We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Hilltop Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clear Lake
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Hilltop Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

39 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 39: English reviews
Burnsville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Owners are on site and always willing to help in any way. They have everything one would need to spend time away. Check with them and they will let you know what they have on site for cookouts and games. Amazing all around place to stay. Look forward to returning again in 2017. Theme Rooms are fun.

Helpful?
Thank baldman2015
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2016

Our family has stayed here for years and it always delivers. It is not the Hilton and does not pretend to be, but if you can live with smaller than normal rooms, you'll find a place that is in the perfect location to walk anywhere and to be together with family and friends.

Helpful?
Thank Matt C
travelgirlfromiowa, Owner at Hilltop Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review. See you next year. More 

Urbandale, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2016 via mobile

Owners Terri and Jay have done a terrific job of creating a family friendly, cottage-type environment at The Hilltop. The pool and courtyard area with space for games, grilling, music, and casual visiting, invite guests to step back in time to a era when families went on vacation not to sit in plush rooms with lots of fancy technology but... More 

Helpful?
Thank TimPCarver
Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2015

We LOVE the hilltop for our annual family reunion. We have such a great time every year and Terry and Jay are amazing! They do everything they can to make our family time special. Next year will be our 50th annual reunion and nearly all of them have been spent at the Hilltop. The quality went WAY UP when Terry... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kris S
Oak Brook, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2015

Our recent stay (June 2015) totally met the “cottage style environment” standards advertised by this motel --- and if you stay at this lodging primarily for its location fully anticipating a stay at such an old and rustic cottage environment --- then you probably will write a good review and want to stay there again. Unfortunately, my wife and I... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank NEB44
travelgirlfromiowa, Owner at Hilltop Motel, responded to this review

We thank you for your comments and am sincerely sorry that we did not live up to your expectations. Our hotel was built in 1940 across the street from the Surf Ballroom. We advertise and design based on that era. We are NOT The Hilton and do not try to be at that level. Had I known that you were... More 

Underwood, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2015

Stayed here for years. Great staff makes you feel like family.Full size frig, real furnace, you don't have a unit blowing down on you.Full service kitchen. This is a great motel for construction workers.

Helpful?
Thank Diane K
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
166 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2014

Stayed two nights this past weekend to attend a show at the Surf Ballroom. Location for a show at the surf is ideal as the property is literally across the parking lot from the venue. Motel is a 1940's-50's type property that has each of its rooms themed. (cool) There is a common area that folks could use to gather,... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank mike h
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

This motel is great! You feel as if you are in a friend's backyard when you sit in the courtyard. The Coca Cola room is comfortable and everything you need is provided. Wish I could stay longer and hope to return.

Helpful?
1 Thank lillytee78
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I've stayed at the Hilltop every time I visit the Surf Ballroom. The location is perfect for concertgoers. This is a quaint, retro motel. It's very clean, comfortable, affordable and the staff is VERY accommodating. I recently left behind a phone charger and they mailed it back to me ... no charge. Who does that anymore? Thanks Terri

Helpful?
3 Thank rochtripper
Lanesboro, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

From the booking to the stay it was a great experience. Stayed mid Sept before the Tesla concert at the Surf. so close that we had better parking at the motel than we would have ever had at the Surf. Comfortable homie "backyard" felt like going to Gramma's house. The owners were awesome and we plan on staying the next... More 

Helpful?
Thank Parkway L
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clear Lake
1.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Clear Lake
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Holiday Lodge
BEST WESTERN Holiday Lodge
#2 of 8 in Clear Lake
255 reviews
1.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Clear Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Super 8 Clear Lake
Super 8 Clear Lake
#5 of 8 in Clear Lake
225 reviews
9.6 mi away
Historic Park Inn Hotel
Historic Park Inn Hotel
#1 of 8 in Mason City
420 reviews
7.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mason City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
New Ownership since 2007. Family owned, operated and orientated. Some rooms with kitchenettes, outdoor grills, outdoor pool ,games, DVD library. We are the number one place in area to host your next family reunion - stop in at take a look around. The rooms are all theme decorated. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hilltop Motel

Address: 10 Allens Alley, Clear Lake, IA 50428
Location: United States > Iowa > Clear Lake
Price Range: $50 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Hilltop Motel Clear Lake, Iowa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hilltop Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Never have had a bad room. Rooms are always very clean. Rooms on west side, more quieter area.”
 of 5 bubbles baldman2015, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Each is so unique, check out their website!”
 of 5 bubbles 190ericw, May 27, 2013 | Read review
“All rooms have their own theme!! If you like beer, there is a beer themed room. If you like rock and roll, you will find a rock and roll room. Lots of themes to choose from!”
 of 5 bubbles BridgetB685, Aug 23, 2012 | Read review
“Each room is unique - try a new one at each visit!”
 of 5 bubbles TheresaT181, Aug 16, 2012 | Read review
“Theme rooms.”
  • View from large window towards kitchenette
  • Kitchenette with all needed dishes and utensils
 of 5 bubbles GrantW924, Apr 17, 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question