jason L, Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Mount Vernon, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such positive feedback. I have passed your comments onto the rest of the staff. We hope to see you again in the near future. More 

Durango
Level Contributor
71 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2015

We've stayed here each time visiting our daughter at Cornell College. It's clean, roomy, good breakfast, a good value and close to campus and the airport. My only complaint is the internet service - it's so slow in our room as to be mostly useless - and never seems to improve.

Helpful?
1 Thank ELP59
Jason L, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Mount Vernon, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words! I would like to apologize about the speed of the wifi during your last visit. As part of our major 2 year renovation, we upgraded our wifi network, adding more access points, switches, etc. Unfortunately, when you have a full house weekend, and you figure at least 2 devices are being used per room,... More 

Alma, Michigan
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2015

This is the classic example of "You get what you pay for." The hotel was extremely inexpensive and was totally adequate for our needs. We were visiting Cornell College with our daughter and this is really the only hotel in Mt. Vernon, Iowa. We were surprised that nobody was staffing the front desk when we arrived at 11:30 PM, but... More 

Helpful?
Thank JoMich
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2015

Stayed overnight on a Sunday night. Was accommodated with an early check-in. Found this motel to far surpass my expectations. These folks give attention to detail that normally only comes with a more expensive place to stay. The staff, the room, the beds, the cleanliness, and the breakfast all get an A+ from me. I would recommend this motel to... More 

Helpful?
Thank askmrg
Jason L, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Mount Vernon, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your most recent visit to our Hotel. The last couple years we have been very busy remodeling the entire Hotel, training staff on how its the little things that count as well. It is so wonderful to hear these things did not go unnoitced. I will be sure to pass your comments onto... More 

Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2015

Clean spacious rooms; awesome beds; very nice computer in lobby with printer; friendly and helpful staff; easy to get to from Hwy 1 and Hwy 30; closer to the Eastern Iowa Airport than you would imagine. hot and cold breakfast - delicious with great selections; restaurants and grocery moments away! Not a lot of outdoor amenities but an overall excellent... More 

Helpful?
Thank FloridaGoose
Jason L, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Mount Vernon, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words regarding your most recent visit. We are delighted to know you enjoyed your experience, and look forward to many more visits. More 

Illinois City, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2015 via mobile

We stayed at the Sleep Inn in Mt. Vernon Iowa for one night. The Sleep Inn staff went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable. From the reservation process, to the nice staff working at the front desk, to the breakfast staff, everyone had a kind and friendly word for us. The hotel was clean and recent renovations were... More 

Helpful?
Thank EWNLG
Jason L, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Mount Vernon, responded to this review

It was my pleasure to help get your belongings back to you! I have passed your kind words onto the remaining of the staff, it is their hard work & dedication that make this business a success. More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2015 via mobile

Staff was friendly and courteous. Breakfast had many options and was clean and fresh. Rooms were clean and the beds were very comfortable. Great stop on the way to Mechanicsville. First time I have ever slept in a corn field! Love the decor and atmosphere. Even our dog was happy here.

Helpful?
Thank Miley B
Jason L, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Mount Vernon, responded to this review

I am so delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit to Mount Vernon! We have done a lot of renovations the last 3 years, including all new beds (which is why they are so comfy!), complete room makeover (new carpet, drapes, artwork, bedding, furnishings, etc.), and a complete public area makeover. It is nice to know these things do not... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

62 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (62)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Vernon
16.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in North Liberty
4.5 of 5 stars 108 reviews
16.1 mi away
Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center
13.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Quality Inn Coralville
Quality Inn Coralville
#11 of 18 in Coralville
3.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
12.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#24 of 37 in Cedar Rapids
3.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
12.0 mi away
The Hotel at Kirkwood Center
The Hotel at Kirkwood Center
#2 of 37 in Cedar Rapids
5.0 of 5 stars 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites Mount Vernon

Address: 310 Virgil Ave, Mount Vernon, IA 52314-9569
Location: United States > Iowa > Mount Vernon
Price Range: $93 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn & Suites Mount Vernon 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Choice Hotels so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites Mount Vernon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Mount Vernon
Mount Vernon Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn & Suites Mount Vernon Iowa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay