We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Quality Inn & Suites

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Quality Inn & Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

93 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 93: English reviews
Start your review of Quality Inn & Suites
 Click to rate
Reviewed December 3, 2016

I am a solo traveller via motorcycle and I stayed at this hotel because it is close to the freeway. Imagine my horror when I woke up and had BEDBUG BITES on my hands, leg, arms and back!! Needless to say, I had a VERY uncomfortable ride home. I had a severe reaction to the bites and had to go...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dianne R
Reviewed November 9, 2016 via mobile

The hotel was wonderful with renovated rooms. The bed was very nice and they carpet was plush. The double vanity in the bathroom was great. Hotel was very clean in general with a great breakfast. Can't go wrong for the price. Good choice in town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donald W
Reviewed October 27, 2016

Great breakfast! The rooms were clean and the staff was friendly. Its not real far to the down town night life areas we walked and thought it was pretty decent. the river at night looks awesome. They have a indoor pull we didn't get to use it but it looked clean and taken care of. the parking lot is large...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jack D
Tucson Az, United States
Reviewed October 6, 2016

This hotel has one of the nicer rooms we have stayed in recently. The building itself is 45 years old, but it has been very well kept up, no run down look, no unusual smells. We were quit comfortable, the room clean and modern with usual amenities, ie. flat screen TV, fridge, and microwave. The staff was very friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chucker00
Midland, michigan
Reviewed October 2, 2016

We stayed here for a night while traveling cross country, and I was a little apprehensive based on some of these reviews, but I was pleasantly surprised. I'm picky, too! Beds were very comfy, room clean and spacious, no bad smells, bathroom was huge was a double sink and long countertop. Staff was very courteous. Restaurants were within walking distance,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nonnypop
Sturgeon Lake, Minnesota
Reviewed September 24, 2016

Stayed here 9-22-16. Front desk was staffed by Yogi and he was very friendly and helpful. Check-in was a breeze. Our room was nice and also had a very large bathroom. Workers were busy painting and making sure the place looked nice. Pool area was open and went for a nice swim in the warm waters. Nice area to get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John P
Greeley, Colorado
Reviewed September 5, 2016

This is one of the worst experiences I have had. The rooms and location wasn't to bad but the staff was rude and unhelpful. When I was checking in the night manager was very rude and unhelpful. We needed a rollaway bed for my granddaughter and was informed we couldn't have one cause the fire Marshall didn't allow them, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diana P
GuestRelations4995, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

We apologize for the unpleasant experience you had during your stay. It is accurate that we cannot allow a room with a double bed to have a roll-a-way bed as well due to safety issues. We will have our maintenance staff take a look at the smoke alarm and make sure that it is functioning correctly to make sure that...

Huntsville, Texas
Reviewed September 3, 2016

It's close to the airport and the staff is friendly. The room was ok meaning stuff worked but it's a bit shabby. Fairly close to the highway and easy access. Overpriced is an additional comment I would add

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dale K
GuestRelations4995, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay with us. As you mentioned our property is close to the highway (exit 131 off I-80). We are close by many restaurants, gas stations and driving distance to the local mall. Our rooms have recently been renovated to include new beds, carpets.

York
Reviewed August 26, 2016

We were only looking for a good night of rest while traveling, but we received a friendly welcome and an upgrade to a two room suite on first floor. The suite was spacious and comfortable with a couch, a good TV in both rooms, a fridge and microwave, a work station and a comfortable king-size bed. Breakfast was typical Quality...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Al M
GuestRelations4995, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Quality Inn & Suites on Merle Hay Road and that you enjoyed your rooms. We look forward to seeing you again on a future stay with us.

Perrysburg, Ohio
Reviewed June 23, 2016

Worst choice ever! They need to bull doze this place. The wall between the bedroom and bathroom must have been made of wall paper covered in paint. There was only one bath towel but several hand towels. Oh yeah and the toilet did flush! Worst hundred dollars we ever spent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Betsy S
GuestRelations4995, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

We apologize that our hotel did not meet your satisfaction. The place has recently been renovated with a beautiful interior. There are always plenty of towels in the bathroom. I am sure you are aware that there is a front desk with friendly staff for assistance who always want to ensure all of our guests have a comfortable and great...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Des Moines
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay
Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay
#31 of 49 in Des Moines
434 reviews
0.3 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston
5.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#26 of 49 in Des Moines
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites
Quality Inn and Suites
#28 of 49 in Des Moines
141 reviews
5.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Des Moines North
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Address: 4995 N.W. Merle Hay Road, Des Moines, IA 50322
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Price Range: $71 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Choice Hotels and Travelocity so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Des Moines
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Inn Des Moines
Des Moines Quality Inn
Quality Inn & Suites Des Moines, Iowa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Quality Inn & Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Over priced for what you get”
 of 5 bubbles 934dalek, Sep 3, 2016 | Read review
“I usually prefer top floor to avoid noise, but our first floor room was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles 789alm, Aug 26, 2016 | Read review
“This hotel is adjacent to I-35/I-80 interchange! Find another hotel!”
 of 5 bubbles Harleychick14, May 27, 2016 | Read review
“Quiet on south side and upper floor; no elevator; ask for renovated room”
 of 5 bubbles mbbarnes, Apr 25, 2016 | Read review
“third floor on the north side of the building”
 of 5 bubbles hnikelz, Feb 24, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question