We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Iowa House Hotel

125 North Madison St., University Of Iowa, Iowa City, IA 52242
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Iowa House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

71 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 69: English reviews
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Let me say, first, that I expected and wanted to love the Iowa House. I worked there as a housekeeper over 20 years ago when I was a student at the U of I. At that time the hotel was nothing fancy however it was meticulously maintained and we were held to VERY high standards for room cleanliness. I booked... More 

Helpful?
Thank JenSBrooks
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here when in Iowa City to tour the University of Iowa. The location can't be beat, view of the river from our room, continental breakfast included, we were pleased with our stay! The hotel profits go toward students!

Helpful?
Thank 5schades
Waynesville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed 2 nights. I'm not sure who is managing the facility, but either they have been there too long or they just don't care how the place looks. The elevators are nice wood on the interior, unfortunately they are scarred up. The rooms are small and the bathroom fixtures are very old. The bathroom is equipped with one of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank dcurran52203
Carol Stream, Illinois
Level Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2016

Well, we did not have any major problems but several members in our group complained about air conditioning not working and being assigned to rooms that had not been cleaned. We had trouble getting our door open sometimes. The bathrooms are small. They say they did some repairs to the place but it needs more TLC. It feels kind of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gregory W
Josh E, General Manager at Iowa House Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry your group had some issues during their stay and that you had problems with your door. We are working on fixing these things that you have stated for future guest stays. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here to pick up my daughter from school. Thought that it would be as nice as the hotel at the Union at U of IL, but was not. Even though we were upgraded to a Jr. Suite, the room was big but the bed and sofa were uncomfortable. The tiny bathroom had a tub/shower that was so slippery I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ggsquare
Josh E, General Manager at Iowa House Hotel, responded to this review

I do apologize that the room was not up to your standards. We are working to improve some of the items in our rooms and breakfast are currently. More 

Atlantic, Iowa
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2016 via mobile

The Iowa House Hotel is nothing fancy, a basic hotel with 70s decor. That said, it is right on the river and is located in the U of I Memorial Union and so it is on campus which is super convenient. It's only a 5 min walk to the pedestrian mall where you will find lots of bars and restaurants.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Todd H
Josh E, General Manager at Iowa House Hotel, responded to this review

We are happy you enjoyed your stay and being at the center of campus. We are working on improving our decor in the near future. We hope that you took advantage of all the amenities within our property. More 

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2016

I mainly chose this hotel for the location because it was walking distance from my primary destination. It is on a college campus and a part of the student union it looks like... The area near the campus is a nice little shopping district that's lots of fun to walk around and seems pretty safe. There is a steep hill... More 

Helpful?
Thank Angela C
Josh E, General Manager at Iowa House Hotel, responded to this review

I am happy you enjoyed your stay with us and all the close amenities we have nearby. I am sorry to hear about the issues parking, as we are aware that it can be a hassle at times. We hope you come back and can see the river once the weather becomes nicer in the season! More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2016

Excellent value - right on campus next to the Iowa River. Free parking and breakfast included. Rooms are ok - could use a revamp, but for the money and location I would stay there again. Good jogging path on the river.

Helpful?
Thank Edward S
Josh E, General Manager at Iowa House Hotel, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We are working towards a revamp soon at the hotel and making it a better experience for all our guest! More 

Saint Paul
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2016

This is a solid no frills hotel located in the center of University of Iowa east campus. The location is the true value proposition of the property. Otherwise, everything is Just Fine but Nothing Extraordinary. Our room was ready when promised. It was clean, with a strong scent of bleach or cleaning product present when we first entered. The bathroom... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Adam W
Josh E, General Manager at Iowa House Hotel, responded to this review

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We work hard on trying to give our guest the best experience possible when visiting the area! More 

Madrid, Iowa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights for a business meeting. When I checked in the shower had a used washcloth and black mold on shower floor. Complained and was given a 2nd room. This too had black mold along tub. Left note for housekeeping to sanitize & remove mold but didn't happen. If they can't keep bathroom clean- what else are they... More 

Helpful?
Thank MadridIAtraveler
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iowa City
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
#2 of 6 in Iowa City
3.5 of 5 stars 379 reviews
0.4 mi away
hotelVetro: studio suites & convention center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Heartland Inn - Coralville
Heartland Inn - Coralville
#9 of 18 in Coralville
4.0 of 5 stars 184 reviews
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Coralville - Iowa River Landing
2.8 mi away
Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy the convenient location of the Iowa House Hotel,right in the heart of University of Iowa campus on the Iowa River located 2 blocks from downtown Iowa City. Located inside the Iowa Memorial Union the 97 room, the universities self-operated hotel, offers many room styles and amenities to serve your needs during your next visit to Iowa City. Guests of Iowa House enjoy free covered parking, continental breakfast, free wireless internet, and free access to UI fitness centers, including the Campus Recreation and Wellness Center which is ranked in Top 5 college facilities. Inside the Recreation facility you will find state of the art fitness equipment, rock climbing wall, Olympic size pool, a lazy river and much more. Inside the Iowa Memorial Union, guest can find meeting spaces, theaters, ballrooms and more. Become part of the tradition and book your room with Iowa House Hotel today! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Iowa House Hotel

Address: 125 North Madison St., University Of Iowa, Iowa City, IA 52242
Location: United States > Iowa > Iowa City
Price Range: $89 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Iowa House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Iowa House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iowa House Hotel Iowa City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay