We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
10/29/2017 10/30/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown

    1050 6th Ave, Des Moines, IA 50314-2606
    +1 877-859-5095
    Hotel website
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    Oct 29 Oct 30
    $102
    $102
    $102
    Traveler (43)
    Room & Suite (44)
    Dining (21)
    Overview
    • Excellent19%
    • Very good26%
    • Average30%
    • Poor17%
    • Terrible8%
    Travelers talk about
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Air Conditioning
    Pool
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Restaurant
    Free Airport Transportation
    Room Service
    Suites
    Bar/Lounge
    Fitness center
    Multilingual Staff
    Wheelchair access
    Business Center
    Dry Cleaning
    Self-Serve Laundry
    Shuttle Bus Service
    3.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Offers from Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown
    Special Offer: Book Direct and Save
    Hotel deals
    Deals
    Oct 29Oct 30
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    • Check booking site for details
      $102
      View Deal
    • Check booking site for details
      $102
      View Deal
    • Check booking site for details
      $102
      View Deal
    View all 51 deals
    Write a Review
    Reviews (280)
    Traveler rating
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 274 reviews

    Reviewed September 5, 2017

    Noisy guests, beds sucks (slanted to the middle), bad pillows, guests were smoking in their rooms, dirty, and the management was very unhelpful/unfriendly after reporting loud guests partying in the hallway at 3am. Stay clear of this one! Wow, it was bad.More

    1  Thank msifuentes
    Response from GretchenT81, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Des Moines DowntownResponded 1 week ago

    Dear msifuentes, I am so sorry to hear that you were not pleased with your experience at our hotel. What you have described is not the type of stay we strive to provide every guest every day, and it does not meet our expectations. I...More

    Hotel's Favorite
    Reviewed May 9, 2017

    Stayed here again, staff really polite. Aging hotel but clean and quite. Right near downtown, and parking is free. Priced right. might not impress anyone but great place to stay the night for sleep. My mate got fussy about the room near elevator, I didn't...More

    Thank chuck29355
    Response from GretchenT81, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Des Moines DowntownResponded 1 week ago

    Dear chuck29355, Thank you for your return visit and for taking the time to review your experience at our hotel. I'm glad your experience with our staff was positive and that you found our hotel to be a great place to stay in Des Moines....More

    Reviewed September 4, 2017

    We stayed at this hotel and found management entirely unresponsive to calls for help with a large and unruly group of guests. There was marijuana, swearing and fighting in the halls. After asking the hotel for help three times we finally called the police who...More

    Thank David N
    Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Des Moines DowntownResponded 4 weeks ago

    Hi David N, Thank you for leaving feedback about your recent stay with us. Your thoughts are valued. I feel concerned that the service from our hotel staff fell below your expectations. It is our goal to meet your needs as a guest and I...More

    Reviewed August 25, 2017 via mobile

    Ceckin staff were friendly. We stayed in a suite which was massive and had two bathrooms. Room was clean and had a comfy bed. Breakfast buffet was standard selection and was very tasty and the hot items were actually hot. Overall the hotel could do...More

    Thank Neil P
    Reviewed August 20, 2017 via mobile

    Stayed two night so we could attend the fair. Room average. The front desk nice but the bar service was terrible. We were waiting at a table to get service and the waitress never came by. She saw us and that was about it so...More

    Thank sbezzole
    Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Des Moines DowntownResponded 4 weeks ago

    Hi sbezzole, Thank you for contacting us about your experience at the Holiday Inn Des Moines DTWN - Mercy Area. I am sorry to learn about your disappointment in the level of service received from some of our bar staff. IHG sincerely cares about your...More

    Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
    579 reviews
    #1 of 48 hotels in Des Moines
     
    Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
    1,045 reviews
    #5 of 48 hotels in Des Moines
     
    Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
    692 reviews
    #4 of 48 hotels in Des Moines
     
    Des Lux Hotel
    211 reviews
    #6 of 48 hotels in Des Moines
     
    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    • Free Parking
    • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Room Service
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Business Center with Internet Access
    • Shuttle Bus Service
    • Airport Transportation
    • Meeting Rooms
    • Laundry Service
    • Banquet Room
    • Multilingual Staff
    • Conference Facilities
    • Room Service
    • Dry Cleaning
    • Self-Serve Laundry
    • Room amenities
    • Air Conditioning
    • Microwave
    • Things to do
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Indoor pool
    • Heated pool
    Details
    • Price range
    • $113 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Suites ,
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Family Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 251
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • United States >
    • Iowa >
    • Des Moines
    • Also Known As
    • Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown Hotel Des Moines ,
    • Des Moines Holiday Inn ,
    • Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown Iowa
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveler (43)
    Room & Suite (44)
    Dining (21)
    Pool & Beach (6)
    Hotel & Grounds (180)
    Business Center & Event Rooms (22)
    Bathroom (2)
    Nearby
    Des Lux Hotel
    211 reviews
    .72 miles away
     
    Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
    692 reviews
    .62 miles away
     
    Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
    1,045 reviews
    .79 miles away
     
    Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
    579 reviews
    1.00 miles away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Buzzard Billy's
    226 reviews
    .52 miles away
    801 Chophouse
    236 reviews
    .62 miles away
    Splash
    239 reviews
    .66 miles away
    Trellis
    55 reviews
    .58 miles away
    Nearby Attractions
    Downtown Farmers Market
    314 reviews
    .71 miles away
    Greater Des Moines Botanical Garden
    274 reviews
    .65 miles away
    Des Moines Civic Center
    150 reviews
    .69 miles away
    World Food Prize Hall of Laureates
    57 reviews
    .72 miles away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    ronsus
    June 25, 2017|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from Bonnie B | Reviewed this property |
    Parking is free if you are a hotel guest. There is a LARGE lot. I don't know where the arena is.
    1
    Vote
    Eridy J
    December 9, 2016|
    AnswerShow all 3 answers
    Response from Denise S | Reviewed this property |
    There is no hot tub. The pool is a decent sized standard hotel pool. I would guess that it was originally outdoors, but was enclosed several years ago.
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "Avoid the freeway side on the south"
    Read review
    "Ask for the parking lot rooms"
    Read review
    "They all seem to be similar and not too noisy."
    Read review
    "Ask for what you want. Expect to get what you pay for!"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing