We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Mason House Inn and Caboose Cottage

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Mason House Inn and Caboose Cottage
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

34 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 34: English reviews
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've stayed at the Mason House Inn many times in many different rooms. All of the rooms are clean and beautifully decorated. Chuck and Joy make a fantastic breakfast, and they will tell you everything you want to know about the history of the inn, including the resident spirits. I have had personal encounters with the spirits at Mason House... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie R
BnBsAreGreat, Owner at Mason House Inn and Caboose Cottage, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review! We love when you visit us! More 

Waverly
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at the Mason House Inn again while visiting family in the area. Delicious food as usual, comfortable stay, and terrific hosts! We even got to see a spinning wheel that belonged to the Mason family that was brought back to the inn. There is so much to see and so much history in this house!

Helpful?
Thank seamstresszookeeper
BnBsAreGreat, Owner at Mason House Inn and Caboose Cottage, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review! You and your family always bring such joy to our hearts! More 

Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very nice hotel (with some uninvited guests. It's haunted!), Very unique and the rooms are comfortable. Joy serves a wonderful supper and breakfast along with lots of interesting stories. Be sure to go across the nearby bridge and take pictures at night! We'll be back!

Helpful?
2 Thank William N
BnBsAreGreat, Owner at Mason House Inn and Caboose Cottage, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review! We do have some friendly spirits, but nothing scary. We do suppers on occasion, not on a daily basis, when we have special events here. We look forward to seeing you again! More 

Des Moines, Iowa, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I surprised my husband and we stayed in the Caboose in the dead of winter (off season) and were welcomed very warmly by the owners. The caboose is so well put together and a fun experience. Although we were the only ones there that weekend, breakfast was served to us, it was delicious and the owners were a delight to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Bethany B
BnBsAreGreat, Owner at Mason House Inn and Caboose Cottage, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review! You guys are so wonderful! More 

Baxter, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have stayed at the Mason 24 times the 25th will be in November! Chuck and Joy are delightful and very welcoming. The nicest people you will ever meet. Everytime we have stayed the place has been clean. I have never had a problem or been disappointed when I stayed at Mason. I would guess neither will you

Helpful?
1 Thank marissazachmom
BnBsAreGreat, Owner at Mason House Inn and Caboose Cottage, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review! We always enjoy your visits with us! More 

missouri
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I would not be reviewing your lodging if you were not trying to put words in my mouth. Never once did you mention taking our reservation was going to be an inconvenience for you to accommodate us. Nor did you say anything about the number of towels, and that there would be no housekeeping. We did agree upon a $5... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank iairis
BnBsAreGreat, Owner at Mason House Inn and Caboose Cottage, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. I wish you had said something at the time and I would have stopped your card charge if you cancelled right away. If it was so deplorable, why did you stay two days? I stayed in a motel in Louisiana once that was full of roaches. Never would I trash their... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in the Caboose on two separate occasions, once in the winter months and also during the summer. What a great place to get away! We had heat and air conditioning as needed, soft bed, WiFi, satellite tv, our own kitchenette and bathroom, and a beautiful view of the park and river. It was peaceful and relaxing.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca S
BnBsAreGreat, Owner at Mason House Inn and Caboose Cottage, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review! We always enjoy seeing you and your family! You bring such joy to our lives! ♥ More 

Louisville, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2016 via mobile

I have been traveling to the Mason House four times a year since 2005 and look forward to every trip. Joy and Chuck are always super friendly and accommodating. The Inn is always well maintained and clean and the food is to die for! I love all of the historic rooms but my favorite is the caboose! I'm already looking... More 

Helpful?
Thank Christopher M
BnBsAreGreat, Owner at Mason House Inn and Caboose Cottage, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review! We always enjoy your visits with us! More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2016

My Mother and I had planned on staying at another location in Bentonsport, but the owners of that accommodation had a family emergency so we had to find another location with less than a days notice. We decided on the Caboose as we wanted something with a kitchenette since we were bringing our own breakfast. The owner of the Caboose... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie H
BnBsAreGreat, Owner at Mason House Inn and Caboose Cottage, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not enjoy your visit with us. What I am hearing is that you did not want to be here in the first place. The place you wanted cancelled on you. When your mother made the reservation I told her we had plans and were not taking any guests that day, but she sounded so desperate... More 

Iowa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2016

We stayed in the famous Caboose Cottage over Father's Day weekend. I would have liked to give the experience a 5 star but only one thing held us back...not very clean. The experience with Joy and Chuck was great. The two breakfasts we had that weekend were great. The view of the Des Moines River and town was superb! Just... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank RadiatorMan
BnBsAreGreat, Owner at Mason House Inn and Caboose Cottage, responded to this review

We checked all the windows and saw no lipstick anywhere. The backyard is overgrown for a reason. It gives the chickens someplace to hide from hawks and eagles. I would rather you didn't explore back there.. Stressed chickens don't lay eggs. There are plenty of nice places to explore in town, such as the Rose Garden. Yes, the place is... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Built in 1846, this antique hotel is full of original antiques. A little off the beaten path, but well worth the trip. See our web site for directions. Caboose Cottage is a real railcar. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mason House Inn and Caboose Cottage

Address: 21982 Hawk Dr, Bentonsport, IA 52565-8260
Location: United States > Iowa > Bentonsport
Price Range: $59 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mason House Inn and Caboose Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Mason House Inn and Caboose Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mason House Inn And Caboose Cottage Bentonsport, Iowa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay