We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Inn & Suites

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Inn & Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

160 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 160: English reviews
Clinton, Wisconsin
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We found the Best Western Plus in Independenc, Iowa very clean and neat. the staff was friendly and helpful. We had just been to Ames to watch grandchildren play basketball and this was a great place to catch on some quiet and sleep after 6 games in one day. Very neat and quiet.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda D
Downsville, Wisconsin
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I was on a road trip going through Iowa and I swung into place for a night. This was a nice clean hotel. The room seemed spacious with tall ceilings and good natural lighting. I would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike7473
Independence, IA, United States
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights while attending a wedding affair. The bed was very comfortable and the room was adequate. Pool didn't work a couple days. Housekeeping forgot to leave supplies a couple times. Overall it was a good place to stay. Highest price hotel in town.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank bobe901
Lindsay B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for us and let us know what we are doing great and where you think we have areas to improve. We take each review and suggestion with serious consideration in order to make each guest experience superior because we know that today's traveler has many choices. We want to thank...

Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were pleasantly suprised with this hotel and will certainly stay here again. Very clean & a very friendly, helpful staff. The breakfast was typical of small hotels, was good Nonetheless. Very good experience.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank darlenaj2017
Lindsay B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Inn & Suites, responded to this review

We really appreciate you taking the time to post a positive review about your stay at our hotel! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed it and look forward to providing you with our hospitality again when you return to Independence!

Cedar Falls, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was blown away by the level of service from the staff. I thought the accommodations were excellent and plan to take the whole family back for just a nice weekend to swim, eat local, and relax! Great Job BW and staff!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Q3858QHjustinh
Lindsay B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Inn & Suites, responded to this review

This is THE BEST REVIEW we could possibly get!! I love that not only has our service and our hotel impacted you to stay with us again, but that we have promoted you to visit Independence again! We love our little town and all that it has to offer; it makes a great overnight getaway to visit Heartland Acres with...

Chicago
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Other then the low water pressure in the shower I was very happy with our stay there. The staff was very friendly, breakfast was well appointed and room was clean and comfortable. I did not use the pool or fitness facility but others seemed to be enjoying them.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Buzzsaw2
Lindsay B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review and the compliments about our team and our hotel! We really appreciate you taking the time to post a positive review online! I will definitely have our maintenance technician take a look at the shower head in your room, maybe it's the low-flow conservation efforts we are required to follow or maybe we just...

independence, United States
Reviewed November 21, 2016

Perfect destination to stay out, right on the edge of town, clean and friendly support staff, very professional, cleanliness, service was exceptional, price was great, location was right on the edge of town, quiet,lots of parking.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jerrymL728SU
Lindsay B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the fantastic review, we really appreciate hearing such great things from our guests! You pointed out each of the things about our hotel that we wish to portray to travelers and ensure that your satisfaction leaves you wanting to come back and stay with us again!

Peoria, Illinois
Reviewed November 18, 2016

Stayed a few nights while working on a project in the area. Couldn't have had a better experience. Top notch place for business travel. The service, cleanliness, and value were excellent and exceeded expectations.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 570dustin
Lindsay B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Inn & Suites, responded to this review

We very much appreciate you taking time out of your busy schedule to post such a positive online review for us! Our number one goal is customer service while providing each traveler with a clean, reasonably priced room, great breakfast, and all of the amenities and comforts of home while you are on the road! Thanks again and we look...

Reviewed November 4, 2016

We stayed two nights here while in town for a family members wedding. Our room was against the elevator shaft on the second floor which initially concerned me but I was pleased to find out that it was fairly quiet and did not disturb my sleeping. The only issue I had was regulating the room temperature. The unit seemed to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adam B
Lindsay B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to having you again when you are in the area! I also appreciate you bringing to my attention a possible problem with the heating and cooling unit in that particular room and I will have my maintenance...

Reviewed October 23, 2016 via mobile

This hotel really impressed me. I was a little bit weary about the cost but I understood why the room was how much it was. The room was large, clean, and comfy. It contained a nice mini fridge and microwave, roomy bathroom which was almost spotless, and had an amazing view of a pond. The bed was also very clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ashley A
Lindsay B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your generous compliments about our hotel and for taking the time to post it online!! We cannot express our appreciation enough; we depend on guests such as yourselves to let other travelers know what a great choice we are if they are in the Independence area for business, leisure, or just passing by. We will...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Independence
1.3 mi away
Super 8 Independence
Super 8 Independence
#2 of 2 in Independence
100 reviews
20.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Waterloo Cedar Falls
16.8 mi away
Days Inn Evansdale Waterloo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Waterloo
20.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Waterloo
Hampton Inn Waterloo
#1 of 15 in Waterloo
395 reviews
14.7 mi away
Super 8 Oelwein
Super 8 Oelwein
#1 of 2 in Oelwein
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Inn & Suites

Address: 2100 Swan Lake Blvd, Independence, IA 50644-2760 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Independence)
Location: United States > Iowa > Independence
Price Range: $89 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Independence Inn And Suites
Best Western Plus Independence Hotel Independence
Country Inn Independence
Independence Country Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Inn & Suites Iowa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Inn & Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“South view includes a small pond with swans. North view includes picturesque tree-filled grounds of a state hospital.”
 of 5 bubbles dennisb582016, Jul 5, 2016 | Read review
“views of the lake are amazing!”
 of 5 bubbles 439janetk, Jan 12, 2015 | Read review
“Plan on eating breakfast somewhere else. Get a room away from noisy elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles rather-be-camping911, Dec 3, 2014 | Read review
“Bring a cooler, and fill it at night, incase your fridge was like mine.”
 of 5 bubbles SiouxFallsMike, Jul 13, 2013 | Read review
“This hotel caters to the party crowd, and you will hear them vomiting all night.”
 of 5 bubbles KevinR747, Sep 19, 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay