We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel deals
Hotel website
101 East Locust Street, Des Moines, IA 50309 (Formerly Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines-On The River)
Special Offer
STOP CLICKING AROUND
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

800 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 793: English reviews
Ankeny, Iowa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great room and amenities. Happy hour is a must! Did have a pool renovation just completed. It involved removing the existing hot tub. Really?!? How does that cater to the adult clientele you want? This is downtown! How does that fit the demographic they want? Unfortunately the pool renovation is a fail!!

Helpful?
Thank ebryan2016
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear ebryan2016 - Thank you very much for your feedback. There were multiple reasons why we ended up removing the spa from the pool area and while we knew it would potentially result in a few negative comments, we felt that it was the correct decision. I am sorry you were disappointed. Sincerely, Skip Hammerman General Manager More 

Ames, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

They renovated the pool in July. We were told that the pool would reopen on July 15th. We stayed on July 16th and the pool was open as promised. However, the renovation included removing the hot tub! Beware if you stay here there is only a pool. No hot tub as shown on the website for this hotel!

Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Sarah B - Thank you very much for your comments. WE have removed all references to the hot tub on the website and are awaiting the new photography to update the website pictures. Sincerely, Skip Hammerman General Manager More 

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A well-located hotel near the Eastern Market, a short walk from the Capitol, World Food Hall of Laureates and other attractions. Iowa's hospitality is on display at the Embassy Suites. Staff go out of their way to provide directions or get you on the complimentary hotel shuttle. The rooms are spacious and can comfortably fit 4-5 guests. As with all... More 

Helpful?
Thank IrmaNova
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear IrmaNova - Thank you very much for staying with us and writing the great review. I am glad that you enjoyed the hotel as well as the many things the city offers just minutes from our location. Sincerely, Skip Hammerman General Manager More 

Bella Vista, Arkansas, USA
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived late after making a last minute reservation. We were greeted with a smile and pleasant conversation. My mom was at the truck, as help was there to unload for us. A very pleasant experience.

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Kristi K
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Kristi K - Thank you for the great comment regarding our staff! I am delighted to learn that we provided outstanding service to you! Sincerely, Skip Hammerman General Manager More 

Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We found the entire staff very helpful and accommodating during our stay. Our room was nice and the beds were very comfortable. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone for either business or leisure travel.

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank 482ct
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear 482ct - Thank you very much for the comment - I am glad you had a great stay. Sincerely, Skip Hammerman General Manager More 

Bettendorf, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Everything about our stay was wonderful! From the Valet service to the front desk, to the bellman, to the managers reception and the breakfast...just wonderful. We had 9 people in our party and every one of them felt this was the best stay ever. SO FUN with the Cotton Candy machine, games and magician. The staff was extremely fun and... More 

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Kim R
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Kim R - Thank you very much for your kind comments! I very happy that you found everybody at the hotel fantastic and that it shows that we all enjoy what we do. Sincerely, Skip Hammerman General Manager More 

Des Moines, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My stay at the Embassy Suites was very pleasant. My wife and I were celebrating our wedding anniversary, and I wanted it to be a great experience. Overall, it was great. The service was excellent. There were a couple tiny issues that would seem insignificant to others, but to me, took away from the experience I was expecting. The bed... More 

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Terrence H
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Terrence H - Thank you very much for the review and congratulations on your anniversary! I appreciate the feedback and look forward to your next stay with us. Sincerely, Skip Hammerman General Manager More 

Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Somewhat dated and a little worn out, but reasonably clean. The bathroom had one of 2 bulbs burnt out, which made a really dark bathroom. The check-in was efficient and friendly, and helpful advice on touring the Capitol was given. The location was really convenient to several restaurants. Helpful shuttle to surrounding areas.

Helpful?
Thank familyseeing50states
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear familyseeing50states - Thank you very much for staying with us. Please accept my sincere apologies for the burned out light bulbs; our staff should have been taken care of correcting this prior to your check-in. Sincerely, Skip Hammerman General Manager More 

St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Everything was so nice and the staff was amazing. The only thing I would have changed was the eggs from the warm buffet were a little cold. Other than that it was a very nice experience. I got a suite ( room 101 ) and I had an awesome view of the capital. Except there were many rocks with ruined... More 

Helpful?
Thank dieselmimi
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear dieselmimi - I greatly appreciate you staying with us during your recent visit to Des Moines - your business and 5 STAR review are greatly appreciated. Sincerely, Skip Hammerman General Manager More 

northern michigan
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Front Desk man was nice. Have not needed to use the Business Office before - was nice. Room was fine. Evening snack was nice - staff friendly. Morning breakfast a true disappointment......went down for coffee just before 9:00 a.m.....everything was already starting to be picked up....by the time we rode the elevator down, food was gone and coffee/beverage area was... More 

Helpful?
Thank boogity
shammerman, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear boogity - Thank you very much for your nice comments about the Front Office and Evening Reception staff. I am sorry you missed the breakfast - please note that we do have coffee available at our gift shop 24/7 if you would like to have a cup after the breakfast closes. Sincerely, Skip Hammerman General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

196 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (126)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (70)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
0.6 mi away
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
#10 of 48 in Des Moines
4.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Des Moines Downtown
0.6 mi away
Des Lux Hotel
Des Lux Hotel
#8 of 48 in Des Moines
4.0 of 5 stars 129 reviews
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Des Moines Savery Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Relax in the comfort of the spacious two-room suites at the Embassy Suites Des Moines Downtown. Located close to the Iowa State Capitol, explore the trendy shopping and dining opportunities of the Historic East Village. Enjoy complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and a nightly Manager's Reception. Elegant banquet facilities are available for weddings, business meetings and other special events. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown

Address: 101 East Locust Street, Des Moines, IA 50309 (Formerly Embassy Suites Hotel Des Moines-On The River)
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Price Range: $175 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 234
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Des Moines
Des Moines Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites By Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown Iowa
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Des Moines
#3 Business Hotel in Des Moines
#3 Family Hotel in Des Moines
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay