We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Holiday Inn Dubuque

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Dubuque
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

270 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Dubuque
See the most recent reviews
Showing 268: English reviews
Rhinebeck, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016 via mobile

You can tell that they renovated a pre-existing property, as there are still some traces of the older hotel visible throughout. The carpeting in the hallways is in need of a replacement and the elevators are super slow. The staff are friendly, the rooms are good and have excellent A/C, and the restaurant is decent. It isn't a hotel that... More 

Helpful?
Thank msd0728
HIDUB, Manager at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this review

Mds0728, thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Dubuque. We are glad our staff was welcoming and that you enjoyed your stay. It is true that we just underwent a renovation and we still have a few areas that need attention. We're not done yet! We hope you will... More 

Schofield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
140 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2016

Stay elsewhere! This place looks nice from the outside but sucks inside. The elevators are dirty and nasty . Got a room on the 5h floor , walk out of elevator and the doors on the rooms look like something from party central. The ice machine does not work . The ac could not cool the room properly and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank 58Thomas_H
HIDUB, Manager at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this review

58Thomas_H, thank you for sharing feedback of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Dubuque. We regret that you had issues with your room temperature and the ice machine. We are finishing a renovation project that will include our guest room doors. We apologize for any inconvenience you endured. We hope you will stay with us again. Hotel Management Holiday... More 

Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2016 via mobile

We had reservations at a different hotel in Galena and upon arrival found out they were not pet friendly. In a panic we searched for other places. The closest we could get was this Holiday Inn. It was only about a 20 min scenic drive from Galena. The hotel was clean and near the Mississippi River! We ended up super... More 

Helpful?
Thank kmotts27
HIDUB, Manager at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this review

Kmotts27, thank you for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Dubuque. We are pleased you stayed with us, even if you hadn't intended to! We're glad you found us to be accommodating to not only you but to your pet as well. We appreciate the 4 star rating and hope you... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2016

We stayed here for our weekend in Galena, IL. The hotel is centrally located in downtown Dubuque. The hotel seemed a little tired, but they were doing construction when we stayed there. The pool was comically small. Was within walking distance of restaurants and only a 10-minute drive to Galena. The parking garage was in serious need of an upgrade.... More 

Helpful?
Thank RL M
HIDUB, Manager at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this review

RL M, thank you for the feedback of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Dubuque. We appreciate feedback, as it lets us know what we are doing well and what could be improved upon. We're pleased you enjoyed our convenient location in the heart of downtown Dubuque. We thank you for taking the time to share your comments and... More 

Ankeny, Iowa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2016

great location awesome room and above average service this is a great place to play stay and enjoy beautiful city of Dubuque really enjoyed the stay would choose this again....clean very clean and staff were very friendly,.

Helpful?
Thank gayanne2015
HIDUB, Manager at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this review

Gayanne2015, thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Dubuque. We appreciate the glowing recommendation and are thrilled your stay was wonderful. We thank you for the 5 star rating and look forward to your next visit. Hotel Management Holiday Inn Dubuque More 

Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for a 3 nights for business. The place looks a bit funnel down, but they are sprucing it up. Some of the doors to the rooms look pretty old. The rooms itself were okay, walked in and found a large lint ball on the carpet. Found old food in the in room fridge. The tables and dressers were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kono H
HIDUB, Manager at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this review

Kono H, thank you for sharing feedback of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Dubuque. We appreciate feedback, as it lets us know what we are doing well and what could be improved upon. We are glad you found the bed comfortable and hopefully you got some rest. We regret the issue with room cleanliness. We will share your... More 

Van Buren, Missouri
Level Contributor
99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here two nights for a business conference. I'm very impressed the hotel is well located in downtown Dubuque. Convenient to casinos and museums and attractions. The lobby is large and well lit. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable. Rooms are large well appointed and clean. We will certainly be back.

Helpful?
Thank TaylorPettit
HIDUB, Manager at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this review

Taylor, thank you for your kind comments of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Dubuque. We are pleased you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, and that you took the time to share. We appreciate the 5 star rating and look forward to your next stay. Hotel Management Holiday Inn Dubuque More 

Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2016

Stayed here one night for business the room was a good size, everything was in working order, and my stay was peaceful. The on-site bar/restaurant was good, with a surprising diversity of local beer options. Overall I'd recommend this hotel.

Helpful?
Thank CEFrappier
HIDUB, Manager at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this review

CEFrappier, thank you for sharing feedback of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Dubuque. We are pleased you had an enjoyable stay and appreciate the 4 star rating. We thank you for the recommendation and look forward to your next stay. Hotel Management Holiday Inn Dubuque More 

Decorah, Iowa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2016

This hotel knows how to treat a member. Free beer tickets at the attached restaurant. Aslo a happy hour for all guests with free food and free drinks. It is in a good location close to the casino and other downtown attractions, restaurants, and bars.

Helpful?
Thank jeremyskysharkb
HIDUB, Manager at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this review

Jeremyskysharkb, thank you for your feedback of your stay last year at the Holiday Inn Dubuque. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and our Manager's Reception. We no longer have a Manager's Reception; instead we have renovated our restaurant / bar and offer Happy Hour Specials there. Thank you for the 4 star rating. We hope you will stay... More 

Middleton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2016

The Holiday Inn Dubuque is an excellent property! Great location to all Dubuque sights and short drive to Galena. Rooms are wonderful-great amenities and spotlessly clean. Staff is amazing-from checkin to housekeeping to wait staff. Restaurant is superb and I highly recommend both the dinner and breakfast buffets. Kudos to Norm, the hotel manager, and his staff - thanks for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jene B
HIDUB, Manager at Holiday Inn Dubuque, responded to this review

Jene B, thank you! We appreciate your kind, upbeat comments! We are so glad you enjoyed every bit of your stay with us, from our convenient location in the heart of downtown Dubuque to our staff and our food. We thank you for taking the time to share your comments and look forward to seeing you again soon. Hotel Management... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

52 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubuque hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#2 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 stars 1,725 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Dubuque
Hampton Inn Dubuque
#1 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 stars 526 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
3.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Hotel Dubuque/Galena, located in the heart of this historic Iowa riverboat community, is the preferred lodging accommodations for the corporate or leisure traveler alike. Located just blocks from America s River at the Port of Dubuque and the National Mississippi River Museum and Aquarium, and shopping, the Holiday Inn Hotel offers downtown convenience and exceptional Midwest hospitality. Enjoy our newly renovated restaurant, the River City Beefstro Sports Bar and Grille featuring mouthwatering barbeque ribs. The hotel also features complimentary wireless high speed Internet access, an executive level with concierge lounge, Priority Club upgrades, a fitness center, indoor pool, Jacuzzi whirlpool, business center and over 9,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet facilities. Our complimentary Dubuque Regional Airport hotel shuttle is convenient for our business partners such as John Deere, Prudential, Flexsteel, McGraw-Hill, McKesson, Quebecor World and Georgia Pacific. After a long day at work turn up the fun at the 'new' Diamond Jo Casino, the Dubuque Greyhound Park & Casino or one of our many downtown night spots. If gambling is not your thing enjoy American nostalgia at the site made famous by the movie, Field of Dreams in Dyersville, Iowa or shopping in the quaint village of Galena, Illinois, both just a short drive away. Kids Eat and Stay Free at the Holiday Inn Hotel of Dubuque and Galena! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dubuque

Address: 450 Main St, Dubuque, IA 52001-6948
Location: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Price Range: $96 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Dubuque 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Dubuque Hotel Dubuque
Dubuque Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Dubuque Iowa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay