We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hartwood Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hartwood Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

13 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 13: English reviews
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2016

I called to ask what the rate was and was given the rate (after I informed them of what date I would be staying there and how many people would be staying). While I was getting my card to book the room, after they knew what days I would be staying and after I verified the amount a 2nd time... More 

Helpful?
Thank B A
Natalia L, Owner at Hartwood Inn, responded to this review

Your review was "deleted from here" by Trip Advisor because it violated their guidelines. More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2016

$40 Bucks vs $102... Just needed a room for a couple nights. No complaints. Mgr works hard to deliver on expectation of peace, quiet and functioning room... So there are nicer hotels in the area but you'll pay for it.

Helpful?
Thank James C
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2015

I booked a room here and when I cancelled the reservation I was still charged 10% of room for the inconvenience of the cancellation. The man on the phone stated it was to pay for the credit card transaction fee. WHAT A HEIST!!!

Helpful?
2 Thank Suzette11464
Hartwood_Inn_Manager, Manager at Hartwood Inn, responded to this review

Dear Suzette11464, We end up NOT charging you for cancellation. It is true that the company whose booking engine we are using charges us 10% per every online reservation regardless whether it was subsequently cancelled or not. If our attempts at renegotiating the terms of our contract with this company are unsuccessful, we will remove the option of online reservation... More 

Travelers are raving about these Charles City hotels

Toledo, Ohio
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

Room was definately not clean. Floor, walls, bathtub, and carpets filthy. Smelled like smoke overpowering the room. Looks nothing like the pictures. We stayed one night because everything else was booked. Definately do no waste your time or money.

Helpful?
Thank Dick W
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Awful filthy room. Front desk would not answer their phone when we called from our room. Holes and stains in sheets. Filthy shower curtain. We ended up buying Lysol spray and wipes to clean the room ourselves. Had booked 2 rooms long distance for a 3 day stay. The only reason we continued to stay for the duration is because... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank coloradogirl0363
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Only room available in town and if we weren't so tierd we would have keeped driving. Room was not clean floors need steam cleaned bad, smelled a little had to check the room for bug's shower curtain was dirty, rooms looked NOTHING like the pictures, bathroom floor was gross tile chiped. Stayed in a room by the office there were... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Amana C
Marshalltown, Iowa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed here one night only because everywhere else was book within 60 miles, so we had no choice. The part of the motel that we stayed in is like the old strip type motels, where you enter your room from the road. First thing I did upon entering the room is take my husbands penlight and check the bed... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank nursekris89
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Had never been inside a room there And did not know what to expect. The only thing that could have made it nastier is bedbugs and roaches... Which I had to check to make sure there weren't! Absolutely no heat in room. Had to be about 45 degrees when we went in... Two hours later it warmed up. A nice... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ohtobeadog
Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We stayed at the Hartwood Inn for a Motorcycle Rally in a neighboring city Sept 9 & 10, 2011. Our room was so dirty and smelled of Old Cigarette Smoke and Urine the smell was so awful I kept our door open for air as much as possible. We asked for a new room but they were booked due to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Reachingforthestars
West Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We have stayed here three times now, rooms are clean not high quality sheets, but does have refrig and microwave always polite to us

Helpful?
2 Thank plk702
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

9 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charles City hotels
1.7 mi away
Sleep Inn , Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn , Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Charles City
4.0 of 5 stars 42 reviews
1.5 mi away
Super 8 Charles City
Super 8 Charles City
#1 of 4 in Charles City
4.0 of 5 stars 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Midwestern non-franchise motel. The motel has following room types: smoking rooms, non-smoking rooms, pet-friendly rooms, and wheelchair access rooms. The rooms have one queen-size and two full-size beds. The rooms have following amenities: microwave, fridge, hairdryer, coffeemaker, cable TV with over 60 channels plus HBO, and free long-distance calls within US and Canada. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hartwood Inn

Address: 1312 Gilbert St, Charles City, IA 50616-1612
Location: United States > Iowa > Charles City
Price Range: $50 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hartwood Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hartwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartwood Inn Charles City, Iowa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay