We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Express South Bend / Notre Dame

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express  South Bend \/ Notre Dame
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

123 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 122: English reviews
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in South Bend last weekend for the ND game. It was at premium rate, but so are all hotels. Great front desk staff, and they had snacks all set up in the lobby on Friday and Saturday night. We had football cookies decorated in team colors in our room with two bottles of water--it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paula M
Management response:

Dear Paula M, Thank you so much for staying with us and for sharing your great experience with the Tripadvisor World. We are getting a lot of great feedback about our new rooms and we thank you for mentioning. We will check into getting a step stool for you so in the future your mother and others that may find...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed September 26, 2016

We booked to be close to ND...kind of a sketchy neighbourhood. Rooms were good, but a little musty smelling. Beds were comfy. Breakfast was typical...OJ was terrible! Tasted like it was watered down tang. Staff pleasant enough. Nothing remarkable, that I would have to go back. Probably will try the Hampton Inn next time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa R
Management response:

Thank you so much for staying with us, we appreciate your business. I am so sorry about the musty smell you encountered, not sure what caused that, since we just completed a total renovation with all new carpets, fixtures, furniture, and beds! We do hope you'll give us a second chance and please know all information will be used to...

Stoughton, Massachusetts
Reviewed September 12, 2016

IHG's website did not properly disclose the rate restriction and charged a non-refundable deposit equal to the two-night minimum rate about a month before I stayed. I spoke wth the GM to question the charge and he was very polite, but still charged it. Other than that the location was very convenient to campus. Breakfast buffet was very good Friday...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rich P
Management response:

Dear Richard P, We thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express near Notre Dame, in the heart of beautiful South Bend IN. I apologize for the misunderstanding regarding your reservation and appreciate your patience. Just as a reminder though, the reservation screen when making a reservation on our website, does show you in three different spots the cancellation and...

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed September 2, 2016

Traveling thru indiana. Middle of the night with no reservation. Found this hotel and was glad they had rooms. Just expected the "norm" for Holiday Inn, but was pleasantly surprised. Ultra modern room. Very spacious and comfortable and clean! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend anyone to stay here. Very Good Job!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PLRTraveler
Management response:

Dear PLRTraveler, Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us, it is refreshing to read that you loved our renovation so much. We are pretty excited about it too and appreciate your review to tell all of our future traveler's how great the rooms are so THANK YOU!

Prairie Home, Missouri
Reviewed August 26, 2016

It was noisy, but we travel with a box fan, so we managed to sleep. The hotel is decorated in a sparse, modern look, but was appealing. The breakfast was good and the staff was friendly. They were not very helpful about local attractions because they didn't know the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katherine a
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Bend / Notre Dame, responded to this review

Dear katherine a, Thank you for staying with us and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased that you liked our breakfast and found our staff friendly, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. I am sorry for the noise and...

Eagan, Mn
Reviewed August 3, 2016

The room was clean, spacious, and had everything we needed for a restful visit. The mattresses were very comfortable and it was quiet. The hot breakfast in the morning was good. It's very conveniently located just off I-80.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary P
Management response:

Dear Mary, Yes, as a brand, we are world renowned for our soft and comfy mattresses and bedding packages. We are so glad you noticed and hope your travels find you in our neck of the woods again sometime soon!

Reviewed August 1, 2016 via mobile

This is by far the worst hotel I've ever stayed at, was here for the LL state tournament and the 2 night desk attendants were extremely rude, and very disrespectful, obviously they were miserable with life, was lied to when trying to book a room when using my rewards points was told they were sold out, then my wife called...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aaron B
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Bend / Notre Dame, responded to this review

Dear Aaron B, Thank you for staying with us recently and for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. It is regrettable that the overall level of service you have received did not live up to your expectations. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. Please allow us to follow up on your concerns...

Reviewed July 30, 2016 via mobile

As a family with 2 teenagers and a 10 yr old it is hard to find a hotel that can accommodate all of us comfortably. This Holiday Inn was perfect. There was a separate room (with a door) with a king bed for my husband and I, and then another king bed and a sleeper sofa for our three kids....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tbeaman5
Management response:

Dear Tbeaman5, We love big families staying with us! Didn't you see all the hot goodies at breakfast? If your kids are like mine, they probably dove right in! ha ha. Seriously though, you can request that same room at time of booking next time and we'll get you set up in it if it's available. All the best until...

Fort Mitchell, Kentucky
Reviewed July 19, 2016

I stayed here on July 18th. I was visiting family in the area. Everyone was nice. Everything you need is in the area. There is a gas station next door. That is good if you need anything. Even filling up your car. The room was very clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank krgr3
Management response:

Dear Krgr3, Yes, we agree! Not only are we newly renovated but conveniently located as well, we couldn't have said it better ourselves, we really appreciate your excellent feedback. Safe travels until next time!

Reviewed July 17, 2016

This is a very nice Holiday Inn Express, I wish I had more to share but my family and I were traveling and got in around 2am and were out by 7 so didn't have much time to enjoy it. Helpful Tip....When we went in June much of South Bend was under some kind of road construction so it made...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dan S
Management response:

Dear Dan S, Although you didn't have much time, we are glad you were able to appreciate your surroundings with our plush pillow top mattresses and linens, we know you slept like a baby. Please come back again when you can stay a while. Have a great day!

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Bend hotels
0.5 mi away
Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites South Bend
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham South Bend/At Notre Dame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites South Bend - University Area
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
Hilton Garden Inn South Bend
#3 of 29 in South Bend
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located just one mile from the University of Notre Dame, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites offers the perfect blend of luxury, affordability and selection in lodging. Built in 2005, our hotel features 85 impeccably designed guestrooms including one king or two queen beds as well as corporate-leisure, family, executive, and jacuzzi suites. As our guest, you will enjoy all the comforts of home right in your hotel room. All standard guestrooms and suites feature upgraded amenities such as free high-speed internet, hairdryer, iron/ironing board, coffeemaker, refrigerator, microwave, an oversized and well-lit work desk as well as a 32 inch flat screen television. The Stay Smart Experience featured in each guestroom includes incredibly plush and comfortable bedding and exclusive bathroom amenities such as Kohler showerheads offering extra water pressure. Our hotel also features an indoor heated pool and spa, fitness center, a business center, and conference facilities. Plus, jump start your day with our complimentary Express Start Breakfast Bar served daily in our breakfast room from 6:00AM untill 9:30AM. Conveniently located off the 80/90 toll road, Business 31/933, and central to area's major business districts and local attractions, we are your gateway to the South Bend and Mishawaka Area. Whether your travels bring you for business, leisure, or to cheer on your favorite sports team, our hotel is your best choice for lodging when visiting South Bend, Indiana. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express South Bend / Notre Dame

Address: 120 N Dixie Way, South Bend, IN 46637-3306
Location: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Price Range: $96 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express South Bend / Notre Dame 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express South Bend / Notre Dame reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express South Bend / Notre Dame Hotel South Bend
Holiday Inn South Bend
South Bend Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express South Bend / Notre Dame staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express South Bend / Notre Dame staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Bring febreeze or a candle...not sure if it was musty, or needed a deep cleaning.”
 of 5 bubbles LisaR715, Sep 26, 2016 | Read review
“Great hotel, nice staff :)”
 of 5 bubbles ebandkidz2, May 23, 2016 | Read review
“We stayed on the 3rd floor and had no noise from anyone else staying at hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles marybZ9120YR, May 22, 2016 | Read review
“Smile! Be mirthful and jocular with the front desk staff.”
 of 5 bubbles GReatTraveler0128, Apr 20, 2016 | Read review
“Make sure there is enough light for your needs.”
 of 5 bubbles HershB_13, Nov 11, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay