We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Des Moines Marriott Downtown

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

406 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 400: English reviews
Start your review of Des Moines Marriott Downtown
 Click to rate
Fairfax County, Virginia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I'm a big fan of Marriott, but this place is not on the same page. Problems with my reservation led to problems with the front desk crew. No apologies, just a "move along". I travel all across the country and this was truly the worst check in experience of my Marriott life. Will not be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ddacreed
Des Moines M, Manager at Des Moines Marriott Downtown, responded to this review

Please accept our sincere apology for the lack of care upon booking and arrival. Thank you for sharing this feedback so that we may bring awareness to our staff to understand the perception created. We understand our opportunity to host you again may be lost, however, still hope you may reconsider allowing us to service you more brilliantly in the...

Quincy, Illinois
Reviewed 1 week ago

2nd time staying here as they are the hotel for the Mid Winter Blues Fest. The staff and rooms were great. Can't speak about the food or bars. The $24 valet parking sucks but that is the way it goes. Nice place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lostandhungry
Management response:

Thank you for staying at the Des Moines Marriott Downtown this past weekend for Blue's Fest. We very much enjoy hosting this group each year. The valet parking option within the hotel garage is convenient for many guests. In the effort to save in the future, parking is free on the streets of downtown beginning at 6pm on Friday evening...

Cincinnati
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel was in a very convenient downtown location. It was also big enough to host the entire event that I was attending. The restaurant was ok, the fitness center was great and the staff were very helpful and kind. The room was decent in size and very clean. Fridge in room, comfortable bed and a HUGE tv. I will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 514keitht
Management response:

Thank you for sharing your valued feedback. Your comments are very important to us and will definitely encourage our valued guests, whether new or existing, to return. We hope you'll be back with us soon!

Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived at our hotel and had to wait for a bit to get our room. Room was clean, but we were at the end of a hallway and when people used the stairs the door would bang in the middle of the night. They are also putting up a new hotel next door and 6 in the morning you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 644donnaj
Des Moines M, Manager at Des Moines Marriott Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for providing feedback from your recent stay with us. We consider it a best practice to share all guest feedback with our operational teams to increase awareness and address any issues that may have occurred in order to prevent those same issues from happening again. The positive comment on the service provided by our valet team is equally...

Chattanooga, Tennessee
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stay in the Des Moines often and have found this place to be a great escape from my work day. The Rooms are clean and the staff are great. The location is fun just minutes from the main downtown area. I recommend staying here. Plus it just minutes from the airport.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Manny2225
Management response:

Thanks so much for providing feedback on your recent stay at the Des Moines Marriott Downtown. Our location is very centrally located providing access for our guests through the climate controlled skywalk system or our complimentary shuttle service throughout the downtown area. Hope we'll have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon!

Joppa, Maryland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was a great hotel. I was there for a conference and all of the staff were really helpful. The room was really nice. I had room service once, and it was delivered quickly and was still warm when it arrived. Tasty,too! The hotel is connected to the skywalk system, so you can get to a lot of places without...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cindy G
Management response:

Thank you for staying with us at the Des Moines Marriott Downtown! It is certainly great to know that we were able to provide you with Marriott's 'Spirit to Serve' and that you found all aspects of your experience truly enjoyable. It is our hope that you will allow us the opportunity to host your stay in the future should...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful room, bathroom just fine and clean. I had dinner in the lobby bar: cheese and prosciutto: very good but only 2 slices of cheese. I ordered more because it was very. Dry good! I don't give 5 on five because of breakfast in the concierge for Elite members: small and not so much food.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Federica V
Management response:

Thank you for your valuable feedback. Please be assured that we appreciate your comments and will be sharing with those in key Food & Beverage positions to insure follow-up occurs. We hope you'll allow us the opportunity to welcome you in the future!

Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewed January 12, 2017 via mobile

I stay in Marriott Hotels the vast majority of the time. But I must comment on the outstanding level of service we received on every level during our stay here. The Lobby Bar is lively and fun great food. The staff offers a free shuttle to downtown bars and restaurants. My room was fabulous the bell service great. Exceeded my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shelleyrtaylor
Cape Coral, Florida
Reviewed December 27, 2016

My family lives in MN and my wife's family lives in Kansas City, MO. We couldn't get together on Christmas day this year, so we decided to meet half way in Des Moines. Our had the hospitality room between adjoining rooms for our Christmas festivities. It worked out wonderfully. We had dinner at a nearby restaurant, and the hotel had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fred S
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed December 22, 2016 via mobile

We drove 700 miles from Columbus, Ohio yesterday and found this wonderful respite place on our way to Salt Lake City. The courteous and friendly staff greeted us and fed us. Dinner at the bar was well priced and breakfast food at the concierge room was much better than expected. The room was clean and up to date - the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathy G
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

160 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (63)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (97)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
0.1 mi away
Des Lux Hotel
Des Lux Hotel
#7 of 49 in Des Moines
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Des Moines Downtown
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
City Center Lounge
City Center Lounge
Cuisines: American
Rock River Grill & Tavern
Rock River Grill & Tavern
Cuisines: American, Pub
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy a luxury Des Moines hotel ideally located in the downtown business district just four miles from the airport and connected to the Iowa Events Center and Wells Fargo Arena by skywalk, making it one of the most convenient downtown Des Moines hotels. Dine at the delectable on-site Rock River Grill and Tavern, or discover the innovative City Center Lounge for casual downtown libations. Guests can relax in our sparkling pool or coffee shop and stay connected with our business center and free wi-fi in public areas. Highlighted by 25,000 square feet of space, this Des Moines, IA hotel is ideal for conferences, weddings, retreats and events of all sizes. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Des Moines Marriott Downtown

Address: 700 Grand Avenue, Des Moines, IA 50309
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Price Range: $157 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Des Moines Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 415
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Des Moines Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Moines Marriott Downtown Hotel Des Moines
Marriott Des Moines
Des Moines Marriott Downtown Iowa
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Des Moines
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Des Moines Marriott Downtown staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Des Moines Marriott Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“older and dated but clean kind of pricey but good location”
 of 5 bubbles joewA9679YK, Nov 25, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with newer bed and secure mattresses”
 of 5 bubbles cathiemcgregorc, Aug 29, 2016 | Read review
“Low floor, elevators are slow at times”
 of 5 bubbles 861tarat, Aug 22, 2016 | Read review
“We stayed on 16th floor and nice view of the city”
 of 5 bubbles proctors1990, Aug 16, 2016 | Read review
“Outside construction on one side of building.”
 of 5 bubbles Texas055, Jul 6, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question