We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Econo Lodge Inn & Suites

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

73 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 72: English reviews
Lathrop, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband & I were in Des Moines for a couple of nights. As soon as we walked into the hotel we could tell it wasn't clean. They keep cookies in the lobby area & there was cookie crumbs all over the floor. We checked into our room. As soon as we walked in the room it did not smell... More 

Helpful?
Thank Roxannepage
Missy J, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Roxannepage, I am very sorry for your unfortunate experience at this hotel. I really do appreciate the feedback and we are taking some big steps here to get every room and every area up to the standards that all guest deserve and expect. We have recently changed management and implemented some very specific changes and standards. This fall we... More 

Brooklyn Park, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The good: Right next to the Iowa State Fair grounds The BAD: Check in "service manager Sam Derr" is very unprofessional, a liar and gives this hotel a very very poor reputation. The hotels antiquated computer system does not allow you to add a name to a room without adding an additional room onto your reservation. So we checked in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
Missy J, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Kathy S, I am truly sorry for the experience you had with the desk representative at this hotel and for your your inadequate room furnishings. As you mentioned, I had just arrived at this hotel and we were definitely going through a tough spot, the "personnel over-haul" that you felt was needed was addressed quickly and we are moving... More 

Moville, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Excellent, very comfortable rooms, very quiet. Located just next to the Fair Grounds main gate. Must reserve early in the year for rooms during the state fair as it fills up fast. Breakfast isn't much but that is the only fault. We have been staying there for several years

Helpful?
Thank larryep
Missy J, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review and repeat business! We hope you continue to chose our facility for your future visits to the fairgrounds or Des Moines area. We have some big improvement plans for this fall and winter so we hope you come back to enjoy the changes. Thank you again for taking the time to comment! More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here using our Choice Rewards for fair night and it was excellent proximity right at Gate 11. Older hotel but our room was clean, General Mgr. was friendly. After the fair we soaked our feet in the hot tub, too many crickets floating in the pool for me😳 our bed was comfortable but the pillows were small. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wendi S
Missy J, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for the property. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hopefully you had a wonderful experience at the State Fair. Things are changing and improving at this hotel every day and we hope you continue to stay her in the future to experience that. We are excited for the... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend and I were planning on driving all the way through from Michigan to Colorado but after getting stuck in traffic we decided to find a spot for the night. Got in late, after making a same day reservation online at about 7 pm. Upon checkin the front desk manager was very friendly and we had no problems checking... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jess F
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2016

I went to a concert on a Wednesday night and all the hotels around the arena were over $200, so looking around we found this hotel. The rates were very reasonable!! The rooms were a lot smaller than I was expecting. We stayed in a 2 bed room and it was much smaller than I was expecting. There was only... More 

Helpful?
Thank Morgan R
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016

First of all, I've never met a front desk guy like Sam Derr, Friendly, knowledgeable and a good conversationalist. So that was really the best part of the stay. The room was pretty small and weirdly shaped. What I mean by that was you had the basic room with the bed and TV, then like a two foot hallway that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joseph B
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2016 via mobile

Cheap hotel, so don't expect much. Very friendly staff. Elevator smells and breakfast is minimal, but free. Rooms do the job and aren't gross. The location is amazing for the fairgrounds and Civic Center!

Helpful?
Thank Ali K
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2016

Overall a fairly nice place to stay if you're on a quick in-and-out trip and need something for an inexpensive price. Parking is easy, the bed is comfortable and the TV is nice. The room seemed kind of dusty and the hallways had garbage laying on the floors. I would not come here if you are looking to treat your... More 

Helpful?
Thank tedsmith68
waterloo
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2016 via mobile

The price was right so I didn't expect much. The hotel is NOT downtown. It's in a bad area next to the fairgrounds. The hotel lobby was small but clean. Got checked in and went to the room. Again it was small. I did a through check for bedbugs. NO bedbugs. The room was clean. The next morning we went... More 

Helpful?
Thank mike s
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Des Moines
4.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#23 of 48 in Des Moines
3.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Pleasant Hill
4.0 of 5 stars 64 reviews
8.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#26 of 48 in Des Moines
3.0 of 5 stars 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Event Center
6.0 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites
Quality Inn and Suites
#25 of 48 in Des Moines
3.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
5.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Altoona
Comfort Inn Altoona
#5 of 8 in Altoona
3.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites

Address: 410 E 30th St, Des Moines, IA 50317-2404
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Price Range: $61 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Des Moines
Des Moines Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Des Moines, Iowa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay