We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Candlewood Suites South Bend Airport

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Candlewood Suites South Bend Airport
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

62 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 61: English reviews
Rochester, Minnesota, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is a tired hotel and certainly not up to Candlewood's normal standards. Quite disappointed. Room smells and it is my second one. Carpets worn and the place just needs renovations to be done. I'll stick out but won't be returning here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 140NightPerYr
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites South Bend Airport, responded to this review

Dear 140NightPerYr, Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to write a review. I truly regret that you found our hotel to be tired, rooms smelly and carpets to be worn and needing renovation. Your feedback is instrumental for us to upgrade what we can offer to our valued guests to achieve 100% guest satisfaction. I...

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Candlewood suites are not the luxury brand of IHG but they are possibly the best value. At ~&100/night for a big room with full size refrigerator, microwave, and dishes it's a great value if you have to stay any period of time for work. If you are on a budget with the family it's perfect. If you want a luxury...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tom r
Londonderry, New Hampshire
Reviewed October 22, 2016

Stayed 10/14-10/15 for a Notre Dame Football game. And like all hotels in the area the price tripled for game weekends. I won't rate it based on the $300 a night rate because it would fall far short. I view all hotel stays as a "bed to crash in" so I'm not too particular. The room was typical. I will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fantavet
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites South Bend Airport, responded to this review

Dear Fantavet, Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. I am happy that you found our front staff helpful. However, it is regrettable that your stay was affected with the water pressure. I have forwarded your comments to our hotel management and maintenance department for us to assist you better in the future. Thank you for...

Grove City
Reviewed October 19, 2016

I rated this property as average because for a 2 1/2-star property it really is not that much better than a 2 star. I have stayed in 2 other Candlewood suites in the last two months and both were superior to the one in South Bend. The layout seemed the same but the size of the room was smaller in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank weasels2
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites South Bend Airport, responded to this review

Dear weasels2, We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We would like to apologize for the overall dissatisfaction you had experienced and for falling short of your expectations during your stay. It is certainly not our intent to inconvenience our valued...

Indiana
Reviewed October 19, 2016

Not the nicest hotel but it probably would have been acceptable if it weren't for the horrible smoke smell. This property is supposed to be smoke free but the room smelled terrible. I am assuming one of the rooms next to us had a smoker because the smoke smell would come and go. Decent for the price, the 3rd floor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank T H
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites South Bend Airport, responded to this review

Dear T H, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for staying with us. Our goal is to consistently provide superior accommodations but it is unfortunate that we fell below standards on this occasion due to the unusual smell and conditions you experienced during your stay. Please be assured that necessary steps will be taken to...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed October 14, 2016

I booked through my business's travel agency, who has a contract with the chain. I arrived late at night and was initially given a room that smelled like cigarette smoke. The front desk assured me that all rooms are non-smoking but did move me to a room that was labeled "no smoking". That room smelled better, but still had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy665
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites South Bend Airport, responded to this review

Dear Jimmy665 , Thanks for staying with us for your business needs and for the feedback on your recent stay with us. I’m very pleased to hear that you appreciated our comfortable bed, clean room, water pressure in the bathroom and level of service provided by our hotel staff. However, I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience that you have highlighted...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed October 8, 2016

This one was quite an experience. We were in the area from Chicago for a wedding in Laporte the next night. We ran into some unfortunate situations that this website is not the place to express those. We have talked to Management and they are dealing with the issues. Other than those issues we had the rest of the stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bruce G
New York City, New York
Reviewed August 19, 2016 via mobile

Booked two rooms for family.The smell of smoke on second floor which was a non smoking floor! This is not a full service c hotel so no room is made up each day.For $250 would expect more..no wake up call received, smelly and disgusting carpets. IHG should be embarrassed to have this property in their profile.Oh, front desk said sorry...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Thomas H
Cricket B, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites South Bend Airport, responded to this review

Thank you Thomas H for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It is our goal to always exceed our guest’s expectations and I’m very sorry to hear that was not the case with you and your family. We thank you for being IHG members and apologize that the room you were placed in was not up...

Martinsville IN
Reviewed July 25, 2016

The most important aspect of this hotel for us is that Candlewood hotels are very pet friendly. This hotel also was in a good location for our activities on this trip. Another very positive aspect was that both the front desk receptionist and the manager were exceptionally friendly and helpful during our four-day stay. We had a king-bed "suite" which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JCR059
Cricket B, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites South Bend Airport, responded to this review

We want to thank you for considering Candlewood Suites-Airport for your recent stay. We are sorry to hear our hotel didn't fit all of your needs, your opinion is important to us. Our IHG brand does not provide a full breakfast, but we do have a Cupboard that offers many different instant foods for our guests. We also have a...

Dayton, United States
Reviewed June 14, 2016 via mobile

Typical Candlewood that isn't fantastic but they provide what you need. Room size is decent and the layout is nice. The location to the airport is ideal for pilots but not receiving breakfast/meals is a negative. I only stayed one night and it fit all my needs although if it wasn't being paid for by the company, I'd most likely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kyle V
Gretchen B, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites South Bend Airport, responded to this review

We want to thank you for considering Candlewood Suites-Airport for your recent stay. We are sorry to hear our hotel didn't fit all of your needs, your opinion is important to us. Our IHG brand does not provide a full breakfast, but we do have a Cupboard that offers many different instant foods for our guests. We also have a...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Bend hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 29 in South Bend
101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn South Bend
Sleep Inn South Bend
#8 of 29 in South Bend
126 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel South Bend
3.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham South Bend/At Notre Dame
3.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites South Bend - University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
South Bend Hotel Features Great Location and Deluxe Amenities. Welcome to the Candlewood Suites South Bend Airport, centrally located in South Bend, Indiana. Our extended stay hotel is conveniently located near both I-80 and I-90 and the South Bend Regional Airport (SBN). Leisure travelers enjoy the numerous attractions that are close to our hotel, including the world-renowned University of Notre Dame that is just a short four mile drive. Other local attractions close to the hotel include the South Bend Chocolate Factory-5 mi, the Studebaker National Museum-3 mi, University Park Mall-10 mi, the Potawatomi Zoo-12 mi, and downtown South Bend- 2 mi. Our South Bend hotel's location is ideal for corporate housing. Businesses within five miles of the hotel include South Bend Memorial Hospital, Eaton Corp, FedEx, Honeywell and the U.S. Army Reserve. The South Bend Convention Center is also just a few miles from our hotel in downtown South Bend. Guests lodging in our hotel can enjoy a cozy extended stay. Our hotel's amenities include fully equipped kitchens (including full size refrigerators, microwave, stove top, toaster, coffee maker, dishes and cookware),fitness center, free high-speed wireless Internet access, a 24-hour Candlewood Cupboard convenience store, Lending Locker, complimentary laundry services, gazebo and grill area. On your next visit to South Bend, whether for an extended stay or relocation, discover our great South Bend hotel's deals. We'll welcome you home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites South Bend Airport

Address: 3916 Lincoln Way W, South Bend, IN 46628-1247
Location: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Price Range: $96 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites South Bend Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, IHG, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Candlewood Suites South Bend Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in South Bend
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Candlewood Suites South Bend Airport staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Rooms farther away from the reception area seem to be quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles JCR059, Jul 25, 2016 | Read review
“Have some rooms that are not suites, but like the suites better. They are pet friendly.”
 of 5 bubbles 154lawrencef, Jan 3, 2016 | Read review
“Pick the top floor. Quiter.”
 of 5 bubbles 640MikeS, Jan 25, 2015 | Read review
“Check the actual room before you carry all your bags to the room and settle. We were able switch rooms in the hotel with the same king bed because our preference on room location. Higher floors would have less noise, of course.”
 of 5 bubbles Rsuhbo, Sep 27, 2014 | Read review
“If you need something special call the management ahead to make sure it is held for you. If you are booking through one of the many booking sites rooms are taken first come, first served. We booked a two queen sized bed room but when we arrived we were told there were only king sized beds left. Two adults and two kids plus 7 hours of driving -- I want my own bed. We asked if there was any way to change this and management took over and did some fancy shuffling and we had a two bed room. Management and staff were very friendly and helpful.”
 of 5 bubbles 95ty, Sep 2, 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay