We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore (Skokie), an IHG hotel

5300 West Touhy Ave, Skokie, IL 60077-3246
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
View deal
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (101)
Room & Suite (59)
Dining (8)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 11/20/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore (Skokie), an IHG hotel
Updated 11/20/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#3 of 4 hotels in Skokie
The Choice for Chicago Hotels...Holiday Inn Chicago North Shore Hotel near Downtown Chicago and O'Hare Airport. Welcome to the Holiday Inn North Shore Hotel. From the hotel's immediate surroundings in Skokie to the heart of downtown Chicago, we offer a full assortment of diversions, services and opportunities. Area attractions include: Downtown Chicago, Brauer Museum of Art, Chicago Botanic Garden, Adler Planetarium, Wrigley Field (Home of MLB's Chicago Cubs), Soldier Field (home of the NFL's Chicago Bears), and Navy Pier to name a few! Area businesses near our hotel include: Life Time Fitness, North Shore Center for the Performing Arts, Music Institute of Chicago, The Winnetka Community House, Bahai Temple, O'Hare Airport, Donald E. Stephens Convention Center, and Midway Airport.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
610Reviews8Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 158
  • 156
  • 121
  • 90
  • 85
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Bonnie A wrote a review Oct 3
1 contribution
Returning home to Chicago for a couple of days, this hotel failed & disappointed the Holiday Inn name. This 'franchise' starting with the front desk and it's manager were beginning of problems. The room's thermostat was found to be not working-loudly denied by a front desk manager (Patty?) - the coffee machine was also not working - both were finally fixed and rectified when the only one maintenance member/worker returned to work on the weekday. Decaf coffee was also not available and could not even get a comb, despite the displayed 'Hospitality Promise/Forget Something?' small sign in the bathroom. The shower/tub also had the drain plug sitting loose in the tub. For the high price charged, this was shabby.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Make sure fully staffed, including maintenance crew, accommodations are fully available and rooms...
See more room tips
painterladysf wrote a review Sep 2021
San Francisco, California31 contributions39 helpful votes
We arrived on a Thursday evening for a 4 night stay, and were given a room facing into the interior pool complex, no natural light. The phone in the room didn't work, there was nothing in the room to give the phone number of the hotel. I did find it on-line and called the front desk to ask for pillows ( there were only 2 on a king size bed) and to ask about changing rooms. I got the pillows but nothing about moving. In the morning I asked about the room change and got no guarantee, but later did hear that we could move, and we did. Still no operable windows, but at least light! The property as a whole is poorly maintained. Common areas are shabby ( duct tape on the carpet edge where it meets a tile area), floors dirty and the elevator only occasionally cleaned of abandoned water bottles and trash on the floor. Large, rolling tubs for dirty linen and for trash stood in the hallway all day, every day I was there. The carpet in the hallway was never vacuumed, and the chocolate cake that a guest dropped on Friday was still there, although walked through and spread around, on Monday. I told the front desk and again told one of the managers in person about the dirty carpet but nothing was done. The two positive things I can say about this property are the location. If you need to be both in Chicago and the northern suburbs this is a very convenient location, easy to get on and off of the 94 highway and other major streets. And, the room was large, if poorly lit and poorly ventilated. The bathroom has a good mirror/lighting arrangement and was functional. Except for the toilet which was at a height I associate with a kindergarten classroom! There will be no more stays at this place for me! I'd rather travel an extra 15 minutes and spend more than endure this place again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Room Tip: Demand a room that faces the outdoors rather than the interior pool area, although no windows...
See more room tips
Kevin J wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
Your night shift manager GENE is the best thing your hotel has going for it. Every other employee I encountered was substandard, rude, or in Ana's case incompetent. I have a 70% hearing loss from birth, communicating In person can be difficult, on the phone is a daunting task at times. Gene paitently, repeated himself numerous times for me giving me the address and other information I needed to reserve a room at your holiday Inn. Once I arrived, Gene was helping another guest, I drew the short straw and got Ana. Who did nothing but stare at her computer,punch buttons and accomplished nothing. 20-30 minutes later she asked Gene what to do. About 3 minutes later, Gene had my room keys in my hand and with his most beautiful smile a thank you for staying with us. My room was not clean but I had just completed a 900 mile trip and was exhausted so I overlooked the dirty and unsanitary conditions and went to sleep. I rise early and take my coffee outside only to find Gene still manning his post. Its approximately 0530, Gene is wearing the same big smile I saw the previous evening and he bids me good morning. I couldn't bring myself to say anything negative about the room for I felt lucky to have encountered this fine young man. I write to you not to complain , but rather to inform you what an absolute Gem of an employee you are blessed to have. He is dressed sharp, clean, articulate, extremely efficient and very pleasant. Please give this young man the support staff he needs to manage your hotel, he deserves adequate help and there's none to be found. You help him and I promise you he will make you proud one day. Kevin Jones Williamson County Sheriff Dept (Retired) 615-490-5922 Smokeydawggs@gmail.com
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
Federico C wrote a review Sep 2021
Firenze8 contributions
I spent two continued weeks in this hotel and I got a very bad experience. I don’t even know where to start with, as the encountered issues and discomforts were a lot and almost recurring day by day. First off, this hotel is almost in a “state of abandonment”, with very bad state of maintenance of rooms tools, continued lack of cleaning of the common areas, corridors and elevator which are always always always dirty and full of litter. I have some pictures show what I daily saw for two continued weeks, passing through the mentioned common areas. Of course, these pictures represent just one captured instant, but I swear that they show what I daily saw in such spots, meaning that no housekeeping, cleanings and on top sanitization were performed along two continued weeks. The front side elevator is very dirty, in bad state of main and constantly constantly smells as an old and never sanitized garbage curb, with frequent vomiting hits while using it. This is unacceptable and quite offensive of the guests, considering that we are still in the middle of the pandemic and such a lack of housekeeping, cleaning and sanitation may significantly increase the risk to get the virus (honestly this is the standard I may expect in an hostel or drive in motel, but not really at one of the IHG hotel). Within my room, the shower curtain pole is flowed down because it is almost close to get detached from the wall. Consequently, the curtain does not cover the shower side (because it flows down as well towards the center of the pole) and the bathroom floor gets always flooded. I again complained with the front desk personnel who told me that they couldn’t deal with that, because “not depending on them”, so they neither opened a ticket with the internet service provider, not tried so solve somehow this issue. Wi-Fi worked very bad for all the period, with few signal rate and also moving very close to the door where my iPhone and iMac devices shows a full signal rate, in reality it was very inefficient and the 70% of my business and private video calls failed to properly streaming incoming and outgoing videos, and sometimes audio as well. Last but not least, the Bar Louie inside the Hotel that is providing the daily breakfast. My first breakfast was on Sunday. There’s a menu to choose the breakfast covered by the hotel, but this does not include the orange juice, which has to be paid apart. $4 for a bad orange juice made with concentrated syrup and tap water, which should be paid every day. Of course I complained immediately with the hotel and at least I got this as complimentary item for free, but my expectation when I book a room at IHG site which includes the breakfast is that either an orange juice is included, or this is clearly stated in a disclaimer in the reservation form to warn the customers that this item is not included in the cost. Beyond this, the personnel took 1 hour to prepare a couple of eggs, bacon and farm fries, while the number of customers was below 10. The day after (Monday) which is a business day, I showed up to the bar at 7am (i.e. opening time) and the bar was closed, and remained closed until 7:35am with no reason and front desk person not providing a valid explanation. At that point, I just asked to get some fruit to take in my room as at 8:00am I had a business web-conference. When I got back in my room and opened the fruit container, I got a very bad experience. The fruit was completely rotten with evident residuals of an ongoing fermentation and a disgusting smell. Of course I complained with the receptionist and I got that and all future breakfast included in the booking returned on my credit card, but again this was shocking me at an IHG hotel. Holiday Inn Skokie is not meeting the current standards for almost all Holiday Inns I visited, it’s an old fashion structure, with old furnishes in the rooms and bad state of maintenance. But it costs the same price, or even more, of other Holiday Inns with a better standard. I may ensure that the disappointment that I got when I first accessed to the reception, the elevator (with such a disgusting smell) and in the room was very high, as I expected the typical standard we all Holiday Inns guests are used to.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
Crystal P wrote a review Aug 2021
West Bloomfield, Michigan3 contributions1 helpful vote
terrible room and subpar service from the front desk attendant Lucky. I informed him I was unhappy with my room his response was have them change the room the next morning. He didn't recognize me as an IHG member, nor did he explain anything about the property.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore (Skokie), an IHG hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Crystal P, I appreciate you for sharing your review about your recent stay, and thank you for being one of our IHG Rewards members. I am very sorry that you did not experience an exemplary hotel stay because of the level of service you have received. On behalf of our hotel, I apologize for the quality of our rooms, the service of our staff and that you were not recognized as an IHG Rewards member. This is not what we want any of our guests to experience. I have sent you a private message to reaffirm my apologies. I very much hope that you will grant us the opportunity to prove ourselves again. Best Regards, Ben W. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
$98 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
holiday inn chicago north shore skokie hotel skokie, holiday inn north shore, holiday inn skokie, skokie holiday inn
United StatesIllinoisSkokie
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore (Skokie), an IHG hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore (Skokie), an IHG hotel?
Nearby attractions include AMC Showplace Village Crossing 18 (0.3 miles) and Georgia Nut Company Outlet Store (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore (Skokie), an IHG hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore (Skokie), an IHG hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore (Skokie), an IHG hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore (Skokie), an IHG hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore (Skokie), an IHG hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include New York Bagel & Bialy Corporation, Sanders Restaurant, and Shallots Bistro.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore (Skokie), an IHG hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Is Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore (Skokie), an IHG hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 1.0 miles away from the center of Skokie.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore (Skokie), an IHG hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore (Skokie), an IHG hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore (Skokie), an IHG hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.