We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Super 8 Chariton

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Super 8 Chariton
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

64 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 64: English reviews
Centennial, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The only issue that we had was the humidity and the smell of mold, which I attribute to the humidity and the very high dew point.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank 423lorij
Julie M, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Chariton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. Yes, the humidity here in southern Iowa has been AWFUL and contributes to musty smells. This week we are installing new carpet in several rooms. I think that will help get it under control. We hope you will have occasion to come our way in the future. And, in the... More 

Umatilla, Florida
Level Contributor
93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2016 via mobile

I received good service and the staff was friendly, helpful and treated me well! My service dog was welcomed and I had no issues concerning my service dog! The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast food and area was well maintained! Parking was good and well lighted. I will stay here again in the future!

Review collected in partnership with HP Windows 10

Helpful?
Thank Reinhas
Julie M, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Chariton, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing us for your stay! We hope you will have occasion to visit us again as we will strive to continue to improve our service. And, in the meantime, safe travels to you! More 

Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2016

We had subpar service from the front desk. While I preferred to pay in cash, she charged my card without asking and said I could talk to her manager on monday to get a refund if I wanted. So, that wasn't a good start. Our fridge and microwave weren't plugged in, so even if we wanted to refrigerate something, we... More 

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank jennifernH2188AJ
Julie M, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Chariton, responded to this review

Thank you for alerting us to problems occurring on the weekends. Staff will be retrained in our policies. As far as refrigerators and microwaves not plugged in- that is our motel policy. As part of a "going green" initiative, appliances are unplugged when not in use. Refrigerators cool down quite quickly, so it is not usually an issue with most... More 

Travelers are raving about these Chariton hotels

Not available
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2016

Stay was ok but the breakfast was the pits. The only thing good was the waffle and it would have been better if there would have butter available.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Jerry J
Julie M, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Chariton, responded to this review

We try to make each stay excellent- unfortunately this time we missed the mark. The butter is located on the south wall next to the toaster. Lobby staff should have directed you when you asked. Retraining will definitely follow. We hope you will have occasion to stay again so we can serve you better. More 

Glen Rose
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2016

Our visit was short notice for a funeral. The staff were more than accommodating in setting up multiple family members in various rooms. The rooms were clean and quiet. The breakfast, though not a lot of variety was of good quality. The mini-waffles were unique, but we enjoyed them.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey W
Julie M, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Chariton, responded to this review

We truly appreciate you choosing Chariton Super 8 for your stay. Our staff tries really hard to provide a pleasant experience to our guests. Please accept our condolences. Hopefully you will have a chance to stay with us during happier times. And, in the meantime, safe travels to you! More 

Jefferson
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2016

We stayed at this Super 8 for two nights last week. Having grown accustomed to some pretty crummy Super 8's, I expected the same from this one. We had a death in the family and had no choice but to stay here, so I was fully prepared for the worst. To my surprise, this place was GREAT! I need to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Beckyjk
Julie M, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Chariton, responded to this review

We hope you know how much we appreciate you choosing Chariton Super 8 for your stay. It is our goal to provide a clean and quiet family environment to all of our guests. It is gratifying to know that we succeeded! Your comments will be shared with all of our staff as a confirmation that their efforts are appreciated. Guests... More 

Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2015

Only two hotels, both smelled of moth balls and stale. Beds were very uncomfortable, just a box spring and cheap mattress on a metal frame. T.V. channels would pause every other minute. Sound quality is terrible. Seemed like the floor was built on a wooden platform that bounced and made a stomping sound as you walked down the hallway. Old... More 

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank davidhX3845YK
Julie M, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Chariton, responded to this review

We are sorry your stay was unsatisfactory. You made no mention of any problems during the 7 days you stayed with us, so we were unable to do anything to make your stay better. Our tv service is supplied by an outside company. We have not experienced problems with reception, but if you did we would have been happy to... More 

Saint Louis
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2015

I checked into this motel without reservations for one night only over Labor Day weekend. I think this was my first stay at a Super 8 and I was pleasantly surprised. The property was clean and seemed well kept. The woman at the front desk [early Sunday evening] was friendly and welcoming, answered my questions and gave me directions to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Melaniemily
Julie M, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Chariton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review your stay. We are so happy you had a great stay! Our goal is to provide a clean, comfortable room with "super" customer service. Our employees take great pride in being able to do so. We hope your travels will bring you our way again. And, in the meantime, safe travels to you! More 

Chariton, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2015

The excellent staff at Super 8 Chariton made me feel at home during my stay away from my home of Orange Beach, Al. They put the Super in Super 8

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank O7727ZZmikeb
Julie M, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Chariton, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Chariton Super 8 to be your "home away from home". It has been a pleasure to have you here....we will definitely miss you. If ever you are in the area again, please know you are welcome here. In the meantime, good luck and safe travels to you! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chariton
1.2 mi away
Country Cabins
Country Cabins
#1 of 3 in Chariton
5.0 of 5 stars 25 reviews
22.9 mi away
Cobblestone Hotel & Suites Knoxville, IA
21.6 mi away
Honey Creek Resort State Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Red Carpet Motel - Knoxville
24.9 mi away
No photo provided
Blue Haven Motel
#5 of 7 in Osceola
4.0 of 5 stars 9 reviews
24.8 mi away
Super 8 Knoxville
Super 8 Knoxville
#2 of 3 in Knoxville
3.5 of 5 stars 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Super 8 Chariton

Address: 169 E Grace Ave, Chariton, IA 50049-9689
Location: United States > Iowa > Chariton
Price Range: $70 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Chariton 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Super 8 Chariton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Chariton
Chariton Super Eight
Chariton Super 8
Super 8 Chariton Iowa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay