We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Motel 6 Des Moines South - Airport

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Motel 6 Des Moines South - Airport
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

55 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 54: English reviews
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2016

Arrived late as had to drive from RST as flight had cancelled. Was great but door handle would not open. Gave green light so key card was working but even putting my shoulder to door could not open. A 25 year old guy (I'm a 66 yr old women) walked by and even he had trouble,but after 3 attempts he... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank N8053NRannc
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2016 via mobile

I went with my family to Des Moines and chose this motel because of the location and we were looking for an apartment, room was outdated, small tv with limited channels, I noticed there were always ants in the bathroom. We couldn't leave food in the table like bread or cereal because of the ants, beds were ok. The location... More 

Helpful?
Thank Roxie_Tyler
6Team, Brand Experience Team Member at Motel 6 Des Moines South - Airport, responded to this review

Roxie, Thank you for sharing your concerns. Please know the service issues you describe are an exception to our guest commitment and as such, we apologize. Our staff aims to provide the highest level of hospitality to our guests through our customer service, but with your experience we have fallen short and would like to apologize for the service issues... More 

Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2016 via mobile

Room smelled like smoke, body odor, cigarettes, and mold, things were falling apart, dirty, old, broken sidewalks, noisy, big lighted advertizement sign out the front of the motel kept me awake all night, bed mattress was broken down and very uncomfortable, but the desk clerk was very friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Michael G
Inwood, West Virginia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2015

I bought this room and paid $2.99 for extra for the privilege of using their internet. It did not work. So I went back and paid "Paul" the extra $2.00 for HIGH SPEED internet access and it did not work. So I asked "Paul" to check into this and got basically a lecture from someone that did not really want... More 

Helpful?
Thank shidoobe
6Team, brand expericened team member at Motel 6 Des Moines South - Airport, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your review. We strive to provide a clean, comfortable room and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the odor concern you describe. We are glad to be able to provide Wi-Fi to our guests and apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with our policy. We apologize for the state of the parking... More 

Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2015 via mobile

I've never been in a more nasty motel/hotel. It's absolutely filthy. The bathroom looks like it's been a couple of weeks since it's been cleaned. The noise level of planes taking off and landing all night is horrible. Please take me out of time out!

Helpful?
Thank Vivienne S
6Team, brand expericened team member at Motel 6 Des Moines South - Airport, responded to this review

Vivienne, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in delivering on the commitment during your recent stay. Motel 6 standards for quality rest on our promise to offer the lowest price of any national chain by delivering the essential elements of a comfortable... More 

Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2015 via mobile

Horrible experience. Infested hotel room and bed. Although cheapest accommodation but, would not recommend at all to stay as it was a horrific experience. Saw roaches around the pizza we brought and feeling something moving inside the mattress. We were having our own bedsheets and blankets so, protected ourselves from bug bite. Stay away if possible.

Helpful?
Thank szshrivastava
6Team, brand expericened team member at Motel 6 Des Moines South - Airport, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in delivering on the commitment during your recent stay. We have procedures in place related to our pest policy that should have prevented the inconveniences you describe. Our staff aims to provide the highest... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2015

Remember that when you go "cheap" you usually get what you pay for.... AND this cheap motel in directly in the flight path... Loud most of the time with the airplanes taking off and landing. It was clean, and the staff very friendly. There are very few amenities... soap and towels but that is about it. It was clean.. but... More 

Helpful?
Thank hoytytoyt
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Des Moines South - Airport, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your review. Our staff aims to provide the highest level of hospitality to our guests through our customer service, but with your experience we have fallen short and would like to apologize for the service issues you describe. We strive to provide a comfortable night's rest, and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due... More 

Marion, Iowa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2015

I booked this hotel for its proximity to the airport. We were only going to be in the room for about 7 hours, since we had a 5am flight the next day. Check in guy was great. that is all the good i can say. the non smoking room we had stunk so bad of smoke, we all smelled like... More 

Helpful?
Thank funlover71
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Des Moines South - Airport, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your review. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced with the availability of a non-smoking room. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in delivering on the commitment during your recent stay. We invite you to contact our Guest Relations department at 1-855-787-9864 to record the details... More 

Dyersburg, Tennessee
Level Contributor
163 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2015

Great if need to be on the south side or near the airport. They use boiler hear and cool air instead of central or units, not the best. They were understaffed in housekeeping. Most ere good including the head of housekeeping,but one was awful. They were drastically understaffed. Had 2 housekeepers yesterday for 33 rooms needing cleaning. Only other problem... More 

Helpful?
Thank CellularMan
Putnam Valley, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

I had a flight in the morning, so I chose this motel because it was near the airport. The friendly staff could not make up for the fact that it was a fairly horrible night. There is a narrow sagging concrete walkway that runs around the 2nd floor rooms. The window of each room opens onto this walkway. The bed... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank doghairstew
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Des Moines South - Airport, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We strive to provide a comfortable night's rest, and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the noise concerns you describe. Safety and security are high priorities within Motel 6 standards for quality and we regret you felt differently during your visit. Motel 6 standards for quality... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
1.1 mi away
Ramada Des Moines Airport
Ramada Des Moines Airport
#33 of 48 in Des Moines
3.0 of 5 stars 291 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites
Quality Inn and Suites
#24 of 48 in Des Moines
3.5 of 5 stars 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Des Moines Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Motel 6 Des Moines South - Airport

Address: 4817 Fleur Dr, Des Moines, IA 50321-2825
Location: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Price Range: $46 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Des Moines South - Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Motel-6 and Travelocity so you can book your Motel 6 Des Moines South - Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Moines Motel 6
Des Moines Motel Six
Motel 6 Des Moines South - Airport Iowa
Motel Six Des Moines
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay