We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

390 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 390: English reviews
Des Moines, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The room was very clean, beds are comfortable, nice little pool area. Staff was very nice. The only thing that wasn't good was when we got in the room the air conditioner was off and it took about 6 hours for it to cool down. So, we swam and went to dinner and it was a bit better when we... More 

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Tammy H
Sioux City, Iowa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

NO AC in the hallways or game room!! We were blammed for all the running in the halls from kids, when it was 2 young girls that happened to live there! We were NOT causing any trouble, but were sent to bed. Even the sheriff said so! He told us it looks like fun and have a good time. We... More 

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank E1711OFdenniss
Mc Farland
Level Contributor
169 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed here while driving CO - MN. It was quiet and the room was clean. The beds were nicely made and fresh. For the price, it was good and I'm glad we stayed here. The hallway to our room had a bit of a smell and the breakfast was "typical" hotel breakfast (the only fiber is in the raisin... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jeanie E
management0403, General Manager at Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay, responded to this review

Thank you for your compliments. Your comments are sufficient enough and we are glad that you found our hotel to be clean, comfortable and a good value. You are correct, while our pool is not Olympic size, it is indoor, clean, heated and it can accommodate good number of people. We hope you will visit Des Moines, IA soon and... More 

Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Convenient location; clean, comfortable beds. a/c worked only on high setting; when off, room was stifling; when on, room was too cold.a/c very loud when on, cycling on and off at night was very disruptive to sleep. Breakfast - sour milk two consecutive days; informed attendant who said they had only one container of milk, and did not discard the... More 

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank marla773
management0403, General Manager at Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We sincerely apologize that AC in your room did not work properly. We take great pride in our high standards of cleanliness and it is our goal to provide our very best to each and every guest. Once again, I apologize for your unpleasant stay and any inconvenience we may have caused you. I hope... More 

Spokane, Washington
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotel had a pool, which is not heated, and a hot tub. It was decent and plenty of towels if you forget yours from the room. Staff was great and friendly. Perhaps it was the weather but it was very moist in the room but if you leave the window open it clears up a bit, but overall the... More 

Helpful?
Thank juliotnunes
management0403, General Manager at Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Actually it was the humidity that was causing it to be moist and opening those windows made it worst. This is why we like to keep those doors and windows shut so the temperature in the room in controlled. Our hotel is perfect for families and... More 

Newark, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nice hotel for a family vacation. Only bad thing was there was no bath tub in the room and the room was not a handicap accessible room. Just a stand up shower. That makes it very difficult to give an 18 month old who hates showers a bath.

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank hsF3896GO
management0403, General Manager at Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and generous compliments. I am glad that you enjoyed our amenities and services. Actually, we have plenty of rooms with bath tubs. Yes, our handicap room does not have a bath tub and this is to allow wheel chair in the shower. I wish you had brought this issue to our attention and we would... More 

Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The first room was a single queen bed, and we had asked for two queens. The clerk and her manager told me that I had booked online, and only reserved a single. I told them that I had called this location and booked through this desk, and that they might have gone online to do the booking, but I hadn't.... More 

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank waynet245
management0403, General Manager at Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Please accept my sincere apology regarding your recent stay with us in Des Moines, IA. What you experienced is not the standard we strive to uphold. We have reviewed our procedures with our team and specially the new team members and made appropriate changes to prevent this from occurring in the future. We look forward... More 

Omaha, Nebraska
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was in Des Moines for an event with the historical re-enacting group I belong to & needed a room for one night. The Merle Hay property was very close to the location we were using, & I had one of those lovely $25 gift cards to use as well. While the Days Inn didn't look overly impressive from the... More 

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank jeandF6075PH
management0403, General Manager at Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our Days Inn Des Moines- Merle Hay, Iowa. We are extremely pleased and grateful for such a positive feedback surrounding our services and great amenities that our hotel offers. This is true, our hotel from outside may look that impressive but interior of the hotel is a different story. We renovated it completely and... More 

Poteau, Oklahoma
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very nice and clean rooms, I booked two (a king size for me & the queen beauty) plus a double for the kids. We all four enjoyed our July 4th weekend stay. Pool was open and well maintained as well as the Jacuzzi hot tub. Breakfast included sausage biscuit gravy, cheese egg omelet, waffles, toasts, yogurt, bananas, oatmeal, cereals, juices... More 

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Marvin J
management0403, General Manager at Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay, responded to this review

We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed our unparalleled service and outstanding amenities at the Days Inn Des Moines-Merle Hay, Iowa. Our goal is to provide a full-service experience with an emphasis on providing excellent guest service and creating an exceptional experience for our guests. Our complimentary breakfast adds value and it also saves significant amount of money for... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Des Moines
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#27 of 48 in Des Moines
3.0 of 5 stars 84 reviews
0.4 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston
4.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#22 of 48 in Des Moines
3.5 of 5 stars 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Des Moines North
5.2 mi away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#10 of 48 in Des Moines
4.0 of 5 stars 478 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Conveniently Located 1 Mile From Merle Hay Hall And Close To Restaurants And Theatres Enjoy your Heartland stop at our Days Inn Des Moines / Merle Hay hotel near Living History Farms. Located just off Interstate 35 / 80 in the northwestern corner of the city, our Des Moines, IA, hotel offers easy access to Saylorville Lake and downtown while providing comfortable accommodations at a great rate. Swim in the indoor pool, soak in the whirlpool or play games in the two-story game room before grabbing an evening drink in the on-site lounge, Derry's. In-room amenities include free Wi-Fi Internet access, microwave and refrigerator. Handicapped-accessible rooms are available, and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult at our hotel in Des Moines, Iowa. Start your day with free Daybreak continental breakfast before heading out. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS From our Des Moines, IA, hotel, you can stroll The Principal Riverwalk - a recently completed project that includes trails, a garden and skating plaza along the Des Moines River - or walk through Pappajohn Sculpture Park. Slide down the water rides and roller coasters at Adventureland amusement park, just 15 minutes west of our hotel in Altoona, or indulge in some adult fun at Prairie Meadows racetrack and casino, also in Altoona. Spend a day on the water at Saylorville Lake or Grays's lake for slower-paced activities like fishing, hiking and boating. DINING OPTIONS There are over a dozen restaurants to choose from within a mile of our Des Moines, IA, hotel, including Bennigan's, Perkins, Felix & Oscars and Carlos O'Kelly's Mexican Cafe. Head to downtown hotspots in the revitalized East Village area or near the Iowa Events center for dozens more options. BUSINESS AND EVENT FACILITIES We offer meeting space for your upcoming event, as well as copy and fax services. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay

Address: 4845 Merle Hay Rd, Des Moines, IA 50322-1949
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Price Range: $70 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn - Des Moines Merle Hay Hotel Des Moines
Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay Iowa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay