We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

AmericInn Council Bluffs

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for: 1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
AmericInn Council Bluffs
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

98 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 98: English reviews
Indiana
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We didn't pay as much for this room as other hotels and our expectations were not as high. The desk clerks, checking in and out, were very friendly and helpful. The room was OK. It was clean, but well-worn. We were near the guest laundry and the washing machine was very noisy...really needs a repairman pronto! But it did not... More 

Helpful?
Thank IndianaPeggy
Nicky P, Manager at AmericInn Council Bluffs, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing your feedback and taking the time to comment on your stay in Council Bluffs. I'm glad that you liked our friendly staff, clean rooms, and comfortable beds. I apologize about anything that caused your stay to be less than perfect. We are working to make upgrades to all of our rooms so in order to provide all... More 

Denver
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2016

Very nice and helpful front desk person (good advice on local casinos) but room was lacking in cleanliness and breakfast bar was pretty minimal. We were passing through for one night and booked a great rate on Expedia. So overall OK; but a new shower curtain without mildew would have been nice.

Helpful?
Thank Q2261IHstephenl
Nicky P, Manager at AmericInn Council Bluffs, responded to this review

I'm glad that you chose us for your stay and that our friendly staff was able to help you with some good recommendations. I apologize for the issues you had, our housekeeping staff is aware of your comments and will be addressing all of your concerns. Thanks for your feedback, we hope that you will visit us again and let... More 

Park Ridge, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2016 via mobile

We visited on the hotel clerk's first night on the job so there was a bit of confusion on rates. But the hotel manager stepped in and answered all our questions and concerns. We were given a tour of our room before we even booked it (it was a walk-in reservation). The manager had just taken over and was in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rich G
Nicky P, Manager at AmericInn Council Bluffs, responded to this review

We work hard to accommodate all of our guests and make sure that everyone has the best possible stay. I apologize for the confusion and I'm glad that we were able to resolve the situation quickly. We strive to give our guests the best service as well as a great stay in a clean comfortable room with amazing amenities. We... More 

Fairbault
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2016

The people at this AmericInn were very nice. They gave us a great recommendation for dinner. However the room smelt bad, there was mold around the bathtub and a hole in the wall in the bathroom. And the pool room was uncomfortably hot. If you were not in the pool it was impossible to stay in the room.

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank keris669
Nicky P, Manager at AmericInn Council Bluffs, responded to this review

I apologize for any issues with your stay that your visit to Council Bluffs less than perfect. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your dinner and liked our friendly staff. I am having each of our rooms shampooed, deep cleaned, and will be making sure that everything is fresh and ready for all of our future guests. I want... More 

Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2016

Place needs some work, security doors on outside do not work and rooms need some tlc! Americinn needs to keep up there standards and check all there hotels! Front desk staff is great and they have breakfast out early for construction workers.

Helpful?
Thank Gary D
Nicky P, Manager at AmericInn Council Bluffs, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, I am very sorry about your experience. We are now under new management and are making new upgrades and improvements. Each of your comments are being addressed and I hope that you will visit us again and let us know what you think improvements. We hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Calvin Manager More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2016 via mobile

We were exhausted driving and couldn't find anywhere pet friendly with availability in Omaha. Releaved to find the AmericInn online we called and agreed to pay $129 + $15 fee for the dog. We walked in the lobby was dated but alright. Smelled like carpets drenched in pool water (we assumed the pool was near by). When we opened the... More 

Helpful?
Thank scarletjago
Nicky P, Manager at AmericInn Council Bluffs, responded to this review

I truly apologize for the inconvenience you faced during your stay with us regarding the smell and shower in the room. I will personally make sure the issues you mentioned in your feedback are resolved. We take pride in the cleanliness of our rooms and truly apologize for falling short of that. Please rest assure these issues will be resolved... More 

Fort Wright, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2016

This hotel worked out great for us on a motorcycle trip. Rate was reasonable, breakfast was above average, restaurant within walking distance. But what we did not expect was the great staff. Michael worked with us to get us on the first floor, let us park the bikes under the canopy and said he would keep an eye on them... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mary W
Nicky P, Manager at AmericInn Council Bluffs, responded to this review

Dear Mary, I am so thrilled to hear that you received the service we take pride in from Michael. I will pass these comments to Michael and he will be given praise for his outstanding service for you and your group. I thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to spread the good word about our... More 

Denver
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2016

This entire facility was run down and very dirty, but the feces on the toilet seat was BAAAAD. I ended up cleaning all three rooms I'd reserved because the staff couldn't do it and we needed somewhere to sleep. The staff never did anything to fix the issue even after several attempts on my part. I don't recommend this place.

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank Kenneth P
Nicky P, Manager at AmericInn Council Bluffs, responded to this review

I truly apologize for the inconvenience you faced during your stay with us regarding the cleanliness. I am holding a meeting with the staff to correct the issues you mentioned. We take pride in the cleanliness and friendliness of our staff and truly apologize for falling short of that. Please rest assure these issues will be resolved and we would... More 

Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2016

From the street this hotel looks a little less than stellar, but the room was very nice. Building seems dated until you get into a room. The bathrooms were a bit less than quality and the water in the pipes was very audible during the night but I wouldn't consider it horrendous. Air conditioning worked like a charm and that's... More 

Helpful?
Thank PandaMoor
Nicky P, Manager at AmericInn Council Bluffs, responded to this review

It was great having you as our guest and we hope to have you back as our guest again soon. We're glad that you were able to join us for breakfast and that you liked our good location close to the Omaha Zoo. Thanks for your feedback we are always working to improve for our valued guests and we look... More 

Des Moines
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2016

This hotel was inexpensive and very close to the Omaha Zoo, which is why we were staying there. The continental breakfast was excellent (as far as continental breakfasts go). There is no elevator, so be prepared to burn some calories lugging your stuff up the stairs. Our check-in time was 2 hours and 20 minutes late, which was annoying.

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank S3961NDsaraa
Nicky P, Manager at AmericInn Council Bluffs, responded to this review

I apologize about the inconvenience during your visit to Council Bluffs. We are glad that you enjoyed our great location and liked our tasty continental breakfast. We want to thank you for your patience during one of our busiest times, we work very hard to accommodate all of our guests and provide the best stay possible. We hope you had... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Council Bluffs hotels
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Crossroads of the Bluffs
BEST WESTERN Crossroads of the B...
#10 of 24 in Council Bluffs
3.5 of 5 stars 353 reviews
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Council Bluffs-Lake Manawa
Days Inn Council Bluffs-Lake Man...
#16 of 24 in Council Bluffs
3.0 of 5 stars 178 reviews
1.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Council Bluffs
Red Roof Inn & Suites Council Bl...
#15 of 24 in Council Bluffs
3.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Council Bluffs
Fairfield Inn & Suites Council B...
#11 of 24 in Council Bluffs
3.5 of 5 stars 89 reviews
3.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Council Bluffs
3.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Council Bluffs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The recently upgraded rooms at the AmericInn Council Bluffs include updated furnishings, room décor, flat screen TV’s and cozy Serta® Perfect Sleeper beds. The AmericInn Council Bluffs hotel is located off I-80, just across the river from Omaha, Nebraska. We are conveniently located near Epply Airfield, downtown Omaha, Harrah’s & Ameristar casinos, Mid-American Center, the Old Market District and the Henry Doorly Zoo. Whether you’re going on a family vacation, romantic getaway, business trip or traveling with a group, AmericInn of Council Bluffs offers great comfort and an even greater value. ... more   less 

Additional Information about AmericInn Council Bluffs

Address: 1000 Woodbury Ave, Council Bluffs, IA 51503-7915
Location: United States > Iowa > Council Bluffs
Price Range: $71 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Council Bluffs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your AmericInn Council Bluffs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay