We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

408 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 408: English reviews
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I am not sure what happened to the quality of Days Inn Hotels, but this has been a bad experience. I showed up early and asked about check in time, the lady tells me 3 even though I was pretty sure it was 2, and the lady was disagreeing with me. I come back , I check in and I... More 

Helpful?
Thank MattOpp
Fountain Hills, Arizona
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Hotel and folks were wonderful but the breakfast was WORSE than nother eating at all! Not even one thing was ok. The only hot past was biscuits and gravy. The gravy was lukewarm and clotted together. The biscuits were hard as rocks. The apple juice was so concentratedbit was sickly sweet but the orange juice was so watery it ran... More 

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Kathleen G
Council Bluffs
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms were comfortable. Even though it is a non smoking hotel the hallways still smell like stall smoke. The breakfast was so so. The jacuzzi was a bit warmer then it should have been.

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Theresa H
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stopped over in what was supposed to have been a non smoking room. It reeked of tobacco. There was a used syringe with needle attached in the car park

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank M686UBkeithw
Newton, Iowa
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Ended up not being able to stay wouldnt refund the room but said she would redund the deposit ended up charging me for that anyways had to call a week later to get it fixed and this was thru the manager very rude and disrespectful this would have been our 2nd time there the first time we stayed was excellent... More 

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank 519melyssal
management0403, General Manager at Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay this time. We do everything in our power to satisfy our guest needs. However, we also have to abide by the local laws, rules and regulations set forth by the city of Des Moines, IA. As explained earlier, we are not allowed to have more... More 

Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The remodeling was great! It is like a NEW HOTEL! After all the years of staying here on business, I got to bring the family and when the staff called me by name, my kids noticed! The new heat-AC in the rooms was the best! KEEP UP THE GOID WORK!

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank BGHarris3
management0403, General Manager at Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback and compliments. As always, your loyalty to our hotel is greatly appreciated. It took us a while but we wanted to make sure that things are done right and our hotel is even more comfortable for our guests. We look forward to your next visit. Regards Julie General Manager More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in this establishment during our trip to the Iowa State bowling tournament back in April. We, as a group, weren't too impressed with this facility. I will qualify some of what you're about to read by saying it appeared this Days Inn was under some re-construction/remodeling. Some of the decor/furniture in the rooms appeared to be new while... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gene A
management0403, General Manager at Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and business. This is correct, we remodeled this hotel completely and replaced most of the items from the rooms that includes new carpeting, drapes, and as you mentioned, TVs, Microwaves, Fridges and Bathroom vanities. This is a 100% smoke free hotel, unfortunately, sometimes some guests ignore this stipulation and leave us with this smell. Per... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Des Moines
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#26 of 48 in Des Moines
3.0 of 5 stars 88 reviews
0.4 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston
5.2 mi away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#9 of 48 in Des Moines
4.0 of 5 stars 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#23 of 48 in Des Moines
3.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest
8.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Conveniently Located 1 Mile From Merle Hay Hall And Close To Restaurants And Theatres Enjoy your Heartland stop at our Days Inn Des Moines / Merle Hay hotel near Living History Farms. Located just off Interstate 35 / 80 in the northwestern corner of the city, our Des Moines, IA, hotel offers easy access to Saylorville Lake and downtown while providing comfortable accommodations at a great rate. Swim in the indoor pool, soak in the whirlpool or play games in the two-story game room before grabbing an evening drink in the on-site lounge, Derry's. In-room amenities include free Wi-Fi Internet access, microwave and refrigerator. Handicapped-accessible rooms are available, and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult at our hotel in Des Moines, Iowa. Start your day with free Daybreak continental breakfast before heading out. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS From our Des Moines, IA, hotel, you can stroll The Principal Riverwalk - a recently completed project that includes trails, a garden and skating plaza along the Des Moines River - or walk through Pappajohn Sculpture Park. Slide down the water rides and roller coasters at Adventureland amusement park, just 15 minutes west of our hotel in Altoona, or indulge in some adult fun at Prairie Meadows racetrack and casino, also in Altoona. Spend a day on the water at Saylorville Lake or Grays's lake for slower-paced activities like fishing, hiking and boating. DINING OPTIONS There are over a dozen restaurants to choose from within a mile of our Des Moines, IA, hotel, including Bennigan's, Perkins, Felix & Oscars and Carlos O'Kelly's Mexican Cafe. Head to downtown hotspots in the revitalized East Village area or near the Iowa Events center for dozens more options. BUSINESS AND EVENT FACILITIES We offer meeting space for your upcoming event, as well as copy and fax services. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay

Address: 4845 Merle Hay Rd, Des Moines, IA 50322-1949
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Price Range: $65 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn - Des Moines Merle Hay Hotel Des Moines
Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay Iowa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay