We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Clarion Inn University Plaza

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Clarion Inn University Plaza
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

113 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 112: English reviews
Cedarburg
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel is being downrated due to city construction that is beyond the property's control. I found management to be extremely responsive to my concerns - you don't always get this level of customer service in a property.

Helpful?
Thank HolidayRoad
Sarah E, General Manager at Clarion Inn University Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback! I'm happy we were able to help! The road construction has been a headache for all involved so I can understand people's frustration. We strive to offer superior service and make all our guests feel welcomed and comfortable. I hope you will stay with us on your next visit to Cedar Falls! More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I am not snobby or picky but this is unfortunately not even close to a 3 star hotel. Shame on PriceLine and other reviews for saying this is 3 star. First, the amount of construction and dust everywhere is unfortunate. The whole street and area is a mess. This will be a lengthy construction project in the surrounding area. Hard... More 

Helpful?
Thank hostman1
Sarah E, General Manager at Clarion Inn University Plaza, responded to this review

I'm disappointed to hear that our hotel was not up to your standards. I understand the construction is an eyesore and hinders access to the building but it is no way the hotel's construction. It is city mandated road construction. We are part of the first phase of this and it is expected to be completed this fall. All of... More 

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I booked a week's stay online, as the pictures and surrounding area seemed good. Plus it was the only place that said they had a restaurant, bar, and pool with military discount. I thought this be great for our needs while visiting family. First, major construction to the point we couldn't even cross the street on foot to the shops... More 

Helpful?
Thank Regina F
Sarah E, General Manager at Clarion Inn University Plaza, responded to this review

On behalf of the entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Unfortunately the road construction is a City of Cedar Falls project and we have no control over street access. I would very much appreciate what website you saw we still featured the outdoor pool and hot tub on. We work diligently with our... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room had an odor, hot water did not work in the room that we were in, the front desk lady barged into our room, moved us to a different room, the AC did not work in that room and the hot water did not work in the new room either. Bed frames were falling apart and clanking with every motion.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sean Michael H
Richfield, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is an older property. While it has gotten upgraded in some areas it still needs some work. The security door nearest to the room I was in did not properly lock so ANYONE, not just registered guests could get in through that door. Also, the people using the pool the evening I checked in were extremely loud. Fortunately I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ted B
Sarah E, General Manager at Clarion Inn University Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I have addressed the entry door issue with my maintenance staff so that we can replace the lock; we want all of our guests to feel safe and secure. I apologize the road construction made it difficult to access the property. We are working the with the City to make... More 

Cedar Falls, Iowa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

No hot water throughout the hotel for 4 days in a row. Got moved around to 3 different rooms. None of them had hot water. Noisy a/c units. Hotel shuttle only runs until 2pm. Bathroom door would not close. It's a dump. It needs to be torn down. Hairs on the sink. Wifi didn't work. Business center computers are outdated... More 

Helpful?
Thank mihijo123
Sarah E, General Manager at Clarion Inn University Plaza, responded to this review

I am truly sorry for your disappointing stay. I cannot apologize enough for not having any hot water. Thank you for responding to my email regarding your refund. As hard as we try sometimes the odds works against us and this was one of those situations. Be assured I have also shared your review with my corporate office, housekeeping and... More 

midwest
Level Contributor
148 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel was reserved by a baseball team management company. Was supposed to stay here for two nights and checked out after one night. This hotel is horrible and disgusting. Dirt, dust and hair is everywhere. Stains on both the walls and ceiling's not only in the rooms but in the public areas as well. Honestly, I wouldn't let my dog... More 

Helpful?
Thank Midwesternmember
Sarah E, General Manager at Clarion Inn University Plaza, responded to this review

I would like to apologize for failing to meet your expectations. We strive to provide you with superior service as we know our property is older than most in our area. Please feel free to email me your name and the room you were in so I can address any issues I find. I would also appreciate your thoughts on... More 

Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were in town for a funeral, and just needed a place to sleep---last minute. What a pleasant surprise to see the very nice lobby, have a great breakfast after a good night's sleep. We would love to go back sometime!

Helpful?
Thank CINDY A
Sarah E, General Manager at Clarion Inn University Plaza, responded to this review

Dear Cindy, I happy to hear we able to accommodate you and you were comfortable. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest! We hope to see you again! More 

St.John's,Newfoundland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room I stayed in was very dated and warn out. The bathroom especially in need of a makeover. For the most part it was clean but in need of some renovations. The breakfast was cold and stale. The AC in the meeting rooms was not working. The staff was friendly and helpful. The bar was cozy and reasonably priced... More 

Helpful?
Thank sbenson11
rwalker_detroit, Corporate Director Of Revenue Management at Clarion Inn University Plaza, responded to this review

Greetings SBenson11: Thank you for your great comments regarding our staff. Our staff works very hard and we appreciate positive feedback on them. Regarding your other comments, I have gone ahead and shared your comments with our management team and we will ensure your issues are looked into. We do have renovated rooms at the property. Please be sure to... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2016 via mobile

We visited Waterloo for an all night soccer tournament my 2 daughters were playing in. My first impression, the hotel doesn't look at all like pictures. We were sent around back to unload car and enter thru a door with roomcard. Door didn't work, I pulled hard on handle and it popped right open. So much for security! Get to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Druteki
rwalker_detroit, Corporate Director Of Revenue Management at Clarion Inn University Plaza, responded to this review

Greetings Druteki: On behalf of the Management and Staff at The Clarion Inn University Plaza, I would like to apologize for the severe inconsistencies in service you experienced at our hotel. Please contact our General Manager Sarah Everett at severett@globalvisionhotels,com so that she can follow up with you. We hope to get this issue resolved as soon as possible Thank... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

70 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (56)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cedar Falls hotels
3.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cedar Falls
Hilton Garden Inn Cedar Falls
#1 of 13 in Cedar Falls
4.5 of 5 stars 311 reviews
0.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cedar Falls
1.8 mi away
The Blackhawk Hotel
The Blackhawk Hotel
#6 of 13 in Cedar Falls
4.5 of 5 stars 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Cedar Falls-University Plaza
2.3 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Cedar Falls
3.2 mi away
Super 8 Cedar Falls
Super 8 Cedar Falls
#3 of 13 in Cedar Falls
4.0 of 5 stars 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Clarion Inn® hotel offers an ideal location during your next trip to Cedar Falls. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, this Iowa hotel's central location and affordable accommodations is sure to make your stay convenient and memorable.The Clarion Inn hotel is a great place to call home during your next trip to the Cedar Falls area. With countless features and outstanding service, your stay with us is sure to be one to remember. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Clarion Inn University Plaza

Address: 5826 University Ave # 1, Cedar Falls, IA 50613-5237 (Formerly Holiday Inn Cedar Falls - University Plaza)
Location: United States > Iowa > Cedar Falls
Price Range: $74 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Inn University Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Choice Hotels and Travelocity so you can book your Clarion Inn University Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn University Plaza Hotel Cedar Falls
Holiday Inn Cedar Falls
Cedar Falls Holiday Inn
Clarion Inn University Plaza Cedar Falls, Iowa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay