We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wildwood Lodge

2 people are viewing this hotel
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Traveler (65)
Room & Suite (25)
Dining (4)
Certificate of Excellence


#1 of 8 hotels in Clive
Certificate of Excellence
The Wildwood Lodge Clive, a unique lodging experience, conveniently located in West Des Moines at University Avenue exit off Interstate 80/35. The Wildwood Lodge features indoor pool with a raised spa and a waterfall, all beneath a beautiful three-story atrium. No matter the reason for your visit, you will enjoy choosing from an extensive variety of room types. Thanks to our great staff and beautiful space, our hotel is a popular destination for family reunions, wedding groups and sports teams.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycles available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Free internet
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Bar / lounge
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Vending machine
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Fax / photocopying
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Air conditioning
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Good to know


Full view
62Somewhat walkable
Grade: 62 out of 100
19Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
2Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
58Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 177
  • 120
  • 40
  • 12
  • 5
Time of year
Traveler type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
This hotel rates high for great decor and hospitality. The breakfast was fresh cooked eggs and plenty of fruit and pastries to fill you up. Our room was upgraded to a king -board room suite with separate bedroom,massage recliner chair, jacuzzi tub, large bathroom with walk in shower and a half bath and kitchenette in the living area with a board room table. We weren't having any meetings- ha ha, but we arrived so late they had given away our king room. I felt like we were in the lap of luxury with 2 TVs too. The indoor swimming pool was very inviting with (fake) rock outcroppings and a large hot tub. The decor is mountain lodge rustic with canoes, bears and moose heads around the walls and large, very comfy chairs and sofas filling the main room for relaxing with friends and families. There is also an outdoor fire pit with plenty of seating - very inviting. I will stay here again.
Read more
Response from MKSparkman, Public Relations Manager at Wildwood Lodge
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi Michael, thank you so much for all of your amazing feedback and your 5-star review! We are so pleased to hear your room exceeded expectations. We look forward to you staying with us again soon!
Read more
We had a large room with a king bed that was very comfortable and generally quiet. The bathroom was also quite large with a large counter and a large "unusual" prefab shower. The water pressure and constant temperature were good, but the tattered towels need replacing. We also had a failing fluorescent light tube in the bathroom, but the maintenance man replaced it pronto. The bathroom fan was also quite noisy. Hall carpets also had issues and need to be repaired/replaced. The hotel is a bit tired throughout and thus was a bit more expensive than we believe it should have been. Breakfast was decent and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. We were given 2 drink vouchers at check-in which were interestingly redeemable only at the front desk. The outside fire pit in front of the hotel is a nice feature that was well utilized.
Read more
Response from MKSparkman, Public Relations Manager at Wildwood Lodge
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi John, thank you for all of your feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Wildwood. We hope you join us for another nights stay soon!
Read more
Have been on a 5k Roadtrip around NW USA from the UK staying in 14 different hotels. Most good and in most cases very friendly staff. Have only met one here, the receptionist, but first impressions count. Think I disturbed him from sitting in the office watching TV. Conversation and greeting was “name”, “name”, then again “name” which I told him for third time. He then shoved a key card across the desk towards me and muttered something about the elevator. When I came down to bring in luggage he was back in the office with back to reception. That has set a bad tone for my stay. Surely staff could at least greet customers. After all it is meant to be about hospitality?
Read more
Response from MKSparkman, Public Relations Manager at Wildwood Lodge
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi Ian, thank you for taking the time to review your most recent experience at the Wildwood Lodge. I'd like to apologize for the greeting and lack of service you received upon check in, as that is surely not up to our usual standards. I'm sorry that this set a bad tone, but I do hope that you enjoyed our accommodations during your stay. Please know that we take guest feedback very seriously and your comments have been shared with our management team and will be handled internally. I appreciate you bringing this to our attention and hope your road trip continues to be a success!
Read more
The hotel has a nice outdoor seating area and is in a good location. They provide an area in the lobby that is nice seating. Hotel decor just not my style but some would like-that is a preference thing. Rooms are of nice size and bed was comfy. The downside is that there was some kind of dirt(?) in my sink, a dirt smudge on my bed sheet and a funky mildew\locker room smell in the bathroom. Others I was with had some lack of cleanliness comments also; it is too bad because the hotel has some positives but can't give it a higher rating due to lack of cleanliness
Read more
Response from MKSparkman, Public Relations Manager at Wildwood Lodge
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience at the Wildwood Lodge. I'd like to sincerely apologize that the cleanliness of your room was not up to our usual standards. We take guest feedback very seriously and I'd appreciate hearing more about your stay so that we may improve moving forward. Please email me at ocronin@hoari.com with some additional details about your experience. Thank you in advance!
Read more
We stayed overnight as a family of 5. We arrived late and the front desk staff were friendly and welcoming. We received two adult drink vouchers to use during our stay. We didn’t get to use pool due to our late arrival. There is a nice outside sitting area with a fire pit. It was being well utilized by a large group. The hotel and room were clean and accommodating. We stayed in the queen bed with sofa bed room. The sofa bed was twin size and the mattress was horrible. Our son ended up putting it on the floor and on top of the cushions. The queen beds were comfortable to sleep in. Our only real complaint is that the walls seemed paper thin. We could hear the conversations of the rooms next to us. I ended up using ear plugs but my husband and son reported that the room next to us was up into the wee hours “making babies”. Shower was nice and good pressure. Toiletries were in a container in shower. Breakfast was warm and well stocked. Staff again was friendly and helpful. Based on the sleep experience, it really is probably a 3, but the staff and cleanliness made up for it for me.
Read more
Response from MKSparkman, Public Relations Manager at Wildwood Lodge
Responded Jun 14, 2019
Hi Bethany and thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback regarding your Wildwood Lodge experience - we're so happy that you had a great experience overall! We take guest comments very seriously and have shared your review with our management team to address internally. The next time you stay with us, please alert the front desk if anything about your stay does not meet or exceed expectations and we will address it immediately so that you may have the best stay possible.
Read more
$104 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
wildwood hotel clive
United StatesIowaClive
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing