We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Clarion Inn University Plaza

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Clarion Inn University Plaza
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

127 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 126: English reviews
Liberty, Missouri
Level Contributor
174 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

For 20 years this was the best Holiday Inn in Waterloo/Cedar Falls. In recent years there's a great deal more competition, however, the owners of this location have recently remodeled to make this a good value (in addition to the Choice guest program). They've closed the on-site restaurant in favor of sandwiches in the bar (evenings) and a well-stocked breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank Baldy47
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I understand it's a college town and there is wear and tear.. but with such a terrific location,WHY NOT clean,paint,and repair the rooms? Nice bar and common area. Would choose to go somewhere else because of the condition and cleanliness of rooms.

Helpful?
Thank barbara p
SarahE504, Manager at Clarion Inn University Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience... More 

Travelers are raving about these Cedar Falls hotels

Pacific Junction, Iowa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

At first the room seemed nice (except the beds looked so small) but then the view from the bathtub was disgusting. There were several short curly hairs around the base of the toilet! Then I noticed the filthy inside of the toilet and the mold around the tub handle. It was hard to recognize the nicer things about the motel... More 

Helpful?
Thank Leeann H
SarahE504, General Manager at Clarion Inn University Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience... More 

Clinton, Iowa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Cons: This place needs to be updated! Carpets are dirty, water damaged walls and ceilings, interior walls and room doors need painted, etc. Pros: Bar food is amazing! Prices are very reasonable with large portions. Bar was kept open 3 hours later than normal so we could watch the World Series. The lone Bartender was awesome and kept up with... More 

Helpful?
Thank clintoniowa
SarahE504, General Manager at Clarion Inn University Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time for your review. We value your concerns and hope to have the issues addressed in the near future. Sincerely, Sarah More 

Iowa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2016

Rooms were not updated as stated. Peeling paint, wallpaper, bathroom doors wouldn't close. At the end of breakfast, we were relaxing and chatting with friends, cleaned up our plates, tables were cleared, trying to relax, but we were asked to leave the area so they could stack chairs on top of the tables. Tried to check in, rooms were not... More 

Helpful?
Thank LongIslandIowa
Iowa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2016

waiting a LONG time before someone showed up at the front desk. rooms and hotel need to be upgraded, looks old and worn down a little. however, cleanliness was still acceptable. would stay here again if i needed a cheap place to bunk, otherwise i would stay away until they improve their services & amenities.

Helpful?
Thank Alicia K
Cedar Falls, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2016

Our class enjoyed the most wonderful weekend here at the Clarion Inn on September 16th and 17th, 2016. We had a meet and greet on Friday night and also a Saturday night buffet at the facility. From the sales manager to the wait staff, to the chef, to the desk personnel, to the maintenance personnel, they all treated us like... More 

Helpful?
Thank shellmcfarlane
Johnston, Iowa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2016

We had a total of three rooms rented for this weekend. We were in town for a wedding & found out after checking in our 2nd floor room they have no elevator. It took numerous trips to get our stuff in our room. We were getting ready for a wedding & did not want the room cleaned & when I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karol K
Sarah E, General Manager at Clarion Inn University Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. On behalf of the entire team I would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations. I'm sorry that you felt the staff was rude as that obviously is not the impression we want our guests to have. Unfortunately the property does not have an elevator and we do our... More 

Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2016 via mobile

Got here at 5:00. Told we can't check in even though check in was at 3. Told there was nothing they could do about it even though we paid full price for the rooms. The front desk staff was VERY unwelcoming and unfriendly. One of my worse hotel experiences yet. Very s Disappointed

Helpful?
Thank Kelly W
Sarah E, General Manager at Clarion Inn University Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I apologize you had to wait to check in. We housed the away team playing the University of Northern Iowa Football and they did not check out until 2pm. We do our absolute best to get rooms ready as fast as possible but unfortunately we cannot get all 115 rooms... More 

Brasstown, North Carolina
Level Contributor
92 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2016 via mobile

When I arrived, there were buckets all over the lobby, roof leaks! Property is *really worn* and obviously not properly maintained. The breakfast is very limited (don't even have decaf coffee) and fair to poor quality (eggs look like small Frisbees). Conversation and crying baby next door and in atrium are clearly audible in the room. Desk staff, especially in... More 

Helpful?
Thank GrannyOakley
Sarah E, General Manager at Clarion Inn University Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I apologize you had to experience the leaking roof. We have had some damage this summer and have a team coming in to do repairs over the next couple of weeks. I completely understand it is an eyesore and needs to be fixed as soon as possible. I'm also sorry... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

81 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (56)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cedar Falls hotels
0.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cedar Falls
3.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cedar Falls
Hilton Garden Inn Cedar Falls
#1 of 14 in Cedar Falls
350 reviews
2.3 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Cedar Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Cedar Falls- University Plaza
3.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Cedar Falls
Comfort Suites Cedar Falls
#5 of 14 in Cedar Falls
179 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Black Hawk Hotel
The Black Hawk Hotel
#6 of 14 in Cedar Falls
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Breakfast Available
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Clarion Inn® hotel offers an ideal location during your next trip to Cedar Falls. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, this Iowa hotel's central location and affordable accommodations is sure to make your stay convenient and memorable.The Clarion Inn hotel is a great place to call home during your next trip to the Cedar Falls area. With countless features and outstanding service, your stay with us is sure to be one to remember. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Clarion Inn University Plaza

Address: 5826 University Ave, Building #1, Cedar Falls, IA 50613 (Formerly Holiday Inn Cedar Falls - University Plaza)
Location: United States > Iowa > Cedar Falls
Price Range: $74 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn University Plaza 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Clarion Inn University Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn University Plaza Hotel Cedar Falls
Holiday Inn Cedar Falls
Cedar Falls Holiday Inn
Clarion Inn University Plaza Cedar Falls, Iowa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Clarion Inn University Plaza staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Clarion Inn University Plaza staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ask for a room not adjacent to the indoor pool for more quiet and less traffic”
 of 5 bubbles Baldy47, 6 days ago | Read review
“Ask for a 1st floor room.”
 of 5 bubbles karolk228, Oct 10, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room as far away from the pool area as possible.”
 of 5 bubbles 457tedb, Jul 10, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a newly renovated room and away from the main road, lots of road construction right out front.”
  • Toilet paper holder falling out of the wall
  • Was well equipped
  • Bathroom door would not close
  • Missing tile
  • Towel Rod
  • Shower Head
 of 5 bubbles sbenson11, Jun 29, 2016 | Read review
“If you don't like the smell of chlorine ask for a room away from the pool. It is much quieter also.”
 of 5 bubbles CloudPurpose, Apr 26, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay