We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Bell Inn

Roger Penny Way, Brook, New Forest National Park Hampshire SO43 7HE, England
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • Furzey Gardens
    1.6 mi
  • 4 star hotel
  • Free Parking
Reviewed yesterday
Small friendly hotel and excellent food
Stayed for two nights, staff are very friendly also the food was... more
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

649 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 647: English reviews
Penang, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed for two nights, staff are very friendly also the food was excellent. Bedroom was clean and comfortable. The bar is inviting and also has a large open fire, the drinks prices are competitive. This hotel is also dog friendly. Would definitely stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gazzah000
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We've just returned home from a lovely night away at the Bell Inn for our wedding anniversary. Our room was spacious with a good size bathroom and a nice, powerful shower! The room had all the usual amenities including tea and coffee (and biscuits) iron & ironing board (fairly rare nowadays), heater and fan in the wardrobe, TV etc. I'm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CLHickman
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Me my wife, father in law and daughter came for lunch just before Christmas! The restaurant and bar are very scenic and have a great view of the outside, my daughter enjoyed the donkeys! The food wasn't all bad! But the service of two blonde waitress's made up for the food! One named Anna, who was full of information about...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank max_read
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Warm, comfortable, conveniently situated in lovely surroundings, The Bell made us Welcome with a roaring fire and matchlessly polite and unflappable staff. The rooms are comfortable, clean and quiet. The bar carries an excellent (and expanding) range of gins. It also coped efficiently with the growing demand as guests arrived. The wedding went off without a hitch (staff fitting in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EdwardtheBooble
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Ahhhh, the Bell Inn. Cozy tartan sofas, massive log fires, entirely random service... it always feels like you've popped to a friend's house for a drink, and they'll be with you just as soon as they've fed the dog/ hung up the washing etc. It only adds to the charm. You can wile away a few hours over dinner (if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NewForestGirl2016
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Booked a table for late lunch - 3 adults & 2 children and from the moment we arrived it was clear that our presence was an inconvenience. Before we had sat at the table, we were asked for our drinks order, no children's menus brought over (kids are 7 & 11, so hardly confused as adults) and told we needed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim121home
Mark P, Samantha Farrar responding on behalf of the General Manager at The Bell Inn, responded to this review

Dear Tim121home, Thank you for recent review. As a family who have owned the Inn for many, many years, we like to pride ourselves on welcoming our guests, much like old friends and, have indeed received many positive reviews from previous guests saying how welcome we have made them feel, so it's hugely disappointing to read you felt an inconvenience....

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We came in for new year's day lunch and were very disappointed by both food and service. The decor and atmosphere were welcoming but unfortunately the service didn't match. It took a long time for them to come to our table to order drinks and food. When the food did arrive 2 of 4 were wrong, with one not even...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harriet W
Mark P, Samantha Farrar responding on behalf of Mark Pinn at The Bell Inn, responded to this review

Dear Harriet W, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience with us. As you can probably imagine we're just as disappointed, as you were with the food and service you received from us, to have received a review like this. However, on this occasion, we accept that many mistakes were made with your order and take...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having been disappointed by another venue we tried The Bell Inn. They happily found us a table for eight at short notice. The staff were friendly and accommodating. Drinks were served quickly. The starters followed soon after and were very good and prettily presented. The mains were a little delayed giving us enough time to enjoy the company of our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CARYL M
Mark P, The Innkeeper at The Bell Inn, responded to this review

Dear CARYL M, Thank you so much for your review, we're delighted you enjoyed your experience with us - this is just what we strive for and want to hear! It can be tricky striking a balance between guests' expectations and running an efficient service. It would seem we did a good job here though and hope we can welcome...

UK
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Over all I was very happy with my stay here. Reception was very friendly and helpful then up to the room. Comfortable, modern and clean. Hot drinks, biscuits and sweets, flat screen tv.....another big plus was a nice powerful shower and clean modern bathroom. Bar area is nice and dining is not too formal which I prefer. Nice lounge areas...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Intel1980
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was a very expensive experience very slovenly attitude by management the staff were pleasant and tried to sort out the issues.Food slapdash plastic in the soup presentation of the crab salad appalling Coffee cups over full and presented with a lot in the saucers we had to get our own napkins from the bar to mop up the liquid...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne G
Mark P, The Innkeeper at The Bell Inn, responded to this review

Dear Anne G, Thank you for the review of your recent experience at the Inn. It's good to know you found the staff pleasant and efficient in dealing with the issues you raised, although regretful you felt there was too much crab in your crab salad. We very much value all feedback and thank you for bringing this to our...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

166 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (113)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brook
7.6 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
948 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
5.1 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
700 reviews
3.4 mi away
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Woodlands
513 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Bartley Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cadnam
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Golf course
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Dating from 1782, The Bell Inn combines period features with contemporary style. We're located in the heart of the New Forest National Park in the tranquil hamlet of Bramshaw, yet we are only one minute from the M27! We specialise in looking after small numbers of guests, whether a golf group, a few friends on a short break, or for a business meeting. Our reputation for quality cuisine and wines is growing all the time. Our chefs are dedicated to using locally sourced food and follow the principle of sourcing a significant amount of our produce from within the New Forest. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Bell Inn

Address: Roger Penny Way, Brook, New Forest National Park Hampshire SO43 7HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Brook
Price Range: $96 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bell Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The Bell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bell Hotel New Forest
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Bell Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Do not be afraid of the ground floor rooms facing the road. They are triple glazed and very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles bonviveur10, Nov 26, 2016 | Read review
“great for access to the Forest”
 of 5 bubbles Hanster707, Nov 3, 2016 | Read review
“Personally prefer front room where you may see New Forest wildlife outside your window”
 of 5 bubbles 155paulab, Oct 21, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the back, the front rooms face the road and are noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles R9291QYjanetb, Oct 15, 2016 | Read review
“Manor room are really large and spacious”
 of 5 bubbles G3859YLelizabethp, Oct 3, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question