We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort

Save
Share
78 N Holiday Blvd, Santa Claus, IN 47579-8500
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
View all 8 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (138)
Room & Suite (23)
Pool & Beach (15)

About

#3 of 3 Specialty lodging in Santa Claus
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Escape to the great outdoors by staying at Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort in Santa Claus, Indiana. Voted one of the top ten favorite parks in North America and a two-time National RV Park of the Year, Lake Rudolph is the closest lodging and camping to Holiday World Theme Park & Splashin' Safari Water Park. Multiple family lodging options include nearly 290 Vacation Rentals (Cabins, Cottages & Rental RVs), and over 245 full hookup RV Sites and Tent Sites, including over 120 paved sites. Family fun amenities including Santa's SplashDown WaterPark, the giant Blitzen Bay swimming pool, playgrounds, basketball courts, horseshoe pits, fishing, paddleboats, kayaks, gem mining, mini golf, game room, camp store, Blitzen Kitchen Ice Cream & Pizza, family activities, and much more. Lake Rudolph is the perfect solution for your getaway!
Read more
Room & Suite (23)23
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Water park
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Shuttle bus service
Self-serve laundry
Public wifi
Outdoor pool
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
410Reviews15Q+A65Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 145
  • 138
  • 60
  • 40
  • 27
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Lefterlady wrote a review Aug 9
Wentzville, Missouri68 contributions12 helpful votes
We took our 4 grandkids 14,13,11 and 8 years old and rented a cabin for 3 nights .Wish we would have stayed longer .so much for the kids to do stayed in cabin 221 so close to everything Camp store Pool basketball court . We rented a gold cart and on Tuesday night probably 50 carts joined ina parade Carts were decorated and we drove around the entire campground Sooooo much fun for the kids We spent two days at holiday world so didnt. It have a lot of time to enjoy the many campground amenities Free mini golf ,activities every day for the kids ,and pool Next year we will Definitly stay longer Awesome campground
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Diana C wrote a review Aug 4
Portland, Tennessee55 contributions35 helpful votes
My family and closest family friends decided to book a mini vacation for my birthday to Lake Rudolph because I LOVE Holiday World! We spent many hours searching for what we thought would be the best place to accommodate us (four adults and a 13 month old child along with two smaller dogs.) I loved the idea of being within walking distance of the park, and also having the free shuttles that would bring you to and take you back from Holiday World. The pictures online made the cabin seem quite spacious, and since it was my birthday, we decided to rent the most expensive cabin, the "luxury" Christmas cabin. My family arrived first, around 6pm since it was raining, and check in was not until 3pm. The younger guy who checked us in was very sweet, and extremely helpful. He did offer to show us to our cabin (which we should have done), but we politely declined. After getting very lost within the huge campgrounds, we finally made our way to the cabin. The parking was basically mud and gravel, but that was not at all a big deal. As soon as we entered the cabin, we realized that the pictures must have been taken from some great angles because it was TINY! The porch we had attached was bigger than the cabin itself! There was a tiny livingroom that was a bit on the dirty side with very limited seating. Ants were everywhere, but again, we were at a campground, so it is to be expected. The kitchen was also very small, with very little utensils for cooking a meal that was not already pre-made. The bathroom reminded me of the movie Elf, you know, where Will Farrell had to duck down in the shower just to somewhat bathe himself. One wrong move, and we would be out of the tiny tub, if you can even call it that! I think the biggest surprise would be the loft. Yes, there are four twin mattresses, and one queen, but unless you are under four feet tall, you have to crawl around to just get to bed! Also, no linens, something I wish I had known ahead of time as we ended up driving to Walmart to pick up bedding and towels. I was assured that the master bedroom room would be able to comfortably accommodate the pack n play for our little one to sleep in. I could barely walk around the bed, let alone fit a pack n play in there! We had to put out little guy out the livingroom for him to be able to sleep in his pack n play. The porch itself was VERY dirty and looked like it had not been cleaned in awhile. We couldn't even let our son out there because there were so many candy wrappers and trash on the ground that he would try to put in his mouth. When our friends arrived, the person that checked them in was very rude, and acted as though they were an inconvenience. They said we did not have a reservation, though we were already in our cabin. He would not let them enter until he realized 20 minutes later that we did indeed have a cabin reservation. Our golf cart didn't seem to go nearly as fast as the others. Even when pushing the accelerator all the way down, we were getting passed by the other carts left and right. When we called, they said that the cart was fine. No offer to exchange it. There was a quiet time after 10pm, but there were drunken people on golf cart riding directly past our cabin, not on the road, after 1am. Not a huge deal other than the fact they were very loud, the lights from the carts were very bright, and again they weren't on the road, but going inbetween cabin sites. Also, the shuttle I was excited about? It wasn't running at all for the 2020 season, which I felt should have been published somewhere on the website! Oh, and if you wanted to use the pool or tiny Waterpark on site, you had to literally wait in a line, and PAY after having already paid an ungodly amount for the tiny shed of a cabin. I would have been interested to see the other cabins and RV rentals. How this one was considered a luxury cabin is beyond me! The fact that we paid over $800 for two night in this tiny place is probably the most upsetting. We will not be coming back, and will instead continue to make our day trips to Holiday World. The campground themselves were also very dirty, like people just threw their trash everywhere, and no one bothered to pick it up. I am very upset with how our little getaway turned out after being stuck in quarantine for the past few months. This should not be advertised as a cabin, but as a tiny RV with a porch built onto it. Maybe one day we will laugh at how ridiculous the experience was, but definitely not today.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Marion Britt, Owner at Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort
Responded 6 days ago
Hello Valued Guest, Thank you for providing your feedback. Although, we wish that you had a better experience with us. It is feedback such as this, that gives us the opportunity to improve. We value you as our guest and hope that your recent experience does not deter you from staying with us in the future.
Read more
C M wrote a review Aug 3
2 contributions
We stayed from Monday to Wednesday. I brought my 16 yr old daughter and my 14 yr old niece. We did the Holiday World on Monday prior to our check-in at the Campground and will never go back to Holiday World...ever! The girls were excited to get to the campground and get settled in. I booked a Holiday Cottage and a golf cart. For our 1st time visiting, I'm sure glad I picked what we booked. The Holiday Cottage was perfect and newer. It was everything I was expecting. Due to Covid-19, I did bring a can of Lysol and sprayed every light switch, door handle, cabinet handle, remote control, faucet and appliance handles. I also brought plastic silverware not knowing how good the previous renter washed the utilsils. I absolutely loved the screened in porch and we were out there a lot. It was so relaxing and we were saved by the bugs. The floor inside the cabin could of used a better cleaning prior to our arrival, but a broom and dust pan were there. I didn't mind sweeping the floors as I found myself doing this a couple of times a day anyway. We did take our shoes off at the door, but still think if better rugs were placed on the screened in porch and inside the cabin, this would definitely help cut down on the dirt. The beds all had fresh sheets and smelled amazing. The queen bed is definitely a camper short queen. I'm 5'8" and I did pull the mattress away from the wall a bit to allow for more foot room. I sleep on a Tempur-Pedic at home and was worried about the mattress in the cabin. I absolutely slept like a baby! No complaints there at all. As far as the golf carts, I'm super happy I spent the money to rent one as I had no idea literally how big this campground was. We rode through the campground at night as it seemed to be the thing to do. We met some folks and everyone seemed to wave in passing and was really enjoying themselves. It was definitely worth it. I underestimated the golf cart decorating. We saw some of the coolest decorated golf carts and people really used their imagination! The sand volleyball court was fun and was given a new volleyball with a $10 deposit. The mini golf was always a hot spot and looked fun, but we didn't have the chance to play. The pool was always busy with happy swimmers. If I would have known how awesome their pool/water slides were, I never would have purchased Holiday World tickets and could of saved a fortune! The ice cream at Blitzen Kitchen is absolutely stellar! We will definitely be back and hoping to make another trip before the end of the year.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Marion Britt, Owner at Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort
Responded 6 days ago
Hello Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time out to leave us with a great review. We pride ourselves on providing our guests with a great experience and we're happy to hear that your stay was enjoyed! Hope to see you again soon.
Read more
TooManyAbbotts wrote a review Aug 3
7 contributions1 helpful vote
Forewarning for mixed reviews- Typically, we stay at Lake Rudolph at an RV site and bring our own camper. We’ve never had issues and would typically say that facilities are clean and staff are very friendly. This time, however, we stayed in one of the stationary rental RV’s on the campground. 0/10 do NOT recommend. At all. Ever. The rental RV was absolutely filthy. Gross stains on everything. The flooring was hardly attached to the floor itself and what flooring there was, was disgusting, stained, torn, littered with trash and food particles. It honestly appeared that the RV had not seen a through cleaning in a YEAR. Wads of hair in the shower/tub and between all of the cabinets and furniture. The beds were literally harder than a boulder. Probably would have preferred to sleep on a Boulder. It smelled terrible. The A/C worked well but the entire camper smelled of mold and mildew when it was turned on. My throat became inflamed almost immediately after turning the A/C on. We had a 2 night stay and left immediately after waking up from the first night, forfeiting the second night and we have NEVER done that before. The $1 curtain rod in the camper was damaged beyond repair and clearly isn’t going to be replaced. The curtains didn’t even cover the windows 🤣. It became very obvious that Sun RV resorts do NOT care about the upkeep of their properties. I’ve never stayed in their cabins but if the same person is cleaning those that clean the rental RV’s ... I would absolutely never even consider it. The rental RV’s run over $160/night and I could have stayed at a 5 star resort for that much and atleast not felt disgusting by stepping foot in it. The activity schedule had several free and paid activities. We decided to do some of both. The free activity that we went to at the pavilion had 2 employees staffing it. One employee did not charge people to participate in the “free” activity and the other employee was charging people $5/participant. Some attendees pointed out that the activity schedule said that the activity was free- and the employee responded “there are no free activities here”. Like mentioned, we have camped at Lake Rudolph with our own camper before and participated in several other free activities and were not charged for them. Only 1 paddle boat is functioning. The employee managing those even stated that he doesn’t even know why they only have one boat working and said there were no plans to fix the ones that weren’t operating. Ridiculous. Several police were at the pool yesterday for hours. Definitely not a good look for the campground. We’ll be going down the road to Lincoln State Park for 1/3 the price with a MUCH better camping experience.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Marion Britt, Owner at Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort
Responded 6 days ago
Hello Valued Guest, Thank you for providing your feedback. Although, we wish that you had a better experience with us. It is feedback such as this, that gives us the opportunity to improve. We value you as our guest and hope that your recent experience does not deter you from staying with us in the future.
Read more
kimber926 wrote a review Jul 2020
Northeast Ohio50 contributions15 helpful votes
We came in for a two night stay to visit Holiday World. The location was perfect. It was nearly 100 degrees, so we were able to go to the park and return to change into swimsuits or cool off quickly. The staff was super friendly and helpful. Our cabin was plenty large enough with a bedroom on the lower level and two separate sleeping areas on the second level. There was also an air conditioner on the second level which helped immensely. Our only complaint is the cleanliness. There was quite a bit of trash around the fire pit outside and food and wrappers left in the cabin.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Marion Britt, Owner at Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort
Responded 6 days ago
Hello Valued Guest, We appreciate your positive feedback about your experience. We take pride in serving our guests and hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$175 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
lake rudolph campground & rv hotel santa claus, lake rudolph campground and rv resort, lake rudolph campground & rv resort
LOCATION
United StatesIndianaSanta Claus
NUMBER OF ROOMS
534
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort?
Nearby attractions include Lincoln Boyhood National Memorial (4.2 miles), Holiday World & Splashin' Safari (0.4 miles), and Santa's Candy Castle (1.0 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, free parking, and kids activities.
Which room amenities are available at Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Frosty's Fun Center, Subway, and Los Dos Charros Mexican Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the center of Santa Claus.
Are there any historical sites close to Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Lincoln Boyhood National Memorial (4.2 miles) and Santa Claus Museum (0.8 miles).
Is Lake Rudolph Campground & RV Resort accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.