We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Riverbank Homestay and B & B

Traveler (11)
Room & Suite (7)
Pool & Beach (3)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelbug Awarded The Riverbank Homestay and B&B - Best Reviews for a B&B 2011 and 100% Reviews for 2013. Melva and Hilton welcome you to The Riverbank in a peaceful bush environment very near to Ngunguru and 5 Km from Tutukaka in Northland, New Zealand. B and B = Breakfast included in the price. Homestay = All meals at The Riverbank included in the price. (Homestay means stay with us for that real New Zealand "Kiwi" experience. For example - picnics, guided walks, Guided bird watching and more. The Riverbank is your Holiday destination and your Retreat.) One large room with Queen bed, single and ensuite. Private access. No Smoking in rooms. Parking for you and your boat. Secure garage parking for motorbikes. Campervans welcome to stay and plug in for a small charge. Loads of activities near include diving, fishing, beaches, bush and coastal walks, bird watching, canoeing and kayaking, glow worm caves. Ornithologists welcome. See our Fantails, Gray warblers, Fern Bird, Tomtit, Tui, Waxeye, Pukeko, Bittern, Hawk and more. You may even wish to relax on the deck and watch the fantails and warblers while reading your book. If something wakes you in the night and it is not Ruru it may be a Kiwi you are hearing. It is known that you have not been to New Zealand until you have stayed in Northland and you have not been to Northland until you have stayed on the Tutukaka Coast. The Riverbank is special. Our unique coast. In 2010 the prestigious National Geographic Traveller selected the Tutukaka Coast as one of the top three coastlines in the world, Second equal to the Pembrokeshire coast in Wales. Enjoy it with us as we do not have TV. Say what you would like to do and we will find a way to accommodate your wish.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Breakfast Available
Golf course
Non-smoking hotel
Public Wifi
Room features
Refrigerator in room
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
61Reviews
0Q+A
9Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 59
  • 2
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We couldn't have ended our amazing month-long visit to New Zealand in a more perfect way! Our hosts, Melva and Hilton, provided us with a beautiful, serene, and peaceful B&B for the last three days of our trip. Melva and Hilton also shared with us their vast knowledge of
Read more
Response from Theriverbank, Owner at The Riverbank Homestay and B & B
Responded yesterday
So glad you enjoyed your stay. We do enjoy the company of our visitors, always interesting learning about each others countries and culture. Its always enjoyable to have return visitors, hope to see you back some day. :-)
Read more
Melva and Hilton welcome guests with the sincerity and informality of long-time friends. Their lovely home is nestled in native bush with a very comfortable, modern daylight basement en suite for us. These are genuinely Interesting people, knowledgeable about the local
Read more
Response from Theriverbank, Owner at The Riverbank Homestay and B & B
Responded Feb 25, 2019
So glad you enjoyed what The Riverbank is all about. It is always a pleasure to help visitors enjoy this part of Northland. We enjoyed your company. :-) and hope your bees do well this coming summer.
Read more
A 1 night stop left us wanting more. Hilton and Melva are your hosts in their beautiful home surrounded by lush gardens and wild animals. We were a little perplexed by the quail crossing sign but then saw that the quails actually do use it 😊 Yummiest breakfast with home made
Read more
Response from Theriverbank, Owner at The Riverbank Homestay and B & B
Responded Dec 30, 2018
It was a pleasure to have you stay. Would love to see you again in the future and you can explore the nearby walks and beaches. :-)
Read more
This was our third time at The Riverbank and we loved it, as always. (Last year we stayed there too, after I'd broken my arm on the South Island, and their kindness and support and the relaxing qualities of their B&B really helped me greatly. I had to skip the diving last year,
Read more
Response from Theriverbank, Owner at The Riverbank Homestay and B & B
Responded Nov 27, 2018
It was again our pleasure to have you stay. The Piwakawaka chicks showed up about 10 days later, wish you could have seen them. So glad you had perfect diving weather this time. Early morning walk in the wetland is a nice way to start the day.
Read more
Melva and Hilton were wonderful hosts and have a beautiful home. Although we weren't able to go scuba diving like we hoped, because of bad weather, we still very much enjoyed our stay. We also really appreciate their focus on sustainability. We can't wait to come back someday.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$87 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandNorthland RegionNgunguru
NUMBER OF ROOMS
1
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing