We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Quality Inn & Suites

Hotel website
Hotel deals
4995 N.W. Merle Hay Road, Des Moines, IA 50322
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Quality Inn & Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

84 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 84: English reviews
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Worst choice ever! They need to bull doze this place. The wall between the bedroom and bathroom must have been made of wall paper covered in paint. There was only one bath towel but several hand towels. Oh yeah and the toilet did flush! Worst hundred dollars we ever spent.

Helpful?
Thank Betsy S
GuestRelations4995, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

We apologize that our hotel did not meet your satisfaction. The place has recently been renovated with a beautiful interior. There are always plenty of towels in the bathroom. I am sure you are aware that there is a front desk with friendly staff for assistance who always want to ensure all of our guests have a comfortable and great... More 

Clermont, Iowa
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2016

This is a motel that has been well maintained. We had a good room with frig, microwave, new TV & furniture. Just off the Merle Hay exit on I80-35. Rate was $85.00 with tax for 2 people with 2 queen beds. Moring breakfast was up scale with eggs and sausage to go with the waffles and other usual choices. Breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bill A
GuestRelations4995, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay at the Quality Inn & Suites. Our entire team is glad to hear that you had a good stay. We are glad to hear that you like to free breakfast that we provide each morning. As you mentioned the breakfast is always stocked to ensure all of our guest get the breakfast items they... More 

Lake Bluff, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2016

Clearly, this was a bad choice of hotel! Upon arrival to our room, both my husband and I detected a "lingering" odor of smoke, as if previously, it had been a smoking room! The furnishings were old and in poor repair. there were only 2 lamps in the "king size" room, that actually had (2 queens). I had requested a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Harleychick14
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016

We were looking for a place near my daughter for Mother's Day. This is right at a busy intersection, so I was a bit dubious, but our room was very quiet. It was also very large, which I wasn't expecting. The bathroom has two sinks and is closed off from the rest of the room. (I don't like having the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 9maryjeank
Grinnell, IA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2016

Because of some negative reviews we asked for a room away from the highway and also for a renovated room. We also wanted second floor so noise did not come from above. We were given all three and found the room nicely renovated, clean, neat, beds comfortable, no noise (except for a family who did not teach their children considerateness... More 

Helpful?
Thank mbbarnes
Alaska
Level Contributor
303 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2016

This Quality Inn is about average; a friendly staff and nice, clean rooms. There is the standard fare breakfast, (not as varied as some Choice Hotels are providing). It appears the second floor is under construction, (workers were working on the stairs during our stay, but we were on the first floor and there was no noise). The large negative... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank iowaaggie
GuestRelations4995, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your stay with us at the Quality Inn & Suites. At that time the property was being renovated and we are glad to say that the property has been renovated to provide the property with a clean fresh look. More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2016

Pulled into town last minute trip. Was placed on the third floor which I was excited about but the highway noise keep me awake. There was something ticking through the ventilation system outside the room which was really annoying. breakfast area was dirty. The water hardly trickled out of the shower. It was clean and newly remolded. The bed was... More 

Helpful?
Thank hnikelz
GuestRelations4995, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay at our Quality Inn & Suites on Merle Hay Road. Firstly, there are only two floors to the hotel. We apologize for the noise you experienced of the highway, in the future the front desk staff will be more than happy to assign a room away from the highway.The breakfast area is always kept... More 

Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2015

I reserved 4 rooms for our family visiting for Thanksgiving online. When I went to the facility to check it out, they let me see the rooms I was reserving and actually reserve specific rooms--such as adjoining rooms & specific room numbers. They also told me that the crib was free. They day my family was coming (& I had... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy821
GuestRelations4995, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay with us at the Quality Inn & Suites on Merle Hay Road. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our indoor pool, the free hot breakfast that we provide. We look forward to seeing you again on a future stay with us. More 

Cadott, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2015

stayed at the quality inn on the way home from Branson. The hotel is an older building but well cared for. the room was neat and clean had comfortable bed (even a recliner). The room was quiet and comfortable. the new owners are making a lot of improvements and this will be a great place to come back to again!

Helpful?
2 Thank gas1940
GuestRelations4995, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay with us at the Quality Inn & Suites. Our entire team is glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and especially that you like the room and the property. As you mentioned we are in the process of renovating the property with updated rooms. We look forward to seeing you again soon on... More 

SAINT LOUIS
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2015

There was mold all over the bathroom, room wasn't clean. Everything old, and then I got bed bugs! When I complained to choice hotel, they sent me to local hotel that offered 50 off next stay, really? There won't be a next stay. I am also a choice member and they didn't stand behind their product. I will be moving... More 

Helpful?
Thank SueT633
GuestRelations4995, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you didn't have a good stay. Our housekeeping staff always make sure the property and all surrounding areas is cleaned to a very high standard. The property is undergoing renovations so everything will be updated and with have added brand new beds as well, as part of the update. Hopefully you can give us... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Des Moines
5.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#23 of 48 in Des Moines
3.5 of 5 stars 96 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay
Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay
#31 of 48 in Des Moines
3.0 of 5 stars 386 reviews
0.3 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest
5.2 mi away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#11 of 48 in Des Moines
4.0 of 5 stars 476 reviews
8.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#26 of 48 in Des Moines
3.5 of 5 stars 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Address: 4995 N.W. Merle Hay Road, Des Moines, IA 50322
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Price Range: $76 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Des Moines
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Inn Des Moines
Des Moines Quality Inn
Quality Inn & Suites Des Moines, Iowa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay