We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Days Inn Cedar Falls- University Plaza

Travelocity$42*
View Deal
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
$97*
$42*
Great Deal
$43*
$43*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Days Inn Cedar Falls- University Plaza
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

363 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 362: English reviews
Start your review of Days Inn Cedar Falls- University Plaza
 Click to rate
Shell Lake, Wisconsin
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 42glena
Omaha, Nebraska
HOTEL’S FAVORITE REVIEW
Reviewed August 9, 2016

All our needs were met. The staff was helpful. Better than average breakfast included. What more could you ask for ? The location on University Ave was easy to find. But if you are coming from downtown Waterloo, be prepared for a confusing connection where the Waterloo road system connects to University Ave.

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Omaha S
About Hotel's Favorite Review
Park Forest, Illinois
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Very nice staff ND very helpful and friendly. I know they are remodeling but I booked online and was a little taken back. May be helpful to have your website inform guests of the remodeling.

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
 Report
Helpful?
Thank P3539HRteresah
Michelle B, Manager at Days Inn Cedar Falls- University Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. We will look into providing information on the website about the remodeling. We are attempting to improve the property as quickly as possible.

Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Friendly, respectful staff. Many repairs and updating would be good, but for a budget hotel, this one is definitely a fair site. Also, great central location right on University Avenue, which is where most of the shopping and restaurants are in Cedar Falls!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John P
Michelle B, Manager at Days Inn Cedar Falls- University Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate you sharing your experience. We are working to update the property. Our staff is looking for to you staying with us again so we can exceed your expectations.

Iowa City, Iowa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
 Report
Helpful?
Thank merrileef2015
Michelle B, Manager at Days Inn Cedar Falls- University Plaza, responded to this review

Cedar Falls, Iowa
Reviewed 1 week ago

By far the worst room I have stayed in! I have been staying at this hotel since before it was a Days Inn and it has steadily declined. From water marks on the ceiling and walls to the hole in the wall near the floor. It's obvious they've tried to update but this room was not ready to be sold!...

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Samara H
Michelle B, General Manager at Days Inn Cedar Falls- University Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We are working to improve the property. We work hard to ensure we exceed the expectations of our guests. We hope that when you stay with us in the future, we exceed your expectations.

Mankato, Minnesota
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Desk managers were very friendly. Room was clean, but there was a strange smell in the hall. No one called me for my 7:30AM wake up call.

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Don M
Michelle B, General Manager at Days Inn Cedar Falls- University Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. We apologize you did not receive your wakeup call. We are happy that most of your stay was pleasant. Please, whenever you are having an issue while you are staying with us let us know so we can resolve the issue you are having. We hope you will stay with...

South Dakota, USA
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel needs a lot of repair. Seems like some renovations are underway but if so, they appear to be done kind of shoddy. Walls are dirty or scuffed. I think it's cleaned as well as it can be but due to disrepair, still seems dirty and dingy. No pool.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GGtraveler10
Michelle B, General Manager at Days Inn Cedar Falls- University Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. We apologize you did not enjoy your stay. You are correct, we are working to update the hotel. We are in the process of installing new hvac systems. Please visit again when you are in the area so you can experience a pleasant stay when the renovations have been completed.

Hudson, Wisconsin
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Sometimes you only get what you pay for. We got a great rate but the room was a big disappointment. There was a piece of dry wall over a cut out in one wall, cement chunks on the floor near the cut out, a bottle cap and cigarette wrapper on the floor, concrete dust on multiple surfaces, I wont' keep...

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
 Report
Helpful?
Thank charlenes576
Michelle B, General Manager at Days Inn Cedar Falls- University Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We apologize for the condition of the room due to the installing of the hvac systems. We will also do much better job of verifying the floor is clean. We hope that you will give us another chance when you are...

Manassas, Virginia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I did not use my laptop because the internet was open (not secure), which is a security risk. Bathroom: mold in the ceiling and under the bathtub faucet. Mold on adjacent wall of the sink. Maid service is not everyday (bed not made, trash not emptied). Did not feel secure. Electrical wires exposed. The place needs to be completely renovated....

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 583bettieh
Michelle B, General Manager at Days Inn Cedar Falls- University Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. When staying with us please notify us of any disappointments so we can work to resolve them while you are staying with us. We are working to resolve the issues. A new hvac system has recently been installed and we are currently working to finish that project so we can...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cedar Falls hotels
0.1 mi away
Clarion Inn University Plaza
Clarion Inn University Plaza
#10 of 14 in Cedar Falls
136 reviews
3.2 mi away
Super 8 Cedar Falls
Super 8 Cedar Falls
#2 of 14 in Cedar Falls
553 reviews
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cedar Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Cedar Falls
1.8 mi away
The Black Hawk Hotel
The Black Hawk Hotel
#7 of 14 in Cedar Falls
195 reviews
3.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Cedar Falls
Comfort Suites Cedar Falls
#6 of 14 in Cedar Falls
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Days Inn Cedar Falls- University Plaza

Address: 5924 University Ave, Cedar Falls, IA 50613-5266
Location: United States > Iowa > Cedar Falls
Price Range: $48 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Cedar Falls- University Plaza 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Cedar Falls- University Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Cedar Falls-University Plaza Hotel Cedar Falls
Cedar Falls Days Inn
Days Inn Cedar Falls- University Plaza Iowa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Days Inn Cedar Falls- University Plaza staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Days Inn Cedar Falls- University Plaza staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“check your beds before spending the night!!!”
aliciaf784, Oct 26, 2016 | Read review
“Go next door. It might be more expensive but it is worth the extra money.”
Kim37872, Feb 8, 2016 | Read review
“Not Room 266”
  • Unknown substance on room wall
  • Marks on room wall
  • Missing piece of painted plaster wall underneath sink basin
  • Debris in seat with cushion removed
  • Main inside room door w/ malfunctioning handle
  • Bathroom inside door knob partially on, lock inoperative
  • Inoperative inside bathroom door
  • Mold on bathroom ceiling
patjodig, Nov 8, 2015 | Read review
“Good luck - don't stay here!”
CBjack, Nov 8, 2015 | Read review
“Pick a different Hotel!”
VinceRose66, Feb 13, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Travelocity
$42* /night
View Deal
Booking.com$43
TripAdvisor$43
AMOMA$97
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates