We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Quality Inn & Suites

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Quality Inn & Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

88 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 88: English reviews
Sturgeon Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed here 9-22-16. Front desk was staffed by Yogi and he was very friendly and helpful. Check-in was a breeze. Our room was nice and also had a very large bathroom. Workers were busy painting and making sure the place looked nice. Pool area was open and went for a nice swim in the warm waters. Nice area to get... More 

Helpful?
Thank John P
Greeley, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is one of the worst experiences I have had. The rooms and location wasn't to bad but the staff was rude and unhelpful. When I was checking in the night manager was very rude and unhelpful. We needed a rollaway bed for my granddaughter and was informed we couldn't have one cause the fire Marshall didn't allow them, but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Diana P
GuestRelations4995, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

We apologize for the unpleasant experience you had during your stay. It is accurate that we cannot allow a room with a double bed to have a roll-a-way bed as well due to safety issues. We will have our maintenance staff take a look at the smoke alarm and make sure that it is functioning correctly to make sure that... More 

Travelers are raving about these Des Moines hotels

Huntsville, Texas
Level Contributor
164 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It's close to the airport and the staff is friendly. The room was ok meaning stuff worked but it's a bit shabby. Fairly close to the highway and easy access. Overpriced is an additional comment I would add

Helpful?
Thank Dale K
GuestRelations4995, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay with us. As you mentioned our property is close to the highway (exit 131 off I-80). We are close by many restaurants, gas stations and driving distance to the local mall. Our rooms have recently been renovated to include new beds, carpets. More 

York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were only looking for a good night of rest while traveling, but we received a friendly welcome and an upgrade to a two room suite on first floor. The suite was spacious and comfortable with a couch, a good TV in both rooms, a fridge and microwave, a work station and a comfortable king-size bed. Breakfast was typical Quality... More 

Helpful?
Thank Al M
GuestRelations4995, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Quality Inn & Suites on Merle Hay Road and that you enjoyed your rooms. We look forward to seeing you again on a future stay with us. More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2016

Worst choice ever! They need to bull doze this place. The wall between the bedroom and bathroom must have been made of wall paper covered in paint. There was only one bath towel but several hand towels. Oh yeah and the toilet did flush! Worst hundred dollars we ever spent.

Helpful?
Thank Betsy S
GuestRelations4995, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

We apologize that our hotel did not meet your satisfaction. The place has recently been renovated with a beautiful interior. There are always plenty of towels in the bathroom. I am sure you are aware that there is a front desk with friendly staff for assistance who always want to ensure all of our guests have a comfortable and great... More 

Clermont, Iowa
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2016

This is a motel that has been well maintained. We had a good room with frig, microwave, new TV & furniture. Just off the Merle Hay exit on I80-35. Rate was $85.00 with tax for 2 people with 2 queen beds. Moring breakfast was up scale with eggs and sausage to go with the waffles and other usual choices. Breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bill A
GuestRelations4995, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay at the Quality Inn & Suites. Our entire team is glad to hear that you had a good stay. We are glad to hear that you like to free breakfast that we provide each morning. As you mentioned the breakfast is always stocked to ensure all of our guest get the breakfast items they... More 

Lake Bluff, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2016

Clearly, this was a bad choice of hotel! Upon arrival to our room, both my husband and I detected a "lingering" odor of smoke, as if previously, it had been a smoking room! The furnishings were old and in poor repair. there were only 2 lamps in the "king size" room, that actually had (2 queens). I had requested a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Harleychick14
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016

We were looking for a place near my daughter for Mother's Day. This is right at a busy intersection, so I was a bit dubious, but our room was very quiet. It was also very large, which I wasn't expecting. The bathroom has two sinks and is closed off from the rest of the room. (I don't like having the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 9maryjeank
Grinnell, IA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2016

Because of some negative reviews we asked for a room away from the highway and also for a renovated room. We also wanted second floor so noise did not come from above. We were given all three and found the room nicely renovated, clean, neat, beds comfortable, no noise (except for a family who did not teach their children considerateness... More 

Helpful?
Thank mbbarnes
Alaska
Level Contributor
305 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2016

This Quality Inn is about average; a friendly staff and nice, clean rooms. There is the standard fare breakfast, (not as varied as some Choice Hotels are providing). It appears the second floor is under construction, (workers were working on the stairs during our stay, but we were on the first floor and there was no noise). The large negative... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank iowaaggie
GuestRelations4995, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your stay with us at the Quality Inn & Suites. At that time the property was being renovated and we are glad to say that the property has been renovated to provide the property with a clean fresh look. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Des Moines
5.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#23 of 48 in Des Moines
3.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay
Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay
#30 of 48 in Des Moines
3.0 of 5 stars 409 reviews
8.3 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites
Quality Inn and Suites
#25 of 48 in Des Moines
3.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#27 of 48 in Des Moines
3.5 of 5 stars 73 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#6 of 11 in Urbandale
4.0 of 5 stars 145 reviews
5.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Address: 4995 Merle Hay Rd, Des Moines, IA 50322-1901
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Price Range: $70 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Des Moines
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Inn Des Moines
Des Moines Quality Inn
Quality Inn & Suites Des Moines, Iowa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay