We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Hatfield Lakes Iowa

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Creston
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Hatfield Lakes Iowa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

14 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 14: English reviews
Denver
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2014

We stayed at Moonlight Marian. Woke up early to hear the geese honking in the morning. The fishing was superb to say the least. I cought several large mouth bass. There great eating I must say. Cooked them right out front of the cabin with a grill provided. Nothing like eating fresh fish off the hoof. Wrap them in foil... More 

Helpful?
Thank canitalk
Davenport, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2014

I'm struggling to review this property properly, but hope it will help future renters. After going back and looking at the photos and video on the website I think we probably should have known what we were getting ourselves into, but somehow we had much different expectations of Hatfield Lakes than what reality came to be. We decided, based on... More 

Helpful?
Thank jradport
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I took my nephews and a few of their friends to Hatfield lakes from March 27-31 2013 and they had a blast! We stayed in the Big John Cabin with plenty of room. Without internet and TV the boys still had a blast and didn't miss any of it. If you love outdoors, this place is for you! My 16... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Puck207
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

From the moment my family and I step foot on the property until we left we shared much needed quality get away time! I read some previous posts and I am not sure why people are expecting a fully staffed 5 star hotel when they are renting cabins. If you are expecting this, I would go elsewhere. We had no... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Rees101
Mark m, Manager at Hatfield Lakes Iowa, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us as always! We look forward to serving you again. More 

Kelley, Iowa, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We had the groupon situation that was purchased for a charity event with wine, fishing gear and a two night stay. We booked Big John Cabin and it is a very nice log cabin with excellent furnishings and a nice view of the larger lake. The wooden stump sinks are not only very cool artwork, but quite functional as well.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Suzy N
Mark m, Owner at Hatfield Lakes Iowa, responded to this review

So glad you stayed with us. We look forward to seeing you in the future!! Mark More 

Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Mark is unprofessional. Just awful. I had booked a groupon to use and had tried to contact him on several occasions before being able to get ahold of him to make a reservation. I made a reservation in Oct 2011 for a May 2012 stay. A month before our designated stay, we found out we couldn't make the trip so... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah K
Mark m, Owner at Hatfield Lakes Iowa, responded to this review

We did everything we could to take your reservation. But, we book up sometimes 7 months in advance for weekends. I said numerous times that we had space available during the weekday and would love to have you and your guests stay. However, I will not cancel other guests that made arrangments almost six months in advance. Your refund was... More 

JEFFERSON IOWA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We booked Big Johns and Moonlight Marion (balcony and cabin) for a Saturday night stay mid summer with friends (I tried to write this earlier, but trip advisor wasn't working). We needed a much needed rest and didn't want to drive too far from our central Iowa home. The cabins were beautifully decorated and very cool and comfortable (it was... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank CHRIS W
Mark m, Owner at Hatfield Lakes Iowa, responded to this review

We have tried very hard to make an impact with our new construction, and our attention to detail. We will have some new buuildings in the next few years that are sure to be one of a kind "Hatfield Lakes" properties. We do hope you join us again. Loved having everyone Mark More 

Altoona, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Our large family stayed at the Hatfield Lakes for the weekend to celebrate our parents' 50th wedding anniversary. We rented all three cabins so we have the entire property to ourselves. -- The Scott House Cabin: Pros - It was nicely appointed and the kitchen was well stocked with plenty of pots, pans, serving trays, etc... We were able to... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank rohelb
Mark m, Owner at Hatfield Lakes Iowa, responded to this review

Great to see the feedback. We are striving every day to listen to our customers. We love to know what works and what doesn't. We sure hope you keep us in the running for next years family trip. We have some wonderful new changes that are sure to make a statement. Thank you Mark More 

Golden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

My wife and I took a trip to Iowa and found the most incredible propery ever. We rented a place at hatfield lakes and we had a most outstanding time. The fishing was great and we actually ate the bass we cought that night. It was quiet and peaceful. We truly had a good time. Next time I want to... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Chris C
Bellevue, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

My sister and I got excited when we saw this fishing trip on sale on Groupon. We decided it would be a great birthday gift for our dad. The deal included fishing gear and a bottle of wine for each night we stayed. We decided on two nights. First off my sister called and texted to try to book our... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank BeccadaBomb
Mark m, Owner at Hatfield Lakes Iowa, responded to this review

I am happy your father was happy. Bookings are handled via internet only. We receive upwards to 25 a day. As for the wine, we only offer that when we receive a signed letter stating occupants are over the age of 21. We do not sell alchol on the property. It is a gift during some promotional months. However, without... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Creston hotels
8.5 mi away
Super 8 Creston
Super 8 Creston
#1 of 2 in Creston
157 reviews
8.6 mi away
Supertel Inn and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hatfield Lakes are located on 1000 acres of private lakes, farmland and fabulous wooded fields. We have PRIVATE FISHING....14 lakes and ponds, on the Hatfield estate. We have hundreds of acres to hike, and view wildlife..... Fishing is the best...bass, blue gill and walleye. We have two fabulous LOG CABINS .....The Stott Log Cabin and the New Big John Log Cabin. The STOTT LOG CABIN - 110 year old log lake view cabin, has been restored using logs, & hand hewn beams. The 3 bedroom vintage home is furnished with cowboy/lodge art and decor, fireplace & antler chandeliers.The BIG JOHN LOG CABIN ....located LAKEFRONT. The 2 bedroom log cabin features dramatic vaulted log beamed ceilings and walls. The cabin is furnished with log furnishings, western/wildlife art, fireplace. EACH OF THE ROOMS & VERANDAH ARE LAKEFRONT.....right on the lake.The GAZEBO, with wrap-around decks, fireplace, windmill & waterwheel, is situated WITHIN AND ON TOP OF THE LAKE . Guests can also fish from the FISHING BRIDGE!HATFIELD LAKES, is the site of programs filmed by John McLaughlin (KCCI - Des MoInes) for sporting and fishing channels. HATFIELD LAKES is the Ultimate & Private FISHING RETREAT! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hatfield Lakes Iowa

Address: 3300 Riverside Ave # 3346, Creston, IA 50801-7513
Location: United States > Iowa > Creston
Price Range: $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Hatfield Lakes Iowa Creston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hatfield Lakes Iowa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Best book the cabins on the lake you will not be dissapointed. Take the kids, take some wine and boogy down Bros!”
 of 5 bubbles canitalk, Oct 3, 2014 | Read review
“Big John Cabin is right beside a lake, Stott house is about a quarter mile walk to the nearest lake.”
 of 5 bubbles Puck207, Apr 5, 2013 | Read review
“Big John Cabin and Moonlight Marion are on the lake. Geese like to hang out and honk in front of Big John Cabin in the morning before flying over west to the lake with the gazebo.”
 of 5 bubbles SuzyN910, Oct 7, 2012 | Read review
“most cabins sit right on the lakes. Real nice time had by all.”
 of 5 bubbles 671ChrisC, Aug 14, 2012 | Read review
4 of 4
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question