We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

hotelVetro Iowa City, Tapestry Collection by Hilton

Save
Share
201 S Linn St, Iowa City, IA 52240-1603
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Price Match Guarantee
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
$119
View deal
Traveluro
$108
View deal
Booking.com$119
Travelocity$119
Tapestry$126
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (41)
Room & Suite (66)
Bathroom (7)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
A note from hotelVetro Iowa City, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Updated 12/10/21

About

#6 of 10 in Iowa City
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.3
Service
3.7
Value
3.6
We're located at the pedestrian mall in downtown Iowa City, steps from fantastic shopping, and minutes from the University of Iowa and University of Iowa Hospital. Head out to eat, with several great restaurants within walking distance, or cook in your in-room kitchenette. Enjoy great downtown views from our hotel.
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Golf course
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free shuttle or taxi services
Business Center with Internet Access
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Restaurant
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Dining area
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Seating area
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Dishwasher
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Green
Hotel links
Special Offer:Price Match Guarantee
250Reviews4Q+A47Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 91
  • 73
  • 37
  • 34
  • 15
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Nicki P wrote a review May 15
Glenview, Illinois71 contributions37 helpful votes
Room is very large. The floor is cement which is hard on the legs. Bed is very comfortable. There is a kitchen area with plates and glasses for prolonged stays. There is a coffee maker with pods but no coffee cups. I looked in the dishwasher thinking perhaps the dishes had been cleaned and I found one coffee cup, very dirty with lipstick marks. I called the front desk three different times and it rang and rang but no one picked up the phone. There is no daily maid service so we went to the front desk to ask for some more towels (after no one answered the phone again). They said someone would be up in a few minutes. No one came. Later that night after coming back from dinner I asked the front desk woman for 2 sets of towels. She handed me one proper set and 2 bath mats! I pointed out that these were bath mats and she seemed irritated. She went somewhere to get more towels and came back with more bath mats saying that there were no more clean towels! So in conclusion the hotel is understaffed and the service is poor. I would not stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Alex K, Public Relations Manager at hotelVetro Iowa City, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded 4 days ago
Thanks for the feedback. We're disappointed that your stay was anything less than ideal. We hear concerns about the conditions of our room and our customer service team, and we will make sure to address this with our team right away. We hope to provide you with a much better stay after we improve!
Read more
turnerstaff wrote a review May 7
Nashville, Tennessee3 contributions1 helpful vote
Value for the money not justified. You have to pay for parking, plumbing was poor, tv did not work initially, ice machine was broken. AC kept coming on. Wouldn’t recommend and will not be returning. Did report first issue which was the tv management and maintenance was not able to help or move us to another room.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
lubomirturek wrote a review Jan 2022
Prague, Czech Republic1 contribution
Best location in downtown Iowa City. Free parking (by tokens) in adjacent multi-storey city parking facility connected by a footbridge. Great rooms. Indoor connection to the Bread Garden Bakery. Adjacent, reliable sushi/pan-asian restaurant open in the evenings. The only issue during my stay in January 2022 was the shortage of cleaning staff resulting in more than two-day frequency of bathroom updates.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
jim wrote a review Jan 2022
Pittsford, New York1 contribution
This is not a Tapestry Collection level property. A little run down, but comfortable bed. Not very well laid out. No breakfast offered. Confusing city operated garage with insufficient signage next door. Older TV and office style furniture for room furnishings. The staff is super nice and accommodating. Nothing special to differentiate between a normal Hilton property and this so called Tapestry Collection property. I stay at dozens of Hilton properties every year, Just meh. The front desk people are great!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
hawkeyetob wrote a review Dec 2021
105 contributions50 helpful votes
In town to see our college student when we get the chance. We decided to check out this hotel right in the heart of downtown Iowa City. Not being a game day and the week before finals, we knew there would be some great rooms availble...and there were! We selected a king balcony suite...it was fantastic. We loved the decor and beautiful views. Our dinner was just down the block. We also enjoyed a lovely bread market/coffee in the morning. We will definitely visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Parking in a ramp nearby.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
adlmlundstrom wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution
