We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Black Hawk Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
The Black Hawk Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

174 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 172: English reviews
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Interesting hotel close ("walkable") to bars, shops, and restaurants. We enjoyed our stay, despite the smokers just outside our first-floor window (room 105 of historic hotel) waking us just after midnight. They were at what appeared to be a designated smoking spot (bench and one of those just-for-cigarettes type ashtrays/butt containers.) This placed them about 10 feet from our window.... More 

Helpful?
Thank hellfisher
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Our stay was well overdue to this quaint mid west gem situated on Main Street in Cedar Falls Iowa We made last minute reservations for a little overnight get away and were luckily able to book 2 of the queen Whirlpool rooms at a fabulous rate When we arrived we were graciously greeted by the clerk who was quick witted... More 

Helpful?
Thank BJHarbach
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

What a great experience! For some background, I'm a pilot flying aerial survey, I spend 10+ hours in the air during the day, and am looking for an easy place with access to food and a good bed, all this was accomplished at the BH. Called around 5 pm and asked for any available rooms, I got the standard rate... More 

Helpful?
Thank Matt L
Platteville, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

My wife and I stayed here on vacation. I had stayed here before twice myself on business. Each time it has been a most wonderful experience, and that is coming from a road warrior who spends about 200 nights a year in various hotels. The building is a former stagecoach stop, and now is a wonderfully restored hotel with all... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ron L
tindallk, Owner at The Black Hawk Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ron: Thanks so much for your positive review. We are so glad to see that you are return guest and that your experiences have been wonderful. We hope to see you again soon! Thanks, Kathy Tindall More 

Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I can't say enough about this hotel. You feel like you have gone back in history as you stay here. The hotel is situated on Main St and you can easily walk to restaurants, pubs and shopping. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We arrived 2 hours early to check in, but the staff stopped what they were doing... More 

Helpful?
Thank Keith M
tindallk, Owner at The Black Hawk Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Keith: Thank you so much for the great review. We are glad that you had an enjoyable experience and that our staff went out of their way to accommodate your early check-in. We have a great downtown area and it sounds like you enjoyed all of its activities. Just to let you know, we have a variety of rooms... More 

Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
740 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,008 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I would stay in the main building which is a hotel but never again would go near the horrible back building which is NOT a Hotel. It is a very low grade motel in my view. I have stayed at 100's of hotels around the USA and world. This "contemporary" section of a nice historic hotel is 2 stars at... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank arizonaac
tindallk, Owner at The Black Hawk Hotel, responded to this review

Hello: We are certainly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay in our MobileDigs sister property. This property is clearly listed separately on our website "accommodations" section along with pictures of the rooms and our cover page says that we have to distinct properties. Maybe you did not read this information. Yes, the Mobile Digs is a 70's property... More 

Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2016

The Blackhawk Hotel is just wonderful. On Main Street of my hometown, I stay there every year for the Sturgis Falls Celebration because of its convenient location for all of the activities. The hotel itself is like a step back in time, not only in its appearance but the excellent service provided by the staff. The housekeeping staff is very... More 

Helpful?
Thank figbrevet
tindallk, Owner at The Black Hawk Hotel, responded to this review

Hello: Thank you so much for your great review of our hotel and we always enjoy having return guests who enjoy a great lodging experience at The BlackHawk. We work hard to maintain our property to the highest standards and we are glad that you appreciate our efforts. Hope to see you again next year at Sturgis Falls. Kathy Tindall,... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2016

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at the Blackhawk Hotel. It really is a charming hotel with comfortable accommodations. Every member of the staff that we encountered from front desk to housecleaning were extremely pleasant and helpful. The attached Soho restaurant and Martini bar were a lot of fun. Walk right out the front door of the hotel... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bryan C
tindallk, Owner at The Black Hawk Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Bryan: Thank you so much for your kind review of our property. We are always glad to know that a guest has enjoyed their stay and it is especially nice to know that our staff were friendly and helpful. We are fortunate to be able to provide a fine lodging experience is such a great and unique downtown environment... More 

Richland, Wa
Level Contributor
113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2016 via mobile

We booked this historic hotel on a recommendation from our family while we were visiting Cedar Falls - and we weren't disappointed. We stayed in the main, historic building in a third floor room with two queen beds. The room was modern and the Internet worked fine. We'll stay here again our next trip to Cedar Falls.

Helpful?
Thank OpenDoorTravelers
tindallk, Owner at The Black Hawk Hotel, responded to this review

Hello: We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay at The BlackHawk Hotel and we are so glad that you enjoyed your experience. Many of our past guests and local "friends" recommend the hotel and we are pleased that you were not disappointed. We hope to see you again on a future visit to Cedar Falls. Kathy... More 

Maple Grove, MN
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2016

Stayed one night coming through on a road trip. Room was advertised as contemporary but was really more retro. Like something out of the 60's, in not a good way. Very uncomfortable. Would not stay again. The only good thing was that it was right on main street so walking to dinner was a nice thing.

Helpful?
1 Thank tecemese
tindallk, Owner at The Black Hawk Hotel, responded to this review

Hello: Thanks for your review. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your experience. Our MobileDigs property was completely remodeled and we wanted to keep the 60's-70's "vibe" which is intentionally reflected in our furnishings and decor. Most of our guests who stay there, enjoy their lodging experience and prefer the convenience of parking right in front of their... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

87 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cedar Falls
4.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cedar Falls
Hilton Garden Inn Cedar Falls
#1 of 14 in Cedar Falls
4.5 of 5 stars 320 reviews
1.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cedar Falls
1.8 mi away
Clarion Inn University Plaza
Clarion Inn University Plaza
#9 of 14 in Cedar Falls
3.5 of 5 stars 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge and Suites Cedar Falls
3.7 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Cedar Falls
4.6 mi away
Super 8 Cedar Falls
Super 8 Cedar Falls
#3 of 14 in Cedar Falls
4.0 of 5 stars 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Black Hawk Hotel, listed on the National Trust of Historic Places, is the oldest continuously-operating hotel site West of the Mississippi. The historic building offers 27 rooms from standard accommodations to luxury suites with marble bathrooms/jacuzzi tubs and antique furnishings. A business center is also available to our guests. Adjacent to the historic hotel is our vintage Motor Lodge which offers 14 king rooms with mid-century modern style furnishings and original art. This facility includes a workout room and all the modern conveniences demanded by today's sophisticated traveler at an affordable price point. The Black Hawk occupies a prime location in the heart of Cedar Falls on Historic Main St. where all the action is...great restaurants, shops and entertainment options. We are also steps from the picturesque Cedar River with its walking and bike trails and just 5 minutes from the UNI Campus. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Black Hawk Hotel

Address: 115 Main St, Cedar Falls, IA 50613-2621
Location: United States > Iowa > Cedar Falls
Price Range: $96 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Black Hawk Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Black Hawk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Hawk Hotel Cedar Falls, Iowa
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cedar Falls
#4 Family Hotel in Cedar Falls
#6 Business Hotel in Cedar Falls
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay