We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kishauwau Country Cabins

Save
Share
Traveler (73)
Room & Suite (61)
Storyboard
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Overview
Hotel website
E-mail hotel
901 N 2129th Rd, Tonica, IL 61370-9658 See on map
AMENITIES
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Kitchenette
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Pool
Additional information
Visit Hotel Website
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveler rating
117
14
4
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
117
14
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstarved rockfire pitpeace and quietwhirlpool tubdvd libraryget away from it allon demandperfect weekendsoft sheetsvermilion rivermain cabinstate parkwood stoveshort drivehot waternice cabinbald eagles
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 137 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed in Jack's Cabin. Well stocked and nicely decorated. Close to surrounding state parks and attractions. Hosts were also helpful with activities and amenities onsite. Wi-Fi and internet are available but limited to the main cabin. Perfect place to "unplug"!

Thank Kamala V
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed here over a weekend. We loved it. It was a perfect place to relax from the busy rhythm of the city. The cabins are located in a scenic secluded area with beautiful forest trails and river-side trails starting right on...More

Thank Tarek A
Response from Terisa K, Owner at Kishauwau Country CabinsResponded 4 weeks ago

Wow, thank you so much for the kind words. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay here and what we have to offer. We really appreciate you taking the time to tell future travelers about your experience with us. We hope to see you again...More

Reviewed August 11, 2018 via mobile

We booked a cabin here for a get away weekend. Our cabin was listed as having a whirlpool tub. After a 45 minute wait for it to fill up.we discovered that it didn't work!! One week after contacting them,we were given a voucher for a...More

Thank Steve G
Response from Terisa K, Owner at Kishauwau Country CabinsResponded August 16, 2018

I very much apologize that you had some trouble with the whirlpool tub during your stay with us. I do wish you had come to the office and given us a call during your stay because the tub was in working order but that button...More

Reviewed August 10, 2018

This is such an outstanding place! The peaceful atmosphere and being able to "unplug" for a period of time was just what I needed. The setting of the cabins in the woods makes you feel as if you are all by yourself without alot of...More

Thank Deb W
Reviewed August 7, 2018

We rented Grandma’s, Osage, Trading Post & Bridge cabins for a weekend for our family to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary. There were 17 of us & we found the cabins clean, spacious & very comfortable! The bedding & towels were good quality & plentiful....More

Thank IllinoisMonlou
Response from Terisa K, Owner at Kishauwau Country CabinsResponded August 12, 2018

We are so glad that your family enjoyed what we have to offer and are thrilled you had a wonderful 50th Anniversary. That's what our place is about, making memories. I thank you for taking the time to write a review to let future travelers...More

View more reviews
About
Description
Looking for a cabin rental near Starved Rock State Park here in Illinois? You just found it. Kishauwau Country Cabins provides peace and solitude on 65 acres of wooded property just a 10 minute drive from Starved ...More Rock and even closer to Matthiessen State Park. We are host to 17 well spaced cabins in varying sizes perfect for your next family reunion, single family vacation or just a simple romantic getaway for 2. Three of our cabins are specific to only our dog customers and welcome your well behaved family fido. You must mention dog at time of booking and we must okay them to come. Kishauwau is a built up family business that has been in operation for 31 years. You will deal directly with the owners here and I (Terisa) look forward to speaking with you to help you plan your next perfect getaway. Give us a call today! Less
Contact Information
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
Microwave
Non-Smoking Hotel
Refrigerator in room
Pool
Beachfront
Room Service
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Contact Information
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
17
Formerly known as
Kishauwau on the Vermillion
Location
United States > Illinois > Tonica
Photos
Traveler (73)
Room & Suite (61)
Dining (6)
Family and Play Areas (4)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort
1,838 reviews
5.18 miles away
Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center
414 reviews
5.32 miles away
Best Western Oglesby Inn
386 reviews
5.77 miles away
Days Inn by Wyndham Oglesby/ Starved Rock
444 reviews
5.79 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 3 nearby restaurants
Delaney's
165 reviews
5.75 miles away
Nonie's Bakery & Cafe
192 reviews
6.63 miles away
MJ's Walnut St Pub & Grill
55 reviews
5.05 miles away
The Rootbeer Stand
93 reviews
5.47 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all attractions
Matthiessen State Park
433 reviews
4.18 miles away
MJ's Pub & Grill
6 reviews
5.01 miles away
Cedar Creek Ranch
25 reviews
6.95 miles away
Lock 16 Visitor Center & LaSalle Canal Boat
222 reviews
7.94 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
jmees91
September 2, 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from trippedout1963 | Reviewed this property |
We've only been the one time this summer, so we're still newbies and expect winter to be a different experience than summer. I recommend thoroughly reading the website and TripAdvisor comments from winter visitors... More
0
Votes
lgdegage
July 27, 2016|
Answer
Response from trippedout1963 | Reviewed this property |
Absolutely! I neglected to share that. Cabin had its own cooling/heating system. Plus the shade helps keep the heat down.
0
Votes
Pinecone1228
June 8, 2016|
Answer
Response from trippedout1963 | Reviewed this property |
All of our windows had blinds...very private.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"I had the Apache cabin, but it was just me, so I didn't need anything really big. BUT, it was a big size..."
Read review
"Grandma’s Cabin is spacious!"
Read review
"Cabins are spread apart so it is very quiet and peaceful."
Read review
"All the cabins looked like they would be great"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing