We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hilltop Motel

Show Prices
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clear Lake
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Hilltop Motel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

38 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hilltop Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 38: English reviews
Dubuque
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

we have gone every summer for the last couple years and have had the best of times. The kids love to swim, it is a nice family atmosphere, and Jay and Terri are wonderful hosts. It is so nice and relaxing and close to places. The rooms are awesome with different themes.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny G
St Charles, MO
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed one night on our way to Canada on a motorcycle trip last month. Our stay at Hilltop was fantastic. If you like family owned nostalgic motels, this is your place. The owner showed this around the property when we checked in and even allowed us to put our motorcycles in her garage overnight. They have a very nice... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jeff K
travelgirlfromiowa, Owner at Hilltop Motel, responded to this review

thank you very much for the review. We look forward to your next visit to Clear Lake!! More 

Stewartville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Room was very clean and very nicely decorated. You can tell the newer owners have put lots of sweat and muscle into refurbishing this motel. Comfortable beds with very nice bedding. Owner was very pleasant and accomodating. Located directly across from the Surf Ballroom, which is what we were looking for. No driving after the show. Very reasonable price.

Helpful?
2 Thank Sue R
travelgirlfromiowa, Owner at Hilltop Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. We look forward to seeing you this summer!!! More 

Clinton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

I stayed here for a just over a week while in the area on business. The price is very reasonable, and the accommodations clean and tidy. I had the pleasure of staying in the rock n' roll room which was an added plus! Room has full sized fridge, microwave and kitchenette. The bathroom is small and the shower is tiny,... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Grant W
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

My husband surprised me with this hotel stay for our 2nd anniversary. We live in clear lake so I was aware of the hotels background. The hotel looks worse than it is on the outside. Once you get to the center pool area the atmosphere changes and has a family summer party happy setting. It was very hot when we... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank mommybear111009
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

Charming motel across the street from the Surf Ballroom where Buddy Holly, Ritchie Valens & the Big Bopper played their last shows. (If you're lucky enough to be there when the 'Bop on in and have a look around' sign is hanging on the door - you'll see that the place is pretty amazing). The motel is also across from... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank familyfour1
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We use trip advisor to find great hotels and have never been disappointed.. until now. It was dirty and needed maintenance work. The worst: there were brown smears on the toilet seat and white stains and multiple blond hairs on the bluesheets. The manager changed the sheets and washed the toilet: the replaced and cleaned items appeared OK. There were... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank chinsandfins
travelgirlfromiowa, Owner at Hilltop Motel, responded to this review

Unfortunately we were unable to satisfy this guest. After several phone calls requesting history on the motel and the smoking status of this room (we were only able to confirm smoking status back to our ownership period of 4 1/2 years) - she did finally book the room. In hindsight I should have known the motel was not going to... More 

Scales Mound, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We rented the breakfast suite, it was huge! The breakfast was the best we have ever had! From the moment we arrived we were treated like old friends! They have an awesome patio area, pool and hot tub, many extras that are not offered at the best suites at the hilton, and my wife says the pool boy is not... More 

Helpful?
Thank william d
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

Found this lovely little place while wandering through the town. Already had a room at a name-brand chain hotel for that trip, but planned to return to Clear Lake and knew we just had to stay here, next time. We've stayed twice (2009 and 2010) and we're heading back this September. Gracious hosts, friendly "neighbors", fun pool and game areas,... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank swizzlestick68
Waterloo, Iowa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

This was our first time at Clear Lake and we picked out this place based on the Trip Advisor ratings and reviews. We're a young family and had 3 kids along aged 8,6,4. We spent 2 nights at the motel. The owners are very friendly people who go out of their way to accommodate your needs. It's an old time... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bobber67
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clear Lake
1.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Clear Lake
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Holiday Lodge
BEST WESTERN Holiday Lodge
#2 of 8 in Clear Lake
4.0 of 5 stars 242 reviews
1.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Clear Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Super 8 Clear Lake
Super 8 Clear Lake
#6 of 8 in Clear Lake
3.0 of 5 stars 214 reviews
9.6 mi away
Historic Park Inn Hotel
Historic Park Inn Hotel
#1 of 8 in Mason City
5.0 of 5 stars 408 reviews
7.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mason City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
New Ownership since 2007. Family owned, operated and orientated. Some rooms with kitchenettes, outdoor grills, outdoor pool ,games, DVD library. We are the number one place in area to host your next family reunion - stop in at take a look around. The rooms are all theme decorated. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hilltop Motel

Address: 10 Allens Aly, Clear Lake, IA 50428-1325
Location: United States > Iowa > Clear Lake
Price Range: $50 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Hilltop Motel Clear Lake, Iowa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing