We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Zuber's Homestead Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Zuber\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

110 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 110: English reviews
Grantsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We wanted to visit Amana in Iowa and found this hotel highly rated on Trip Advisor. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast area was large and a great place to sit back and relax. The internet was better in that room. Our room was on the 1st floor with a queen bed and a very small shower.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gerry B
Brian8793, Owner at Zuber's Homestead Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us at Zuber's. We try to provide a good experience to each of our guests and your feedback is important to making sure we are hitting the mark or not. I am sorry to hear that the breakfast could have been better for your wife. If you have suggestions to... More 

Peoria, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
197 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Zubers Hotel is a walk back into time. Although it names itself a hotel with a B&B feel. I have to disagree. It is beautifully maintained and clean. Has about 15 rooms and children are welcomed. It does serve a buffet breakfast that is okay with many options. Yet, to have it tied to a Bed and Breakfast, I would... More 

Helpful?
Thank Reyna Y
Brian8793, Owner at Zuber's Homestead Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments! We appreciate your point of view. Let us try to address your concerns. Our guests enjoy a 5 hour window of time for check in, and we don't require our front desk staff to sit at the counter, as there are always things that can be done, while we wait for our guests to arrive.... More 

Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2016 via mobile

Each room unique theme. Our room was an Amana life theme. Many antiques. Very clean, comfortable. Many homey touches throughout the property. Jo was very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was delicious. Would definitely stay there again. Ample parking and easy to find.

Helpful?
Thank KimS54805
Brian8793, Owner at Zuber's Homestead Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write your comments regarding your stay at Zuber's Homestead Hotel. We appreciate your feedback on services and the breakfast being served. We will look forward to you staying with us again. Thanks again for your review. More 

White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2016

Had not been to the Amana Colonies for a number of years, but the wife and I decided to stop for a night on our return from Tennessee. Stayed here at the Zuber Hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Bed and Breakfast has fifteen unique rooms each with an area/Iowa motif. We stayed in the Iowa Grand Oak room which... More 

Helpful?
Thank paul60ii
Brian8793, Owner at Zuber's Homestead Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking review Zuber's Hotel. We appreciate feedback on how our guests liked there accommodations. I will pass along your comments to our morning cook. When it is time for the guests to leave we try very hard to make sure the breakfast delivers a good start for the day. Again thank you for your thoughts on your... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2016 via mobile

We have visited the Amana colonies each of the last 3 years as my wife runs in the annual half marathon race and we have family living nearby in Iowa City. This year we decided to stay at Zubers and we were so glad that we did. The cost is about the same as a typical hotel chain but the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff T
Brian8793, Owner at Zuber's Homestead Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Your comments mean alot to our staff and certainly as owners your comments tell us that we are currently doing things right. We also like to know if changes can be made to improve on our operation. Assuming you come back to run in the half marathon again next year we hope that you will... More 

Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2016

We had a lovely room (Four Seasons). The room and hotel were spotless. We had a little difficulty getting information over the phone as to where to dine at 8pm, but it all worked out, The hostess and staff were very pleasant, and the breakfast was excellent.

Helpful?
1 Thank twidgetbeth
Brian8793, Owner at Zuber's Homestead Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Zuber's Homestead Hotel. I am happy we were able to have a good stay at our business. Please think of Zuber's again if you are back in the area. Thanks Brian More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2016

We stayed at Zubers July 24th thru the 26th. We had initially reserved a room on the second floor, but when we checked in and she showed us our room, we decided the stairs were to steep for two older persons to climb. My husband has two bad knees and had just had shots in both of them, we thought... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank babica49
Brian8793, Owner at Zuber's Homestead Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry we could not have a smaller room for less money but we had a really busy weekend with not much inventory to choose from. We would welcome a return visit if you are the area. Thanks Brian James More 

Jacksonville, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2016 via mobile

My husband surprised me with a stay in the Amana Colonies on our way to Northern Iowa. Zubers was just right. Bed was super comfy and the AC kept the room cool, even when it was 95 ° while we were there. Breakfast was a good selection of cassarole , blackberry cream cheese cake , oatmeal and a pound cake... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank KARINZ28
Brian8793, Owner at Zuber's Homestead Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Zuber's Homestead Hotel try's to deliver a quality stay and experience for our guests. We appreciate comments from our guests to tell what they experienced and how things could be better. I will pass on to our cooks that you enjoyed our breakfast. Please call ahead if you would like to stay in a room... More 

Decatur, Illinois
Level Contributor
115 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2016 via mobile

I called the day we were to arrive in the morning to confirm we would be there. It was a hot, humid day and the spacious room was hot. The air conditioner set on the floor and when they turned it on the compressor wouldn't keep working. When it finally started to put out some air, it would have taken(if... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ann251
Brian8793, Owner at Zuber's Homestead Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry the your experience staying with us was not to your standards. We will discuss your comments and make appropriate changes to our operations. Thank you for taking time to comment on our hotel. Again I am sorry your stay was not as expected. More 

Des Moines,Iowa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2016 via mobile

3rd visit staying here. Love it. Treat you very nice! Very accommodating! Main Amana very close to drive to, but off the beaten path, which is nice. Themed rooms decorated accordingly. Nice history of becoming the B&B. Jo is a definite asset to the place! She is very friendly, courteous and helpful. Will go again!

Helpful?
1 Thank Paulette D
Brian8793, Owner at Zuber's Homestead Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Zuber's. I will note to Jo the comments you have written. Thank you so much for returning to our business. We will continue to strive for improvement in our service and establishment. We are very happy that you had a good stay at Zuber's. Please stop back to see us again. Thanks Brian More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Homestead
5.3 mi away
Heritage Inn Amana Colonies Hotel & Suites
5.6 mi away
Ramada Williamsburg and Wasserbahn Waterpark
16.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Coralville - Iowa River Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coralville
14.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Coralville
Comfort Suites Coralville
#8 of 18 in Coralville
4.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
14.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Coralville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy the feel of a bed and breakfast in our historic hotel. Our lovely hotel has a rich history! It was built in the 1860's as a hotel. Then transformed into the well-known Zuber's Dugout Restaurant and is now once again a 15 room hotel. Each guest room is tastefully decorated with a unique Iowa theme. All rooms include comfortable furniture, private bath, cable TV, and Internet. Many of the rooms have a small refrigerator and microwave. We also have a full-size refrigerator and microwave for guests to use in the Wagon Wheel Room. We offer a range of bed sizes - full, queen or king. The Wagon Wheel room is host to our complimentary hot buffet-style breakfast and check-in sweet treat! Guests are welcome to relax and enjoy the Wagon Wheel Room any time. We offer board games, TV, and a piano for your use and enjoyment. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Zuber's Homestead Hotel

Address: 2206 44th Ave, Homestead, IA 52236-8545
Location: United States > Iowa > Homestead
Price Range: $109 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Zuber's Homestead Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Zuber's Homestead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zubers Hotel Homestead
Zuber's Homestead Hotel Iowa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay