We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Hometown Inn & Suites

1139 W US Highway 30, Schererville, IN 46375-1554
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hometown Inn & Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

13 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 13: English reviews
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2016 via mobile

Terrible management! THE FRONT DESK MAN WAS TERRIBLE! Me and my boyfriend needed a place to stay and we asks for non smoking, he said he didn't have any and that the smoking rooms don't smell. He did not show us or let us see the room. We paid and went up. I smelled the room and thought I was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mackenzie P
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2016

This Hometown Inn was absolutely disgusting. Before I went to sleep, I checked the bed just incase. I found 20+ different pieces of hair throughout the bed, all different shapes, sizes, and colors. It was like they didn't clean their sheets in weeks. Lets just say I did not end up sleeping there that night and they had no other... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bob T

Travelers are raving about these Schererville hotels

Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2015 via mobile

This is by far the worst place I have ever stayed they are very rude. First they tell me I can have people here till 12 then they told me 10, and then 9:30 and when I asked her why the times keep changing she basically called me a liar and said she told me 9:30, this place is disgusting,... More 

Helpful?
Thank jake1997777777718
Hammond
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

I check in for a week stay on day three noticed a bug on my pillow went to get the owner and show her they stripped my bed and offered to switch my room. I said no thank you it was a bed bug I contacted health department also ask for my money back they said they would give a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Patrickd1965
Kal D, Manager at Hometown Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Very False Review.. Since our hotel has "no refund" on extended stay rate, guest used this to get full refund back after staying 4 nights. But we still offered initially to issue a partial refund but guest demanded a full so our hotel got a unfair review. But for precaution not only did we inspect but we called in expert... More 

Linton, Indiana
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We checked in early because we were on our way to Chicago and weren't sure how late we would return. When we did return, we found that only one lamp in the room worked. We obtained some light bulbs from the front desk and then found that one lamp had a short circuit. The room was fairly clean, but not... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank thwilliams
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel is family owned and operated. They have no huge advertising, no fancy amenities like the national chains. The prices are lower. No free continental breakfast. (Have you ever had a decent continental breakfast in a hotel?) There are many places nearby that serve breakfast anyway. The room I stayed in was nice & clean. They do charge you... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank David G
Schererville
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed here on NYE. Booked a tub room, upon entering the room, noticed that were no towels, had to ask the front desk for them. Next, noticed thet the smoke alarm had the battery removed, if you're trying to be slick, at least put the cover back on. The straw that broke the camels back was the ice machine being... More 

Helpful?
Thank Batsugan
Schererville, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Absolutely HORRIBLE!!! Worst hotel I have ever been in! A few hours into our stay we found a black bug crawling around on the pillow! GROSS! The room was not nice at all. Lamp didn't work. Very dirty. After we noticed the bug we decided we were not staying in that hotel and went to the front desk for a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Chasidy H
Kal D, Manager at Hometown Inn & Suites, responded to this review

I apologize for any inconvience on your stay, however since we can check out the room at that time we did check the room myself the next day but we took it step forward and called our third party pest control expert and even they did not find anything. Like as we said if we find anything we would have... More 

Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I was in town for a family function and three rooms were booked by myself and other members of my family, all adults. We showed up 20 minutes after check-in time and there was no one at the check-in desk, so we rang a bell. After several minutes of waiting, we rang the bell again. We allowed another several minutes... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Stacey C
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

This hotel is the worst hotel I have ever been in. It's filthy and just plain terrible. About 8 hours into my stay my girlfriend and I noticed there were bugs in our bed. We told the person at the front desk and he decided to give us a room next door to the one we were already in! We... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler o
Kal D, Front Office Manager at Hometown Inn & Suites, responded to this review

We are sorry for your inconvenience. I have looked into this issue and we even call our pest control the day after to find out there was no pest of any kind was found in that room. I can assure you we keep our hotel clean and pest free as we do regular maintaince on our entire hotel. Again apologize... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schererville
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Schereville North
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Schererville
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Crossroads Inn
BEST WESTERN Crossroads Inn
#4 of 6 in Schererville
4.0 of 5 stars 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Schererville
Staybridge Suites Schererville
#3 of 6 in Schererville
4.0 of 5 stars 39 reviews
5.7 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Southeast/Hammond, IN
8.3 mi away
Quality Inn Merrillville
Quality Inn Merrillville
#17 of 22 in Merrillville
3.0 of 5 stars 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Concierge

Additional Information about Hometown Inn & Suites

Address: 1139 W US Highway 30, Schererville, IN 46375-1554
Location: United States > Indiana > Schererville
Price Range: $98 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hometown Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hometown Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay