We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

158 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 158: English reviews
Chicago
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

While not the best AmericInn I've ever stayed at (the pool closed at 10:00 for instead of 12:00 like in most of them, and there was no whip cream in the breakfast area for the waffles), it was still a very high quality hotel compared to other chains. The bedroom was clean if small, the shower area was nice, and... More 

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank victoria309
kalpesh2, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston, responded to this review

We apperciate the time you took to review our hotel. We would love to accomodate our guest and keep the pool open until midnight. Unfortunately, we our unable to meet that expectation due to rooms up against the pool. Thank you for your suggestion on the whip cream we will look into adding it to our breakfast items. We hope... More 

Johnston, Iowa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was in town for work and upon walking into my room, there was a very unfortunate and disgusting reminder of what happened prior to my arrival. I called my colleague and we went down to the desk laughing, but unhappy. Brooklyn and Melissa greeted us and were very apologetic, we laughed about the situation and they quickly upgraded my... More 

Helpful?
Thank statetravel715
kalpesh2, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such detailed feedback about your stay. I hope you can accept my apology for the unfortunate discovery in your first room. I am please that they at the front desk took action, and did what they could to make things right for you and your colleagues. I will make sure... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed over the weekend, it was fair in price, great in location. Our fridge was broken in our room and when I called the front desk I spoke with Melissa. She apologized several times and got a moved to a room that shared a wall with our previous one. Super quick and easy move! And very considerate of her!... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sam3254
kalpesh2, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I am pleased to hear that you were taken care of promptly and met your expectations. I do apologize though that you had to move in the first place. I will make sure that Melissa is aware of this review. We look forward to seeing you in the future. More 

Shorewood, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went down a day early before we were suppose to get there. They were able to give us the same room so we didn't have to move during our stay. I know it was during their busy time. It was during the State Fair time. They did a great job and no hassle. Also my husband and I went... More 

Helpful?
Thank garvaisk
kalpesh2, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for your review! Thank you for giving us another chance to meet your needs and expectations. I hope that stay has regained your confidence in the AmericInn brand & our commitment to improve. We hope that you will consider us in the future. Have a wonderful day! More 

Mount Pleasant, Iowa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were in town for the Iowa State Fair. The hotel prices in the Des Moines area during the Fair are out of control. The AmericInn price was fair. Many of the lower-level rooms need a good scrubbing and a total removal of The smoke saturated rooms. In first attempt, number 141, was unacceptable as it reeked of smoke. Melissa... More 

Helpful?
Thank Todd D
kalpesh2, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for your review! I want to apologize for the your first room, I am very sorry that you had to move rooms. Unfortunately not all our guests adhere to the no smoking policy. Nevertheless, our housekeeping staff will be dilagent on taking care of the room issue. I hope that your trip to the area was a... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had to go to Des Moines during Iowa state fair week. Boy, do they jack up the prices to take advantage of the tourists! I get "supply and demand" but if you're going to gouge the public, you'd better give them a perfect stay. They failed in that regard. Guest rooms were clean, rooms pretty average. Good mattress, fridge and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark M
kalpesh2, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston, responded to this review

As General Manager, I have the pleasure of reading and sharing all guest comments with staff. It is always nice to be able to share positive reviews from guests. Our staff, whenever possible, attempts to meet guest requests and resolve issues related to those requests. We want our guests to be completely satisfied during their stay. I do want to... More 

Russellville, Arkansas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2016

The complimentary breakfast was excellent. Very Organized, Neat, and there was plenty of food. Linda the hostess was especially friendly and helpful. We didn't arrive to breakfast until 9:45, and we were not rushed to leave by 10:00 when the breakfast was over. We will definitely stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank steinhausens
kalpesh2, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston, responded to this review

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay here at the hotel. Thank you for your kind words. I will make sure Linda is aware of the comments you have given her. We looking to see you in the future More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2016

We had to switch rooms in the middle of two day stay in a sold out hotel, thanks to Keon at the Front Desk for making sure the transition was seamless and cause zero inconvenience to our tour party. Great work under pressure. Thank you!

Helpful?
Thank PMack19991968
kalpesh2, Front Office Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston, responded to this review

It is very easy to receive exceptional service and keep it to yourself. However, you took the time to share your positive experience with our office and we truly appreciate your feedback. Your comments on our performance were very generous and will be passed on to the appropriate staff members. It’s always gratifying to know that our efforts were effective... More 

Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2016

We enjoy the variety of items (both hot and cold) available for the complimentary breakfast, and do appreciate the availability to make a cup of coffee in our room! The front desk person (Keon) was very friendly & courteous!

Helpful?
Thank Scott N
kalpesh2, Front Office Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston, responded to this review

It is very easy to receive exceptional service and keep it to yourself. However, you took the time to share your experience with our office and we truly appreciate your feedback. On behalf of our hotel staff I am writing to let you know how delighted we were to receive your kind words of praise. We accommodate many guests each... More 

NASHVILLE
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2016 via mobile

We'll never go back!! Room 1 was "smoke free" yet stunk of living in an ashtray. We complained and then got switched to our second room - room 131 which was better but musty and damp. When we got into bed the sheets felt damp it was so humid. Maybe that explains the mold on the curtains. Very loud hotel... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rob G
kalpesh2, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston, responded to this review

We are truly sorry that your experience did not meet your Expectations; please accept my apologies for any inconvenience you experienced during your Stay. Constructive feedback from our guests is crucial in our continued quest to provide unparalleled guest service and impeccably clean lodging accommodations. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johnston
1.7 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel and Conference Center - Des Moines
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay
Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay
#30 of 48 in Des Moines
3.0 of 5 stars 406 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#26 of 48 in Des Moines
3.0 of 5 stars 88 reviews
2.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The upgraded rooms at the AmericInn Johnston include updated furnishings, room decor, 32" flat screen TVs and cozy Serta(R) Perfect Sleeper beds. The AmericInn Johnston hotel is conveniently located just off Interstates I-80 and I-35 on the outskirts of Des Moines and right on the border of Urbandale, Iowa. Visitors can explore our neighboring cities and attractions like the Buccaneer Ice Arena and Metro Ice Arena in Urbandale or the Waveland Golf Course in Clive. In nearby Altoona, gaming enthusiasts can visit the Prairie Meadows Race Track and Casino. We have a nice bike trail conveniently located behind the hotel, great for biking or just a quiet relaxing walk. Free parking; lot can house RV's, Semi's, Truck and Trailers and buses ... more   less 

Additional Information about AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston

Address: 5050 Merle Hay Rd, Johnston, IA 50131-1201
Location: United States > Iowa > Johnston
Price Range: $73 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Inn Johnston
Johnston Best Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay