We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Econo Lodge Inn & Suites

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

78 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 77: English reviews
Start your review of Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
 Click to rate
Tampere, Finland
Reviewed December 22, 2016

It's a very basic Econo Lodge hotel located a bit out of city in a residential area next to the State Fair complex. The room was okay as was the service. The only minus was the breakfast. Not the breakfast itself but the space to eat it in. There are only couple of tables and when there are more than...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan R
Missy J, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review

We recently updates our breakfast seating area which included additional seating! Thank your for stay and feed back we appreciate your time and allowing us to be a service to you and hope to see you the next time are in need of rooms in Des Moines.

Des Moines
Reviewed December 19, 2016

We decided to stay here for the night so the kids, my wife and myself could go swimming and have a night away from home. Upon our arrival we meet Adam working the front desk. He was very friendly and efficient in checking us in. He totally made my day when he said pool was open until midnight (I am...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelly S
Topeka, Kansas
Reviewed November 28, 2016

I just came back from staying three nights under two different stays. I worked a trade show, and then didn't want to drive home in the rain (and dark), so grabbed a room with points. OK, lets get the good out of the way first: This was a fairly typical budget hotel overall. The beds were fine, the TV worked,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank kansasccw
Aurora, Minnesota
Reviewed November 27, 2016

This hotel is directly across the street from an entrance to the state fairgrounds, which would make it very convenient to someone spending a couple days checking out events. I stayed here mid October when the fair was over and it was a nice, quiet location. First impressions: Hotel was out dated and worn looking, area didn't look the best...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather G
Houston, Texas
Reviewed October 19, 2016

The staff was quite nice, and I like the chocolate chip cookies in the evening, the parking is convenient right out front, but that is about all I can say really positive. The place in general appeared dingy including the room but the room itself was clean. The A/C did not work right as it was cool enough but not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ralph r
Missy J, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to fill out a survey and give us feedback about our location. I am happy to report this week we received fridges and microwaves for all rooms. And in the next several months we will be painting and carpeting all our public areas and receiving many new items for rooms, we are quite excited to...

Stoddard, Wisconsin
Reviewed October 10, 2016

This hotel is located right next to the IA state fest grounds. We weren't there during that time of the year though and it had a great rate. The check-in was quick, although they were unsure of when their breakfast hours were. All of the walls in the building, halls and rooms, REALLY needed a fresh coat of paint. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peggy M
Brooklyn Park, Minnesota
Reviewed August 24, 2016

The good: Right next to the Iowa State Fair grounds The BAD: Check in "service manager Sam Derr" is very unprofessional, a liar and gives this hotel a very very poor reputation. The hotels antiquated computer system does not allow you to add a name to a room without adding an additional room onto your reservation. So we checked in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
Missy J, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Kathy S, I am truly sorry for the experience you had with the desk representative at this hotel and for your your inadequate room furnishings. As you mentioned, I had just arrived at this hotel and we were definitely going through a tough spot, the "personnel over-haul" that you felt was needed was addressed quickly and we are moving...

Moville, Iowa
Reviewed August 22, 2016

Excellent, very comfortable rooms, very quiet. Located just next to the Fair Grounds main gate. Must reserve early in the year for rooms during the state fair as it fills up fast. Breakfast isn't much but that is the only fault. We have been staying there for several years

 Report
Helpful?
Thank larryep
Missy J, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review and repeat business! We hope you continue to chose our facility for your future visits to the fairgrounds or Des Moines area. We have some big improvement plans for this fall and winter so we hope you come back to enjoy the changes. Thank you again for taking the time to comment!

Reviewed August 19, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here using our Choice Rewards for fair night and it was excellent proximity right at Gate 11. Older hotel but our room was clean, General Mgr. was friendly. After the fair we soaked our feet in the hot tub, too many crickets floating in the pool for me😳 our bed was comfortable but the pillows were small. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendi S
Missy J, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for the property. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hopefully you had a wonderful experience at the State Fair. Things are changing and improving at this hotel every day and we hope you continue to stay her in the future to experience that. We are excited for the...

Reviewed August 8, 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend and I were planning on driving all the way through from Michigan to Colorado but after getting stuck in traffic we decided to find a spot for the night. Got in late, after making a same day reservation online at about 7 pm. Upon checkin the front desk manager was very friendly and we had no problems checking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jess F
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Des Moines
4.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#29 of 49 in Des Moines
103 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Pleasant Hill
74 reviews
8.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#26 of 49 in Des Moines
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Super 8 Des Moines
Super 8 Des Moines
#34 of 49 in Des Moines
206 reviews
8.0 mi away
Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay
Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay
#31 of 49 in Des Moines
443 reviews
5.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Center with Internet Access

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites

Address: 410 E 30th St, Des Moines, IA 50317-2404
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Price Range: $78 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Des Moines
Des Moines Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Des Moines, Iowa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Econo Lodge Inn & Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“The closer you are to the lobby, the farther away you are from the biker bar.”
kansasccw, Nov 28, 2016 | Read review
“Only stay in rooms opposite from the "Biker" bar.”
786ralphr, Oct 19, 2016 | Read review
“the rooms are smaller than expected”
459morganr, Jun 27, 2016 | Read review
“Not room 115. Smelled horrible.”
josephb169, May 17, 2016 | Read review
“Just be aware of the deposit, that's all I'm sayin'”
405kariej, Jul 14, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question