We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Little River Inn Motel

Save
Share
708 W 1st St, Leon, IA 50144-1166
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (4)
Room & Suite (6)
Dining (3)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Friendly motel in small town setting where you can make yourself at home! Rustle up some steaks on the grill and sit outdoors at our place, or go enjoy our local restaurants. Go fishing or eagle watching at area lakes, hike some trails, visit Amish area farms & stores, or go just a little further to tour the Bridges of Madison County. Just ask us about great things to do! Just want to "veg"? - no problem, read a book, go for a walk, browse the internet, surf our many cable channels. We're just 1 hour south of Des Moines or 2 hours north of Kansas City, but a million miles away from hustle & bustle.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Snack bar
Vending machine
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Telephone
Microwave
Refrigerator
Extra long beds
Bath / shower
Clothes rack
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
18Reviews0Q+A2Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 9
  • 4
  • 1
  • 1
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Charles L wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
Had agreed to a rate of $200 per week for 3 months then on day of arrival changed to $400 per week. Small outdated place and you can’t trust the owners. Lady that booked my room kept telling me it was her boss come to find out that is what she calls her husband.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Beemer, Owner at Little River Inn Motel
Responded Sep 5, 2020
Charles, I am sorry for the poor communication on my part that caused this problem. My business partner is my husband, and our BUSINESS agreement is that we consult together before finalizing any special arrangements. I failed to do that in your case. We appreciate the opportunity to set the record straight about renting our motel rooms for $200 per week. That is not our business model. When the original space (a small section of a guest house) that we arranged for your employee for $200 per week was no longer available, I did make in an error in agreeing to extending the rate to a motel room before consulting with my business partner. We offered to honor the rate if you agreed to pay in advance since it was based on a three-month stay, but you declined. It was not based on a week-to-week stay that might end up lasting for three months.
Read more
Andera G wrote a review Jan 2020
2 contributions
Just the type of place I love to stay. It is a mid-century throw back with modern, friendly service. I would stay again in a heartbeat. Very clean and the bed was heavenly. I went into the town of Leon and found it charming and friendly. When I am back that way I will stay there.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura B, Owner at Little River Inn Motel
Responded Jan 29, 2020
Thank you for such a nice review! We're always happy to know that our guests are comfortable and that they not only enjoy their stay with us but that they enjoy our community, too. We look forward to seeing you again!
Read more
Kirk wrote a review Jan 2020
Russiaville, Indiana8 contributions1 helpful vote
Got stuck in Leon, IA for 4 days. Thank god we found this little 12 room motel. Nice clean rooms. I was in room #2. It had a double and a single bed. The room had nice fluffy towels. The shower was redone in the last 2 years so big and spacious and clean. The lights in the room are bright. 2 light bars mounted on the walls. I like my room cool. Had heat set at 65 but it was too hot had to turn down to 55 just right. The price was reasonable at $56 per night for a single person. I am a coffee lover and with coffee available 24/7, I was in heaven. They also have some free breakfast snacks including donuts available. The have other snacks available for $0.75. They have a great outdoor grilling area. They have gas, charcoal, and some kind of wood chip grill. We grilled out potatoes, pork chops, and hamburgers Since I was a single and already had a small table and 2 chairs, I was designated the “Party Room”. The owner was kind enough to lend us a folding card table and 2 chairs. The only negative thing is the water flow from the shower head. They are on city water and should have a great flow. But the have low flow shower heads. I understand why they have them, but the shower heads have a worse flow than I do living in the country. I talked to the owner about it and she said they were looking at other options. There MUST be a good compromise solution. Some where between low flow and full flow shower heads! I don’t want to end on a negative note. This was a great place to stay in Leon, IA FWI There is a 24 hour laundry mat with a self serve car wash right next door. It is about 2 miles from the motel in town
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura B, Owner at Little River Inn Motel
Responded Jan 29, 2020
Thank you for your kind comments and detailed review! We do want to people people to feel at home here, and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. You're always welcome - maybe we'll see you again!
Read more
Oklahoma travelers wrote a review Aug 2019
2 contributions
The owner is one of the nicest people ever and the rooms are very clean! Convenient and safe location. Great place to stay, especially for the price. Plus, there's a super cute "motel dog" that will come and greet you. Would highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura B, Owner at Little River Inn Motel
Responded Aug 14, 2019
We're so glad you felt comfortable here and that you enjoyed Nutmeg, our hospitality ambassador! Come again!
Read more
Roam238624 wrote a review Aug 2019
1 contribution1 helpful vote
For $70 a night passing through, this hole in the wall "Bates" motel is the pits! How they got a 4.7 rating on AARP is baffling. Folding, skinny bathroom doors wouldn't shut,sliding door for entry,window AC very loud, 4'x4'bathroom w/5' showerhead. Go farther down the road. Town was sad for drinks/food.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura B, Owner at Little River Inn Motel
Responded Aug 9, 2019
Because service to our guests is so important to us, we’re sorry to hear that you weren’t happy with your experience. Thank you for bringing specific issues to our attention so that we can address them. To potential guests reading this response: • This is a 1950’s era motel. The rooms and bathrooms are smaller than modern facilities. If you’re looking for a full-service hotel, we’re glad to make recommendations. • We have sliding patio doors (exterior entrances) on most of our motel rooms. • Each room has unique features – no two are alike! Feel free to ask for specifics. • This is a rural area, with its hidden charms of Amish farms, covered bridges, sunsets at the lake, and bright stars at night. • Visit our lobby for maps, brochures on area activities, or restaurant listings/menus. For more details, just ask our front desk! Happy guests are important to us! We want you to feel comfortable in coming to us so we can address any issues or answer any questions.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$70 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesIowaLeon
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Little River Inn Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Little River Inn Motel?
Nearby attractions include Little River Lake Recreation Area (1.0 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Little River Inn Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and express check-in and check-out.
Which room amenities are available at Little River Inn Motel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Little River Inn Motel?
Guests can enjoy a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Little River Inn Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Little River Inn Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include From the Ground, Dinky Diner, and Main Street Brick House.
Is Little River Inn Motel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Leon.
Are pets allowed at Little River Inn Motel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Little River Inn Motel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.