The quality of the room was great. The location is also nice. However, there were quite a few negatives. First, we were barely acknowledged when we checked in. The front desk person held a conversation with another employee while they checked us in barely acknowledging our existence. Secondly, there was zero information when we got to the room. Nothing about the TV, room service, amenities, local restaurants, WIFI, etc. I thought that was strange. I spend quite a bit of time in hotels and these are standard. When I went to call down to the front desk the phone didn’t work. So, I went down to the front desk to inquire about more information. I was brushed off with a “we don’t have anything like that. On top of that our room wasn’t completely clean. Normal, I’d inquire about that, but I decided it was a waste of my time at this point, This could be a very nice hotel with improvements in the area of customer service. Until then I would steer clear.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Sara K wrote a review Mar 2020
Ames, Iowa16 contributions25 helpful votes
We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The rooms were spacious and the kitchenette handy. They have additional kitchen supplies (pots and pans, silverware, etc) available by request. This was helpful. The location was ideal. We did have to pay $15 a day for parking in the ramp but could come and go as many times as needed. We will stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from VetroOfficeManager, Manager at hotelVetro Iowa City, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded Mar 12, 2020
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!
Read more
Katie K wrote a review Dec 2019
Iowa City, Iowa46 contributions45 helpful votes
Great hotel. Staff are very helpful. Nice location. Very bright cheery rooms. Have stayed here several times. Love the environmentally friendly aspect of the hotel. Haven't brought the dog yet. Rooms are quiet.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from VetroOfficeManager, Manager at hotelVetro Iowa City, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded Dec 31, 2019
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!
Read more
Housebuyer wrote a review Nov 2019
Dubuque, Iowa12 contributions1 helpful vote
I have to be honest.. I read the reviews and almost cancelled my reservation! I am a frequent hotel guest and let me tell you this hotel is great!! My room was clean, updated and nice!! The floor to ceiling windows, garden tub with tiled shower were an added bonus. I will stay here again!! Front desk was very helpful as well!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from VetroOfficeManager, Manager at hotelVetro Iowa City, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded Nov 6, 2019
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!
Read more
lindad0uglas wrote a review Oct 2019
Columbus, Ohio4 contributions6 helpful votes
This is my second review of the Hotel Vetro. My first review was not positive but we decided to try one more time. Unfortunately we were disappointed at the condition of the room. They are desperately in need of renovation. We have been staying there for over ten years and nothing has changed. The lounge chair and futon are stained, the rug frayed, the faux leather chairs are pealing, the blinds on one of the windows was broken the others in poor condition and the bathroom could use a redo. The polished cement floors are great maybe the rugs should be removed and have only the cement floor. The staff was polite but they were young most likely college kids. So I recommend anyone coming to visit Iowa City to stay at the Graduate next door which is newly renovated or the Hilton Garden Inn a block or so away.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from VetroOfficeManager, Manager at hotelVetro Iowa City, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded Oct 30, 2019
Thank you for your feed back! We apologize about the inconvenience. We are currently working on improving the rooms. I hope you give us another chance once everything is done.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$128 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotelvetro: studio suites & convention center hotel iowa city, hotelvetro: studio suites and convention center, hotelvetro studio hotel
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
hotelVetro: studio suites & convention center
LOCATION
United StatesIowaIowa City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
54
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about hotelVetro Iowa City, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Which popular attractions are close to hotelVetro Iowa City, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Nearby attractions include Old Capitol Museum (0.3 miles), Museum of Natural History (0.3 miles), and The Englert Theater (0.08 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at hotelVetro Iowa City, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at hotelVetro Iowa City, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at hotelVetro Iowa City, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at hotelVetro Iowa City, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to hotelVetro Iowa City, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pullman Bar & Diner, Basta Pizzeria Ristorante, and Baroncini.
Are there opportunities to exercise at hotelVetro Iowa City, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Is hotelVetro Iowa City, Tapestry Collection by Hilton located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Iowa City.
Are any cleaning services offered at hotelVetro Iowa City, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at hotelVetro Iowa City, Tapestry Collection by Hilton?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does hotelVetro Iowa City, Tapestry Collection by Hilton offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.