We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Howard Johnson Burlington

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Burlington
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

521 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 519: English reviews
Barrie, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Thank you the owners and the staff of Howard Johnson , Burlington, Iowa.j we were there for three nights for a wedding. It was the most comfortable place to stay, very clean rooms and very friendly staff. The owners were very friendly and approachable. Our kids had a blast in the swimming pool . Would definitely go there again

Helpful?
Thank Hanamatata
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

A fantastic hotel All around. Great, staff, great rooms, tiki bar and the bartender was great, and an amazing pool. Hotel and rooms are well kept, neat and clean. Visited with my entire family and stayed for 4 nights. Can't wait to be back, next time will be staying for over a week.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Carthage
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The mattresses are 100 years old. They have a dip in them in the middle, very uncomfortable. The rooms smelled moldy! The pool area was beautiful, wish the rooms had been that nice. Not impressed, actually embarrassed that I had the entire wedding party and guests book there.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Bobbi C
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Beautiful hotel clean and well maintained good customer service ,good food and we all enjoyed it nice tourist spot good shopping mall, casino pool table in the hotel swimming pool hot pool spa it was so relaxing

Helpful?
Thank rukyp778
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

It was a family Vacation trip and I think we picked the perfect place, very clean and friendly staff. It has an indoor open concept pool area where the kids would play and have fun. There is lots of things to do around the hotel like the casino, fun city, water parks and shopping plazas. The rooms are nice and... More 

Helpful?
Thank akanji5
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went to the hotel for a family gathering and it was very practical! The kids would play in the pool, putt putt or billiards and unlike other hotels, we could be able to sit and have social gatherings. The hotel is the best place for a wedding too and the set up and food and entertainment was amazing. It was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sara A
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Howard Johnson is not on my list of places to stay, however on a recent trip, better hotels were booked up for the days that we would be there. We were put in the "motel" section, where transient workers live with their chairs and BBQ grills on the patios. The furniture was from the 70s and the room reeked of... More 

Helpful?
Thank luziana64
Peoria, Illinois
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Definitely not what I was expecting . Not very clean or nice. Walls in the rooms and doors were dirty. Bathroom and bathtub dirty with the tube having burn holes on it.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank 763deannar
Oskaloosa, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The pool had no water in it. The bed frame actually sliced open my sons' friend's leg requiring 8 stitches. There is excuse was the bed frames that fit the beds were on back order. Do not stay at this hotel!

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Breeze85
Karen S, Manager at Howard Johnson Burlington, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We strive to offer our guests a great experience while staying here. I apologize that during this visit our pool was down. Unfortunately we had a guest who chose to damage the pool and unexpectedly we had to drain it and do some repairs. This was out of our control. It is up and running... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

56 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (36)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burlington
0.2 mi away
Catfish Bend Inn & Spa
Catfish Bend Inn & Spa
#1 of 11 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 stars 121 reviews
2.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Burlington
Comfort Suites Burlington
#2 of 11 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 stars 107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 11 in Burlington
3.5 of 5 stars 38 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Burlington
23.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mt. Pleasant Inn
BEST WESTERN Mt. Pleasant Inn
#1 of 5 in Mount Pleasant
4.0 of 5 stars 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on 61 North and Mt. Pleasant St (Rte 34), the Howard Johnson Burlington is next door to the Catfish Bend Casino and Burlington Bees Stadium and close to Fun City Family Water Park. In addition to our friendly staff and top notch service, you will find 2 indoor heated swimming pools, a hot tub/whirlpool, 4 large banquet halls for weddings, meetings and parties. Our Poolside weddings are unique. We provide full catering services. We have a Tiki bar and Lounge. All our guest rooms have flat screen 32 inch LCD TVs with Free HBO, Microwaves and Refrigerators. We offer Complimentary Breakfast, Free High Speed Wireless Internet Access. Our Bridal and Honeymoon suite is a beautiful addition with Jacuzzi and a 40 inch LCD HDTV. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Burlington

Address: 2759 Mount Pleasant St, Burlington, IA 52601-2137
Location: United States > Iowa > Burlington
Price Range: $75 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Burlington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Howard Johnson Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Burlington Hotel Burlington
Howard Johnson Burlington Iowa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay